We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
461
184
91
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
184
91
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pool bar kids club turkey great holiday thomas cook salad last year two weeks mini zoo bar staff ice cream cakes hotel guests soft drinks and water flat bread relax pool
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 777 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at Alba Resort, what a brilliant time we had, nothing to complain about at all, room lovely and clean, food out of this world, animation team who work very, very hard to make your stay as happy and enjoyable as they can. The shows they put on nightly are very professional and the comedy sketches are great fun. We have already been online to see what is available for us to return at the end of July. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from A/C units as they can be noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harrycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we had the most amazing time at the Alba Resort! We arrived early hours in the morning Check in was smooth and faultless. We were shown the restaurant incase we was hungry and then shown to our room. We had the family room which sleeps 4 and it was nice, clean and spacious. The only slight fault i would have is that the air con didn't work, but as it was still pretty early on in the season we didnt need it and just had the windows and balcony door open which did the trick.
The Hotel is spotless and the grounds are kept beautiful. We only visited the main pool which is fantastic, and the beach a few times which is also really nice. All the staff here give 100%. A special mention goes to Filiz who always greeted us with a smile and was always so polite and friendly. The food here is also amazing. With all of us being fussy eaters in one way or another we always had more then enough choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you eat lunch at the pool bar you have to try the cheese flat bread, its really lovely and so are the pizza's at the beach bar. They also sell ice cream from 3 o'clock by the pool bar
The animation team are first class. They are constantly on the go and offering different types of activites such as sea gym, archery, darts, turkish lessons, belly dancing, water polo etc etc. As i injured my leg before i came away i was only able to participate in turkish lesson's which were excellent. The animation team are never pushy and like nothing more then to engage in a conversation with you. They are aslo extremly curtious and on numerous occasions helped me to my seat or up stairs as i was on crutches. Even the entertainment at night is fantastic and they are all amazing dancers! A special mention goes out to Mustafa, Mehmet, Kemal, Yousif, Vera, Ozman, Ohmar, Zulfiya, Milo, Ken and everybody else on the animation team. They really made the holiday for us, so much so that we have booked to come again in July of this year!!! And as promised, Mehmet Seni Seviyorum!! Sonra gorusuruz!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunni22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Alba Resort for two weeks from May 10th. Unimpressed by Thomas Cook airline (very cramped and 5Kg hand luggage inadequate), but those issues soon forgotten with a friendly greeting and introduction on arrival, and the attractive location, excellent facilities and always friendly staff at the resort made this a truly enjoyable holiday.
This is the first built of three adjacent Alba hotels. The other two (Royal & Queen) are large impressive buildings, whereas there is little to see of the Resort Hotel from the quiet road outside - and I think to it's advantage. This is because the hotel is a complex of smaller, low rise buildings interspersed with attractive (well maintained) gardens, sports facilities (including football, tennis, archery), an amphitheatre, mini-zoo (mainly aviaries) and two excellent pools with adjoining bars. A further bar supports the private beach area reached along a path through further gardens.
The rooms are just as shown in the resort literature, carpeted, with all usual fittings including tea & coffee and a soft drink mini-bar (cost included) restocked daily, and a small balcony or patio. A safe required a small added charge to use. The beds are quite firm and the ventilation system in our room made a few quiet moans & groans that initially hampered sleep, but were soon forgotten as we acclimatised. We did not pay extra for a sea view but had a ground floor room (2106 -- Block #2, Floor #1, Room 06) overlooking a garden area - very pleasant. The room was well maintained each day by the friendly maids.
Food was plentiful with generally excellent choice. The main restaurant served three main meals each day with a large buffet supplemented by an indoor barbeque grill for morning eggs and additional evening meats or fish. Despite the very wide selection with some changes each day, a minor gripe was lack of sausages & bacon on any day -- but plenty of other things to try.
In addition to the main restaurant, the bars also serve an excellent range of food to order during the day with different menus in each. Very useful if you want a change or don't want to leave the beach or pool area for lunch. Two a-la-carte restaurants (Italian & fish) open as alternatives for dinner. These require pre-booking but one trip to each per week is included with no additional charge. We thoroughly enjoyed the special attention and good food in the nights we ate there. The bars are open long hours with drinks and some food available almost around the clock. All the serving staff are friendly & helpful, with many clearly doing everything possible to make the guests feel special.
Another pleasant surprise to us was the quality and variety of entertainment provided. I was dismayed to read an earlier report from Gareth about the Animation team - not my experience! If you want a quiet time with no interruptions, the 'Dolphin pool' is the place to be. The main pool is also the activity pool (also with slides and children's pool), and the team does a great job to provide some enjoyable experiences for all, although you are free to decline and simply watch others participate. I enjoyed opportunities for water polo, various poolside games, archery, darts and Turkish lessons but there were also many other options in and out of the water, including several at the beach - which has great soft sand and a long shallow sea bed. New, high quality sun loungers were plentiful by the pools and at the beach - at least for May demand. Further, the annoying practice of reserving loungers with towels in the small hours is effectively stopped by the staff as they remove any towels at 8am while cleaning. Simple - but effective! (Note, too, that the beach towels are provided and changed when required -- no need to pack your own.)
Back to the animation (entertainment) team. This is a very enthusiastic and talented group -- far better than experienced in previous holidays elsewhere. In addition to managing the day-time activities, individuals from the team seek to engage in conversation to understand if and how they might help and provide great friendship during the stay if you wish to engage with them. Each evening, they perform a show in the amphitheatre. Clearly, not all will be to everyone's taste, but there is much variety so that most people will find much to enjoy. I particularly liked the musical dance shows such as Mama Mia & Zorro, with great sets. The team mime the music, but the dancing and acrobatic skills are all their own. Other nights include comedy sketches, an amazing 'Fakir' show, specialist dance routines and some visiting groups performing live music (after a bingo game) or traditional Turkish music & dancing.
In the two weeks of our holiday, we particularly appreciated the friendship and talents of Mehmet (a very lively character who has skills as far removed as 'Fakir' fire and glass eating and conducting Turkish lessons!), Kemal (looked after us well, a football expert, and engaged me in various new activities), Mustafa (very considerate and a good archery coach) and Vera, Olga & Milo, who all engaged us as friends between their numerous activities.
A further example of the overall staff friendliness came from a stroll through the gardens and aviaries. When studying a pelican in a particularly attractive location, one of the hard-working gardeners called us and although he spoke no English, made clear through hand signals that he would be happy to take our picture with the pelican. Having done this, he presented my wife with a rose from the tree he was working near, and posed us for another photo with this tree. Most impressive, and an example of actions regularly noted where staff stepped beyond their duties to serve the guests.
Speaking of guests, the majority of guests in this hotel are German, with British making up most of the remainder during our stay. Most staff speak at least some German and English and the shows are announced in both. Unlike some other locations visited, there were no obvious national tensions here -- the morning sunbed towel removal notices and staff help to provide a friendly environment for all overcame any such issues -- even during the Champions' League final between Chelsea & Bayern Munich that was played live on a large screen during our stay -- friendly loyalties were displayed!
We rarely ever go to the same location twice on our holidays, wanting to experience new locations. However, this trip was enjoyed so much that before leaving, we were both already discussing our return. We will be back.

Room Tip: As the resort is a collection of separate buildings, a few of the accommodation blocks are further from the restaurants etc. Blocks 6 to 9 (around the quieter Dolphin Pool) require just a little more walking. Blocks 3 & 4 are closest to the reception & restaurants -- perhaps better for those with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Had an amazing time at Alba resort. A family hotel which suited all of our party young and old. The rooms were clean and cleaned daily. The food was excellent there was always something that you could find that suited your taste. The entertainment team were always cheerful and enthusiastic however, never pressured you to get involved if it was not something you wanted to do. We had to use the hotel doctor who was fantastic and so supportive and helpful and also spoke good English. We cannot wait to return in fact want to go back this year. definately a winner and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank angela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As a family with two young daughters, we were very fortunate to have selected this great all inclusive hotel. Its a lovely complex, low rise and tastefully designed. Our family room was great and any little niggles with it were efficiently dealt with. The food is lovely, the pools and facilities excellent; a nice private beach is a stroll away and the fascinating town of Side is a bus ride away. The majority of the guests are German, which is also a good thing.. they are very friendly and civilised. And finally the hotel staff- they are fabulous. The miniclub team are wonderful, the animation team are awesome, and all in all they made our holiday special. Full marks

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stroma-Roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews