We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,172)
Filter reviews
2,172 results
Traveller rating
665
748
452
183
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
748
452
183
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service steep hill main restaurant las riendas tour desk cloud forest costa rica rocking chairs large property zip line breakfast buffet reception area night walk beautiful view spread out mountain side canopy tour
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 2,172 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Parking right outside room block was great. Excellent large room with fantastic big windows to make the most of the views (although I arrived and left the room in the dark I know the view would have been incredible).
Didn't eat there but friendly staff and great location for visiting monteverde

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank lizzier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

I'll start with the worst part and what made my rating so harsh: This was the only hotel that we stayed in during our honeymoon (along 6 others) that didn't have a type of honeymoon welcoming.
There wasn't a single hotel that didn't treat us with SOMETHING - a wine, chocolate, a card, a sign, or a swan shaped towel. For this price I expected at least something. It is called the "honeymoon suite"! It had nothing honeymoon in it.
Even more so, when we wanted to open the wine in the room (that you pay for) there was no cork-screwer in the room.
The property of this hotel is just huge! It is on beautiful, but the size of it makes it hard to hop around in it.
Overall, it seems like they put a lot of thought and effort in the big things, but forgot the little ones. Our room was nice and had nice view and a jacuzzi, but then there were no towel hangers or pictured on the wall, the small things.
Also the room didn't have any option for heat, and this area does tend to get cold. The curtains felt old and dusty and not allergy friendly.

I would say that overall it wasn't bad, it is a nice hotel, but the value for money is poor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuritbench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

I am a big fan of the rustic look so I really liked this hotel built on a hillside. It's clean, the staff were very friendly, courteous, and professional. I wanted bookings to the canopy/zip line and the hanging bridges tour at the Selvatura park the next day and they took care of all that without any problems.
Those without rental cars might want to stick to rooms at the lower elevation because of the steep climb to the rooms at the higher elevation.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms in the higher buildings are fantastic. The 600 and up rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank STEWART L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Overall we would say 3.5 stars. Excellent room withe a view. New and clean. Restaurant was fair overall nothing exceptional. You need a shuttle to move around the hotel as it is built on the side of a mountain and is steep. The zip lining on the propert was excellent and overall a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Get the higher numbers. 600,700,800 great views from all these buildings
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WelsfordF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

about this nice hotel. If you want a calm mountain place then it is OK. Nice bedrooms big bathroom but the shower was not good. Good swimming pool and gym with spectacular view. Wonderful but expensive restaurant. Best breakfast we had in Costa Rica! The shuttle inside this huge hotel worked very well but yes you depend on them to move every where. The check out service was slow. One person only to attend a huge hotel was the problem.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FBaiadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews