We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Monteverde at El Estabo”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Overall we would say 3.5 stars. Excellent room withe a view. New and clean. Restaurant was fair overall nothing exceptional. You need a shuttle to move around the hotel as it is built on the side of a mountain and is steep. The zip lining on the propert was excellent and overall a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Get the higher numbers. 600,700,800 great views from all these buildings
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WelsfordF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

about this nice hotel. If you want a calm mountain place then it is OK. Nice bedrooms big bathroom but the shower was not good. Good swimming pool and gym with spectacular view. Wonderful but expensive restaurant. Best breakfast we had in Costa Rica! The shuttle inside this huge hotel worked very well but yes you depend on them to move every where. The check out service was slow. One person only to attend a huge hotel was the problem.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FBaiadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is too big. Everything is far so you have to rely on a shuttle service all the time - breakfast, pool, reception. It works well but it is low season. Restaurant is great - good breakfast and meals. Rooms are ok but a little dark. Not enough lights. Beds are very confortable. But we had no hot water probably because we decided to use the bathtube and hot water was not enough. It was cold during our staying, so hot water was a must. The pool was also nor hot enough. Service was ok but lacked personnal at the pool, reception. We stayed at several hotels during our stay in CR. El Establo was expected to be the best hotel we would stay in but it turned out to be the worst.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Silflosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Needed to take a shuttle to get to the dining area Hotel is a huge campus. Very Nice Rooms - spacious, clean. Really beautiful views. It was an amazing hotel however I didn't like how far away everything was - I didnt like using a shuttle to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The room was fine, but nothing special. The view was lovely. The restaurant was nice, good food, even vegan! The wait staff obliged us and turned the music off when we were the only ones there.
The constant need to take the shuttle from the reception to the room was a pain. And some of those employees were not so friendly. The desk staff were lovely.
The landscaping left a lot to be desired compared to another hotel we stayed at right before this one.

Room Tip: No idea, Sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z1031JIjanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

A huge hotel spread up the hill side - most rooms need a shuttle to get to breakfast or reception esp. getting up to your room Amazing views but rooms a little basic - just felt something was missing - good service but a certain level of warmth was missing. central location to walk into town

Room Tip: really steep location - can get a shuttle up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddiment1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We stayed here in September so we didn't get amazing views all the time, take this into consideration when you book. We already knew this would be the case.
The rooms are located at several points up a steep hill. There is a free shuttle service for all guests. Walking down is ok but coming back up is not!! The rooms all have good views, were spacious, with good bathrooms with a bath and shower. There is no AC but that is ok as it isn't required. There are decent toiletries, complimentary coffee, a room safe (which could have been bigger, we couldn't get all our cameras in it, money and passports only), and a hairdryer.
Breakfast was lovely. The food in the main restaurant was beautiful. We ate lunch there and it was a real treat. Fine dining with a view over a lake. Every staff member we came across was lovely and very helpful.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk into town. It is another steep walk so we walked down and got a taxi back at a reasonable price. We would return to this hotel. It is a good base to go off and explore the lovely town and surrounding countryside. We did a night walk and a very early birdwatching trip. Both truly amazing. The jungle is a very different place at night!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,370 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
0.3 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $139 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing