We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings in the rainforest, choose a luxury treehouse .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flaxton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights in luxury treehouse rosella. Lovely position on the hill,very secluded . The staff are very welcoming and helpful, made to feel very welcome. Although the restaurant was not open they gave us the menu of a local restaurant who had a pick up service. This gave a chance to see what was on offer before deciding to go. It was the pub, the montvillle grill which was fine, pub type food but nice and friendly. The kobdallia falls are right beside the treehouses and aBeautiful walk. In fact the whole site of the treehouses is lovely to walk around being part of the rainforest.
The treehouse was nice and spacious and had a verandah all the way round. Only thing missing really was a couple of comfortable chairs for sitting outside,. had a bar table and 2 high chairs for eating. Maybe the sofa could do with replacing but minor details really.
If you want a relaxing time in beautiful surroundings I would recommend . It s not 5 star luxury as in a 5 star hotel but that is not what we were expecting, it is a tree house, therefore a cabin but very nicely done. When looking for this holiday we were looking at several but chose this one due to its location which was beautiful. Had the doors open( fly screens closed !!) at night and listened to the sounds of the rainforest.
Thanks to all at treehouses .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliew57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with others! We are very glad that you embraced our nature and rainforest. Yes, it is lovely laying in bed with your doors open listening to the frogs and wildlife. Your comment about having more comfortable furniture outside has been noted and we'll work on that for your stay next time! We've also just had the lounge professionally cleaned in Rosella accommodation. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

Had heard the great reviews about Tree Houses and and was confident that it would live up. I booked a 2 bedroom tree house looking forward to the "rustic" setting with a seperate room for our 5 year old. After making the booking I received a call back saying that the tree house was not available but we could have the DELUXE Bush Cottage. This seemed OK at the time. Upon arrival, the check was very friendly and inviting to be sure.
Arriving at the cottage, it was dissapointing to open the door and be greeted by a stale musty damp smell and besser block walls, very very far from "rustic" The lounge furniture was so dusty that sitting on any of it raised a cloud of dust that, along with the colour of the fabric indicated no full clean had taken place in many a month (or year). The kitchenette was very drab and in need of replacement. Upstairs, all three beds were heavily sagged with age and long overdue for replacement. The spa bath was crusted with dried soap and we had to clean it ourselves before it could be used. Whilst not abig thing for a romantic weekend, appliances such as the Tv were old CRT analogue versions and a cheap KMart Cd player.
The most annoying thing was the smell. Having noticed that the upstairs level was larger than the downstairs, I walked around the back and found that a section of the ground floor had been partitioned off with a false wall, and was being used to store old beds and furniture. I suspect that these mouldy old beds were creating the smell that was seeping through the wall.
On the Sunday morning, as some other guests had departed earlier, I did sticky beak in the adjoining Bush Cottages and noted similarly stained Lounge furniture and generally dillapidated appearance. The Tree house opposite, whilst still a bit tired looking, was in better shape then the Bush Cottages.
All in all, given the hype and generally rave reviews, I was very let down by the whole thing. Makes you wonder about the 5 Star reviews??? THe location is of course very tranquil and pleasant there can be no doubt, it is a great place to have this type of getaway. The place on its own would be lucky to get 2 stars from me, but I give it three for the setting.
The lesson is, if you are close enough to drive, take the time to visit and walk through before you book. THeres nothing worse than a big let down. Oh yes, nearly forgot, the Restaurant was "on holidays" we had to go to town to eat instead!
I did raise my concerns when we checked out, and the Lady to her credit did listen with apparent concern, but seemed unsure how to handle the situation. Not a good idea to let an unhappy gueast leave while still unhappy I would think?

Room Tip: Avoid the Bush cabins completely. They are really just motel rooms, nothing special. The Tree Houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Chris T, we are saddened by your comments on Trip Advisor. If only we'd known of your concerns during your stay, we could have done our very best to sort them out for you. You had checked in at 11.30 (normal check in 2pm) and checked out at noon (normal check out 10am) and we didn't know of any of your concerns until you were leaving. The reason for the change of accommodation for you was that we felt that this accommodation was much bigger for you and your family and it also had airconditioning. We also supplied you with complimentary champagne and breakfast hamper for the change in accommodation and called you beforehand regarding the change.

Unfortunately being in the rainforest and with heavy rain, there is at times a 'damp' like smell which is quite different to the city smells.

With regards to the restaurant, my apologies that it was not open for your nights stay. February is our quietest month therefore our leasee takes holidays during this time. We would have however referred you to other restaurants in close proximity. The closure is also mentioned on our website.

Again, my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations and we wish you well in the future.

Kind regards
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Spent two nights at Tree Houses of Montville. The chalet was simply first class, all the better since we were upgraded when we arrived! It was spacious and luxurious. The surroundings were superb, so peaceful and tranquil and we felt at one with nature. I "sang the praises" of Tree Houses to my friends and work colleagues when I returned and would gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Wow, what a lovely review! Thank you very much taking the time to comment about our property to Trip Advisor fans and also friends and work colleagues! It was our pleasure to be able to upgrade you. We are pleased that you enjoyed it! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

When we arrived and checked in it was quick, simple and efficient ... exactly what you want after a drive from Brisbane and it's your first day of holidays. With our complimentary bottle of bubbles we drove along the windy road into the forest to our luxury treehouse. The place is simple, clean and very private - just perfect for a relaxing few days away from the city. It was Summer and at night it rained a little making it just cool enough to light up the fire. The huge bath/spa is pretty cool ... and waking surrounded by trees with a cute scrub turkey eye-balling you through the sliding glass doors is pretty neat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouses, Manager at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell others of your experience at Tree Houses. We're pleased that you got an opportunity to light your fire - even in summer! Our scrub turkeys are very cheeky and we thank you for embracing them. They often knock on guests door in the morning demanding breakfast! We'll hopefully see you again in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary.. The staff were amazing , nothing was too much trouble, she even booked transport for us to go out for dinner .. The cabins are charming, we were lucky that the weather was cool enough to light up the log fire, watch some movies, and have spa baths overlooking the rainforest(with no-one else in sight) Loved it, would definately go again..

Room Tip: " The Nest" is the furtherest cabin away,its like your totally isolated..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you DLS from Toowoomba for taking the time to review our property. Sorry for the delay in responding. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your special occasion here at Tree Houses. Yes, "The Nest" is very private and relaxing. I'll pass on your appreciation to Vikki who looked after you during your stay. We look foward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Spent a perfect 2 days snuggled in our treehouse. Weather was rainy so we spent time relaxing in bed watching movies, playing board games and listening to the rain and the fire crackling. When the weather fined up we explored the beautiful surrounds- gorgeous flowers and lakes. Cheese platter was delicious, and the spa bath with bubbles and candles was devine. Rainforest nature cd was playing when we arrived and just set the mood perfectly. Vikki at reception was super friendly and very accomadating with our requests. A cheeky turkey suprised us on our deck (so cute!). Overall, thoroughly enjoyed our time and very sad to leave so soon. Montville is the perfect place to get back to nature and rediscover the best things in life- love, happiness, simplicity and relaxation. So don't expect perfect tv reception and the latest furiture from Ikea- take from it what you will and enjoy every moment- we certainly did!! Will definitely return! Thank-you Tree Houses!

Room Tip: we stayed in standard treehouse number 8- nice views and nestled among the treetops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marksgirl2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

We are very grateful to you for taking the time to comment about us on Trip Advisor. We are even more pleased that you had a lovely time! It sounds like you embraced our nature and overall 'feel' of Tree Houses and for that we thank you!

I will pass on your comments to Vikki. She does do an amazing job. We are a small, family owned business therefore we do our utmost to make you feel welcome and treat guests the way that we like to be treated ourselves.

Thank you again for making our day and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed there recently: accommodation was just so appropriate for what we wanted and for where this place is located. Food at the restaurant was great and the overall experience including check in and general experience was both professional and personable. Can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillJKingaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you Bill J for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor. Being a small, family run business, we really appreciate it! We are very glad that you enjoyed both the accommodation and restaurant. We very much look forward to welcoming yuo again very soon. Kind regards, Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.8 km away
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa
2 km away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
0.4 km away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
36.4 km away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,277 reviews
0.1 km away
Treetops Montville
Treetops Montville
#6 of 14 in Montville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondalilla Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondalilla Eco Resort

Address: 61-101 Kondalilla Falls Rd, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia (Formerly Tree Houses of Montville)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flaxton
Price Range: $177 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kondalilla Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a holiday escape that will rejuvenate your senses amongst relaxing waterfalls and the natural beauty of the rainforest. Tree Houses has 23 cabins from affordable to luxury. Weddings and conferences are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kondalilla Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Houses Of Montville Hotel Montville
Treehouses Of Montville Mapleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing