We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

After having stayed in 2012 we decided to come back for a spring vacation....back to paradise in this wonderful family run hotel.
We noticed the wonderful selection of food available at breakfast and for the mid-day buffet to be wonderful, fresh tasty and readily available. Eggs, croissants, brioche, fruit...everything you wish for at breakfast and the hearty choices at mid-day where perfect. We really enjoyed the variety of options available for dinner with local produce and choices every night. This was something very important to us as South Tyrol is known for good food! The traditional Tyrolean evening dinner was our highlight as well as Gala Dinner at the weakened. A perfect way to wind down after a day walking around the valley. Perfectly cooked, super tasty and well presented for the wow factor.

Our room, overlooking the streaming river, was substantially large, very well maintained, beautiful lite by the sun, spotlessly cleaned every morning and every evening for turn down service and the luxury Bulgari toiletries where just super. We requested an iron and a kettle in our room, even though nespresso is available, and our request was met with friendliness and a smile from the wonderful ladies at reception who are just full of information about where to go and what to do during our holiday. Free hi-speed wifi was available in the room, and indeed throughout the hotel which we very much appreciated to stay connected. Also the TVs in the room had English channels showing.

The spa located downstairs allowed us to truly relax and getaway from our jobs and this is why we returned. The addition of the heated outdoor whirlpool was magical as in the evenings the temperature cooled down but you could take a dip and enjoy the sunset. The indoor pool, steam rooms, sauna, relax area where again spotlessly cleaned and was our area of retreat after walking during the day. We treated ourselves to some spa treatments and I loved the facial with Piroche products.

In short; value for money, a well run, maintained and spotlessly clean family managed hotel in a truly magical area with wonderful service from the restaurant, spa and reception with excellent rooms and relaxing spa.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We've been to the hotel over this Christmas holiday. Initially I felt this might be a undervalued family owned hotel which I personally prefer. Why not stay and enjoy spending quality time with my wife and 4yr old. Turned out to be a robbery. Site online booking is completely different than hotel pricing. Very avg. service. They even charged us 185€ extra daily fee for the 4yr baby. That's not including the overly priced room 370€ a night for the suite. I will never come back. Food sucks the chef is overly ambitious. Last word the owner needs to rethink her approach and be more transparent with the guests. Otherwise risk reputation. Having traveled to 25+ countries this hotel deserve 3*. Be aware and best of luck

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank dtango_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Unexpected day off allowed to spend two nights with my wife at this little hotel nested in the middle of a green and open valley. We had a few troubles in finding it (it was not present in google maps BUT I added it so it is now!!!) because in spite of being listed as in San Giovanni in Valle Aurina, it is past the sign that marks the end of San Giovanni itself….
But once there it was a wonderful experience: personnel really made the difference: at the reception, in the bar, at the restaurant, in the wellness area….everybody was amicable and friendly, making you feel really welcome. The room ( we were upgraded to a small suite, was reasonably spacious with a nice view on the green slopes. The food was mostly good and it really seemed prepared with a special attention to health. But the best were the local foods, of course: Knoedels, speck, cheese were all great. The saunas were in perfect conditions and we had the opportunity to take part to an "aufguss", that was something new for us and quite interesting. The whirlpool outside (very much american style) was really great to enjoy. Overall absolutely recommended! I can see people may complain about the scrambled eggs (cold) of the bacon (not quite that crispy) but why getting that stuff when you can have speck and fried eggs made on order? Thanks again to all the staff: you made the difference!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river so there was no noise from anything other that that. But I guess that...
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank acia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is located in beautiful Valle Aurina, by the road, but you will not hear any vehicle as all of the rooms are situated on the opposite side of building. We came pretty late in the evening and there was no place on parking, so we got a place in garage for free. Meals were great, rich and of fantastic variety. Rooms are very comfortable and big enough to rest after skiing or any other activity. Spa zone is also exceptional - pool with sparkling massage, different kinds of saunas and other treatments you can imagine in professional SPA. I found it very nice - the possibility to make some tea or drink juice or have a snack like dried fruits by the pool. I also used the fitness room, which is very good equipped. Our vacations were mostly for skiing and this is a perfect place. To Klausberg Ski Arena there are only 2 km and to Speikboden about 10 km away. The Stuff is very helpful and friendly. I would love to comeback to Alpin Royal in spring or summer!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and comfortable, it only depends on price you would like to pay.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was our second time at the Alpin Royal hotel, the first time was during our honey moon in 2010. I must admit that it is difficult to find such a beatiful building, with clean and comfortable rooms in such an amazing location: Valle Aurina has heavenly landscapes! The service (reception, cleaning and beauty farm) is very friendly and efficient. The spa is WONDERFUL: a swimming pool with whirlpool and artificial waterfall, a sauna with 4 different areas and the beauty farm (where you can choose amongst several welness treatments)! Only a minor criticism: the first time we went there the food was superlative (novelle cuisine with the typical Alto-Adige/Sudtyrol flavors), this time not at the same level (especially the vegetarian dishes).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We wanted a place where we could unwind in beautiful and luxurious surroundings, go hiking, enjoy wonderful views, be beside water and sample delicious food and wine. Alpin Royal had it all and it was exactly what we wanted and more!

The location is marvellous (10 minutes to Campo Tures and 2 hours from Innsbruck Airport) set in beautiful, dramatic mountains with lakes and flowing rivers.

Upon check in we were immediately made to feel welcome by the incredibly friendly and attentive staff. Our room was spotless with state of the art TV, a large bathroom and very friendly housekeeping, a complimentary bottle of Moet in the room was fabulous! It was exquisite to have bvlgari toiletries in the room which added to the luxurious and extra special feeling.

The hotel and our room balances the traditional charm of South Tyrol with the modern facilities you come to expect in a high end 4 star superior hotel, the rooms are wonderful and oh so very comfortable. Beds are great and the bathrooms and other facilities are excellent Rooms either look out onto the mountains and rivers or to the front of the hotel which is also surrounded by mountains.

Facilities in the hotel are first class! A substantial gym with both aerobic and weights was free to use, an excellent spa with treatments for everyone, a sauna / steam area which had 4 rooms, a fantastic indoor heated swimming pool and relaxation area - you really need nothing else! To note, the treatments available at the hotel are very well priced and the product they use (I can’t remember the name) left you feeling fresh and energised. The spa staff speaks perfect English and were able to help me and my travel partner select several facial and body treatments throughout our 4 day vacation.

Most of the guests were German speaking. However, the hotel had produced specially translated versions (daily activities and newsletter) for us without us even needing to request this - again an example of their foresight and attention to detail. Food and beverage menus where in English. This added to our truly relaxing and stress free time here in the hotel. It must be noted that all the hotel staff speak English to a good level and they had no problem understanding us.

If leaving the hotel, a short walk takes you into the mountains and there are trials to follow for walking. The reception staff where exceptionally helpful in providing walking and biking maps (skiing maps for the winter) as well as other outdoors activities. Within thirty minutes of the hotel you have mountain hiking, alpine walking, skiing, mountain biking (the hotel rents out bikes for free!), canoeing, kayaking, horse riding, white water rafting paragliding, gliding and other adventures to be had.

Our reservation included breakfast a buffet lunch and a 5 course dinner each night! The breakfast each morning was substantial with cereals, fruits, teas, coffees, cold meats and a hot menu (eggs etc). The lunch buffet was a pleasant surprise after our large breakfast sitting. Lunch included a good variety of healthy salads, Italian dressings, and breads from the area, cheeses and fruits. We were more than satisfied with this generous helping of food available. Dinner at Alpin Royal was a real treat. Soups, pastas, and a salad buffet were on hand and the main course dishes were always cooked to perfection, scrumptious meat and mouth-watering fish. Dessert was yummy and a charming cheese board to finish. We always left the dining room very contented. What I did like was that the menu recommended wines to go with the courses.

All in all a perfect place to spend a few days relaxing, have some spa treatments, swim, go for walks and enjoy the surrounding mountains. It is simply a world of peace and calm. We came away from this resort feeling relaxed and revitalised, and also very touched by the warmth of service we received.

Final note, they have a wonderful wine cellar too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Lovely rooms, great views from all of them and a lovely wellness centre with pool. The food is average but the service was very pleasant. Dogs are also welcome although there is a charge

Room Tip: The suites are very roomy but all the rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
4.2 km away
Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa
Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
360 reviews
1.5 km away
Linderhof Wellness Resort
Linderhof Wellness Resort
#2 of 5 in Valle Aurina
492 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Schwarzenstein
Hotel Schwarzenstein
#1 of 5 in Lutago
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Martinshof
Hotel Martinshof
#1 of 5 in Valle Aurina
229 reviews
1.5 km away
Alpenschlossl Hotel
Alpenschlossl Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cadipietra
837 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gallhaus
Hotel Gallhaus
#3 of 5 in Valle Aurina
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort

Address: Via Molini 98, 39030 San Giovanni in Valle Aurina, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
Price Range: $289 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpin Royal Wellness Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing