We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative, good food, nice views”
Review of El Trapiche Tour

El Trapiche Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Informative, good food, nice views”
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We went on this tour as part of our G Adventures tour. So maybe it's a bit different for us compared to someone signing up for this tour on their own.

We started out with a lunch cooked by the ladies working there, the food was SO good. Simple but delicious home cooking.

We then toured the plantation, walking by banana trees, coffee plants, sugar cane, cacao plants, etc. We learned about coffee beans, the entire process, the types of beans, how migrant workers contribute and do the hard labour to get us the beans, types of roasting the beans, and so on. We also got to learn about how chocolate is made with the cacao plant/fruit and it was definitely interesting to learn about that because I LOVE chocolate. Our guide showed us and let us try some chocolate made in front of us through the different steps. They also had us create "candy" with some sugar cane we whipped quickly to become a soft solid. The two oxen there who are used to churn and used as part of the process for sugar cane, also pulled us in a short wagon ride.

There are some awesome views from here as well.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank niftytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    129
    25
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very informative, albeit a bit long”
Reviewed 31 December 2015

The place is a functioning coffee and sugar cane farm, family owned since 1940s. We took a 3pm tour, which was supposed to be <2hrs, but lasted 2.5hrs. The entire experience was quite good - we learned about various stages of growth and processing for sugar cane, coffee, cocoa, made our own candy from sugar molasses, tasted roasted cocoa, learned about different grades of coffee, how it's harvested and processed etc. The tour ended with cold drinks and coffee tasting. Very good and fun for adults, but our kids got bored after about 1hr. They got excited again at the end when they were offered to ride in an ox-cart, which helped. Definitely worth a visit, but would be even better if compressed a little bit...

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank rtwfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a great tour”
Reviewed 30 December 2015

So much fun and I learned so much. It have such an appreciation for what it takes to make a great cup of coffee. The chocolate and sugar cane stuff is fun too! You get to make chocolate sauce and drink some seriously strong moonshine like drink. Our tour guide Oscar was excellent.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Buddy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tour was good, lots of people”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

We signed up on short notice as we wanted to take a coffee tour at some point, and the reviews seemed to indicate this would be a good choice with more than just coffee.

When we arrived, we were a bit dismayed at the number of people that were pouring off of many vans and buses, queuing up to pay for the tour. There were 4 guides with about 12-16 people or more per guide, and they were calling out family names trying to get it all sorted. The guides tried to get the first group started and then set up a paced plan where each group could go through all of the sections without conflicts and in general managed pretty well.

The guide was knowledgeable and gave a good tour - though they don't grow the cocoa on their plantation, the details and trying the cocoa beans was quite excellent. The coffee was very tasty at the end even for the non-coffee drinkers in our group.

Overall, I thought it was a good tour with the only reason for a 4 vs a 5 is due to the number of people which was quite unexpected.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very organized, great guides”
Reviewed 27 December 2015

One of the better tours I've been on. The guide was very informative & answered everyone's questions constantly. Great little family owned & operated coffee, cocoa & sugar cane plantation. Would be a great tour for families with kids as it was very interactive, with photo opportunities, an ox cart ride, making sugar cane candy, splitting open the coffee beans, making chocolate & more. It was very interesting and definitely not to be missed if you're in the area. Small gift shop with coffee & chocolate available on site.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank jacqjanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Trapiche Tour also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Trapiche Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing