We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Monteverde
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$32.00
More Info
from US$35.00
More Info
from US$31.00
More Info
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
670
155
28
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
155
28
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar cane coffee beans ox cart make your own family run family farm sugar production small snack costa rica visited el making chocolate various stages family business coffee plantation juice great coffee tortillas
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 861 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2015

The place is a functioning coffee and sugar cane farm, family owned since 1940s. We took a 3pm tour, which was supposed to be <2hrs, but lasted 2.5hrs. The entire experience was quite good - we learned about various stages of growth and processing for sugar cane, coffee, cocoa, made our own candy from sugar molasses, tasted roasted cocoa, learned about different grades of coffee, how it's harvested and processed etc. The tour ended with cold drinks and coffee tasting. Very good and fun for adults, but our kids got bored after about 1hr. They got excited again at the end when they were offered to ride in an ox-cart, which helped. Definitely worth a visit, but would be even better if compressed a little bit...

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank rtwfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2015

So much fun and I learned so much. It have such an appreciation for what it takes to make a great cup of coffee. The chocolate and sugar cane stuff is fun too! You get to make chocolate sauce and drink some seriously strong moonshine like drink. Our tour guide Oscar was excellent.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2015

We signed up on short notice as we wanted to take a coffee tour at some point, and the reviews seemed to indicate this would be a good choice with more than just coffee.

When we arrived, we were a bit dismayed at the number of people that were pouring off of many vans and buses, queuing up to pay for the tour. There were 4 guides with about 12-16 people or more per guide, and they were calling out family names trying to get it all sorted. The guides tried to get the first group started and then set up a paced plan where each group could go through all of the sections without conflicts and in general managed pretty well.

The guide was knowledgeable and gave a good tour - though they don't grow the cocoa on their plantation, the details and trying the cocoa beans was quite excellent. The coffee was very tasty at the end even for the non-coffee drinkers in our group.

Overall, I thought it was a good tour with the only reason for a 4 vs a 5 is due to the number of people which was quite unexpected.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank T6584VOsusans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015

One of the better tours I've been on. The guide was very informative & answered everyone's questions constantly. Great little family owned & operated coffee, cocoa & sugar cane plantation. Would be a great tour for families with kids as it was very interactive, with photo opportunities, an ox cart ride, making sugar cane candy, splitting open the coffee beans, making chocolate & more. It was very interesting and definitely not to be missed if you're in the area. Small gift shop with coffee & chocolate available on site.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank jacqjanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Transportation provided and our tour guide Diego, was 4th generation coffee farmer from this farm. He was fun energetic and passionate for what he and his family does. More than just a tour it was a hands on interactive learning experience!! I have a new appreciation for my morning cup of coffee and those who work to provide it!!! I recommend for any one!!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews