We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel huge estate great. Great views from top rooms”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed solo for 2 nights whilst I was working in Heredia. I had room 907 right at the top of the resort and it’s a steep walk down to reception and the restaurants. There are shuttles... just call them and they come along on demand. But not a resort for people with walking difficulties. Because of its layout it’s hard to get a sense of other guests. So if you want seclusion this is it. There is a small pool with beds ( not very comfortable) and WiFi in my room was very patchy. If you come to Monteverde you are probably going to be out most of the day so stay in the cheaper 3 star hotels. But the beds were very comfortable and the peace and quiet was exceptional. The food is ok but nothing special. Breakfast was the standard buffet. Food at the pool as well. Spa on site but didn’t use it. Staff ok and there is a tour desk for you to arrange your sight seeing.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank mrsbowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is good but the establishment is too big and required the use of a shuttle service everyday to get to and from the lobby to our hotel room which was very far from the lobby. The wait for the shuttle took some time so we felt a lot of our time was consumed each day with waiting for a shuttle. The service at the hotel was also very so-so.

Room Tip: get one as close to lobby as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Spectacular to look at but past its best. Shabby, no reading lights and reticent staff. We had to use flashlights in our room. Stopper in bath didn't work. Toilets at zip line area were disgusting so I decided the zip line may not be safe / maintained. A shame because the concept of this hotel is beautiful but it's crumbling. Also our room smelled of urine.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank laganlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This hotel is a good choice when one is visiting the Monteverde Cloud Forest. We did not eat here; thus, we cannot rate the restaurants. It also was raining, and this limited the views. But the hotel was clean, service was good, and the rooms were more than adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realbigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Most people have covered things but I have a few comments. Our room was very nice and had 5 wall lamps with the lowest light output made. Bring a LED bulb if you want to read or if you do any detail activity. Our room had 2 straight back and one rocking chair. Not good for sitting on the balcony. The bathroom had a high louvered window in the bathroom which opened to the hallway and dim lighting. The walls were not made to block sound. Take a light if walking to the Luggaci restaurant at night, there is a metal grate that can catch your foot.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

This hotel has all the possibilities of being a 5 star resort, but the way it stands, it’s a 3 Star? The views from the rooms are spectacular. Good food and multiple restaurants. A spa and much more. The rooms are spacious but definitely needs upgrading including electrical, bathrooms, halls, lighting and furniture. I would definitely go again for a reasonable price .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank rockedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Parking right outside room block was great. Excellent large room with fantastic big windows to make the most of the views (although I arrived and left the room in the dark I know the view would have been incredible).
Didn't eat there but friendly staff and great location for visiting monteverde

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank lizzier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,373 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
0.3 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $140 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde
El Establo Costa Rica/Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing