We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Sunset hotel is set on a hillside with far reaching views across the mountains to the Pacific coast. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens containing lime, avacado, fig and banana trees. It is close by many of the local attractions, but quiet and peaceful.

But the location is not the best thing about this hotel, nor the spacious, and spotlessly clean rooms. The best thing to recommend this hotel to you is the hospitality of Vitralis and Roberto the father and son team who run it. Always cheerful and helpful they have lived in Monteverde all their lives and have a wealth of information about the area and do everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Add to that the fluent Spanish, English and German spoken and the lovely breakfast with georgeous fresh bread and you will be glad you stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlissieEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We spent two nights there and really enjoyed it! The owner was VERY helpful! I can not count how many maps he drew for us! He also booked us the bridges and canopy tour at Selvatura. We thought that selvatura looked more natural than the other parks we saw in the area so we were happy with it. Only warning, the canopy tour is NOT the best place for a first zipline for someone who is afraid of heights! hehe! It is quite extreme!
The breakfast was VERY good! Fresh bread every morning! mmm! The grounds are beautiful also! We saw the beautiful Motmot birds, I do not know if they are common, but it is the only place I saw them and they are the prettiest birds I saw in Costa Rica! The trail is fun also, there are huge trees there!
It is also a great place to relax! The village of Santa Elena and Monteverde is very busy and this is the perfect gettaway in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnorkelGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We enjoyed our short stay at Sunset Hotel. The owner, Vitalis is extremely kind and friendly. He helped us make tour and travel arrangements. The property is beautiful and there are some nice trails. This hotel is about a 20 minute walk (downhill!) into Monteverde. We didn't mind being outside of the town and we usually walked into town and then took a $3 cab ride back up the hill. The owners were accommodating, waiting until we returned from a tour to serve us breakfast (even though breakfast was over). Our only criticism is, although the rooms are clean the decor and bedding seem old and dated. We would come back though!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is reasonably priced ($60/night with breakfast for a family of three in one room) and a little bit away from the scene in Santa Elena. It is in a beautiful hilltop setting with a great view until the clouds creep in, sometimes all the way up to the porch, which is wonderful. The owners are very nice and helpful with local activities as well as planning driving routes and other stops elsewhere in the country. There is a cool trail on the grounds that provided an additional hike each day. It was calm and peaceful and close to the Monteverde and Santa Elena reserves. I only wish they had a bar!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovedcostarica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We got here unannonunced an afternon with our two-yearold. Vitalis the owner gave us an warm welcome. Showed great interest in our stay and helped us whenever he got the chance. Whether it was a taxi, long-distance transport, Hotel or a tour. In our two nights stay here we got to know his son and wife, the all gave a lot to make us feel home(away from home)!

Sure this Hotel has had its days when it was new and beatifull. But for the PRICE, the view and the great hostpitality this is definitely a good choice for a budget family option in Monteverde.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BereistDunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful place. Even if the rooms are not that quiet if you have neighbors, the owner of this hotel is remarcable. At the first second, Mister Vitalis offered us a little tour of his place and took all the time we needed to answer our questions concerning things to do in Monteverde. All his advises were very helpfull and we booked three trips with him. Everything went perfectly and he even maked us save money by charging us "student" price instead of regular. What a nice place to stay ! I sure will recommand this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamzelle_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Read these reviews and decided to stay here for a few nights while doing stuff in Monteverde. For $45 a night total, we got what we paid for and was quite impressed for such a cheap place. As people said, the place in ran by Vitalis (owner) and his son and both are very friendly and eager to help and totally sociable with all of his guests. Vitalis booked a tour for us with 10% discount and we did nothing. He is also the chef and made us a wonderful simple breakfast each morning (fruit, eggs, bread, and coffee or juice).

The rooms are simple and worked for us. No air conditioning thought but you don't really need it since it's pretty cool at night at such high elevation. They do have hot water, but one minor complaint is that the water pressure is not that strong. There is no fridge or Internet in the rooms but you can get Internet in the lobby. Good for simple people with a budget when going to Monteverde.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbles822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.9 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
272 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
265 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
140 reviews
1.9 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.8 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $75 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Hotel Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel Monteverde Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing