We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Blue Pigeons(Worth)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Salutation(Sandwich)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fleur de Lis(Sandwich)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bell Hotel(Sandwich)
US$122
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Waterfront Hotel(Deal)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pegwell Bay Hotel(Ramsgate)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
80
16
1
6
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
16
1
6
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding plannerplanning processevening meal was excellentstable blockfull englishmini breakmain buildingmain mealbridal suitecooked to perfectionrooms are cleanbreakfast was deliciousone night stayfamily roomnegative presssianhousekeeping
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 121 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

It was a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon so we decided to find a place in the countryside to have some lunch. We came across The Blazing Donkey online and decided to try it out.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very polite young man, We asked to be seated outside and were shown to tables on a terrace within a beautifully kept large garden.

We ordered food from the lunch menu, everything was exceptional.

After our lunch experience and seeing what is offered for dinner we will definitely be returning.

The bar has some good local ales on draught and a good selection of classic and quirky gins for my wife.

To sum up our visit we had good food and drinks in lovely surroundings and felt very welcome with the children 6 and 4.

Well worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank TruthHunter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We have just held our sons 18th birthday lunch here. We couldn’t fault it. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was delicious and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Although we are local to this venue we had visitors staying the night before who said the rooms were lovely and the breakfast great.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Hilary

Thank you for your kind feedback.

The 'Donkey is a great place for celebrations and it was an enormous pleasure for us to host your son Ben's 18th birthday lunch!

We are very pleased that your visiting family enjoyed their stay and breakfast too!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you all again in future!

Very best wishes
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

Stayed 6th April for 1 night as visiting family close by. Greeted at the reception by a very polite young man and directed to our room. Room its self was spacious and tastefully decorated (Ideally needs a mirror in the room its self above the desk). Comfy bed, had to hunt for the kettle but found in the cupboard (But nice that its tucked away) to avoid clutter now doubt. Was a little noisy during the evening/night as were sandwiched between what seemed like a wedding party and doors opening and closing and lots of chatting and shouting but its a wedding so expect these things. Was a little annoyed when it happened early in the morning but again these things are expected. Disappointed with the water pressure in the shower more of a pulsating drip (had all the water been used up by the wedding party) Breakfast was tasty but would have preferred a bit of bacon with a full English.

Would probably stay again when back visiting

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Dear Martin

Thanks for your kind feedback.

Very many apologies for the other (inconsiderately noisy) guests. We do always ask guests leaving for their rooms late at night to take care in keeping disturbance from others.

Our full breakfasts always include two rashers of back bacon so please accept our apologies for this key ingredient seemingly having been missed off!

We hope to welcome you back at a future date when we will make sure you have plenty of bacon!!

Best wishes
Louise
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018

I stayed there twice. Once we were offered a 'better room' at, of course, a higher price. Second tome we stayed the staff ranged from incompetent to rude.On our second visit we stayed in the stables. I think they forgot to clean them up after the horses: mould, damp and smelly.

Do not trust a word this bunch say.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MikeR8820FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Dear Mike

Thank you for posting your [blunt] review.

We wonder when exactly you stayed as your review is very non-specific and, taking into account the general context of other reviewers feedback, seems at odds with the reality of our operation?

We are unaware of any mould or damp or indeed "smelly"-ness in any of our rooms. Part of my role is to regularly inspect the accommodations after the housekeeping team have completed their duties and the cleanliness is consistently exemplary. The feedback we routinely enjoy is contrary to the feedback you have provided. In fact the stable accommodation has undergone a complete refurbishment since 2016 as referred to in the many of the reviews. Our housekeeping team, headed up and coordinated by Sherry Martin, one of the owners, are meticulous in their duties and operate from a 28 point checklist on every room. We have no record of any issues with rooms as you infer. It is most certainly the case that there is no mould or dampness present in any of our accommodations.

Our staff are well trained and pride themselves on courtesy and professionalism as reflected, once again as in most of our reviews. We have no knowledge of any incident or stay where such issues of "forgetting to clean up after the horses...." has occurred. Perhaps this is your attempt at a humorous attack on our reputation? Indeed, the tone of your review seems unnecessarily cold but our favourite thing is to make friends of our customers!? We wonder what happened? Did somebody really upset you somehow?

For the benefit of readers of this review, who will of course make up their own minds, our accommodation does not have horses stay in it! We are however a pet-friendly hotel and many hundreds of our guests stay regularly with their dogs. This is an increasingly popular activity and given our rural location we are perfectly situated for pet lovers wishing to travel with their pooches.

You say you have stayed twice, suggesting that your first stay met with your expectations.

Your review calls into question our trustworthiness. Suffice to say, our current owners have been operating the hotel very successfully since 1989 and would not have been able to enjoy the sustained growth in trade and reputation that they have if they were not operators with integrity providing excellent facilities and service for over 25 years.

For my part, and In my position at the front desk, much of my morning is spent bidding very happy clients a fond farewell after their stay, many of whom leave tips generously.

We are lucky to have around 10,000 guests stay with us each year, a great very many of whom are regular faces. This we pride ourselves upon and we shall continue to extend a warm welcome and excellent hospitality to those that come to see us!

Have a great Summer and if you do decide to return you will hard pushed to find any damp, mouldy rooms that smell of horses. What you will find is first class facilities, a friendly face or two and a very warm welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

I recently had the great pleasure of attending the wedding of a friend, held at The Blazing Donkey. What an amazing day/night!
I would venture to say this was the most beautiful wedding I've attended. From the the welcome we received to the next morning farewell.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and professional. The food was amazing, rooms were clean, light and airy and nothing was to much trouble.
The mangers/owners/staff made sure that the day ran smoothly. The bride and groom were so relaxed as the Blazing Donkey staff dealt with everything.
I cannot recommend the Donkey, highly enough. Thank you all for the most enjoyable day :-)
We will certainly be returning for a weekend break very soon.
Many thanks :-)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank angel200957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harry24100, Front Office Manager at The Blazing Donkey Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Angel

Thank you so much for your fantastically kind words. Our wedding team, headed up by Sherry and Jen work tremendously hard to deliver first class days and it is so lovely to have their efforts, and those of our team recognised in this way. Thank you, thank you!

2018 will see just under 100 weddings hosted here at The Blazing Donkey and the popularity of our place is owed to the hard work of the team and the stunning set up we are luck enough to have here. The property owners continue to invest in dramatic improvements in the wedding facilities cementing The Blazing Donkey's reputation as rural Kent's most popular countryside wedding venue!

We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Very best wishes
Louise
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews