We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location”
Review of Alba Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alba Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Colakli
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The hotel is perfect for families with children. The location is perfect, about 1 hour from the airport, with sandy beach and smooth entrance to the sea. The services are good with excellent food and standard beverages for Turkish AI. The hotel staff is always smiling and eager to help. The hotel is old, the rooms and the bathroom are small, this being the only disadvantage of the resort. In the room the minibar is filled daily with soft drinks and water, as well as tea and coffee.The garden is sensational with a lot of trees: palms, olive trees, pomegranates, mandarins. It also has a mini zoo with flamingo, pelican, many bird species, parrots, rabbits and cats, a horse and a pony. Walking to the beach through the garden is great. It has children's facilities, slides and kids club.The bazaar and shops are across the street from the hotel, perfect for evening walks. There is free internet in public areas and reception, but it does not work well, but there is also a better option, extra: 2 euro/ hour, 3 euro/ day or 15 euro/ week. For those who want to get out of the resort and visit the area the hotel is close to the ancient town of Side and close to Manavgat. I totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlecsAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We had reservations about our holiday having read reviews but were completely wrong to have been worried. The hotel is fantastic, the setting and grounds are fabulous.
Even a small zoo in the grounds !! The rooms are a reasonable standard everything you need and and very clean. We were lucky enough to have a sea view which was a real treat. The hotel caters for all a quieter pool area or a more lively area with music is played and some activities scheduled. The walk down to the private beach is delightful and you have a couple of places to grab a drink enroute. Plenty of sun beds and shade if you want it and facilities to use. The evening entertainment was varied and again all well organised the hotel has a stage set in an amphitheater for the main shows and again there are other places to go if this isn't your cup of tea, a favourite of ours was the upstairs terrace bar for a cocktail. On to the food this is where many people tend to differ but I can not believe you could find fault with it. An enormous choice of hot and cold food at the buffet main restaurant where chefs we freshly cooking fish and meat to order in a central area. The waiters are on hand to serve you drinks and all we're so attentive and friendly. In addition you are able to eat at the 3 a la carte restaurants Italian fish and Turkish again stunning food. As the entertainment draws to a close there is a disco near the beach outdoor nightclub which was again another great feature for those whi want to carry on ... food is available also at the pool bar again just something for everyone. The onsite spa is fabulous I enjoyed a Turkish bath and massage .... also the water slides make pool time fun. There is a small shop selling holiday essentials and even a hair salon and barbers ... a short walk away are several shops including a pharmacy. The shops stock all the items you can get from the market without making the trip out nice to wander out to in the evening. Most of all the staff at the hotel were amazing - the concierge the bar staff and the animation team all a great team. Guests were mostly Russian Eastern European and German in the main and we were one of just 2 British families there not a problem at all for us. Would I recommend it yes absolutely you really would have yourself to blame if you didn't have a fabulous holiday at the Alba Resort Hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

From airport to hotel...45 min. We asked for a quiet room, we received it in Block 7. Check in was very fast, despite the hotel being full. 80% were Russians and Germans.

+ : Always you can find a sunbed, at the pool or at the sea. The sea is perfect ! The temperature was 30 C at least. The beach has only sand. The food is excelent. Try the fish restaurant.
- : Wi-Fi is free only in the lobby. We had to pay 15 euro / week / person to have internet in the room. Cleaning ladies were coming at strange hours... 9 a.m. , 3 p.m... And they speak only their language.

+ > - so... Definitely to come back !

Room Tip: Block 7 is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RAX74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Transfer from the Airport to the Hotel is roughly about 45 minutes in a taxi. We arrived late in the evening and this was no problem, reception staff checked us in and gave us all the necessary information and the Bellboy took our bags to the room. Our room was in Block 2 which had a view of the relax pool. The pool bar was still open (24 hours) and there was sandwiches available if you needed something to eat.

The hotel was very busy but we still managed to get a sunbed late in the day. The hotel is quite spread out so you didn't feel it was full. The entertainment in the evening was a show and then some music or a band playing, it was ample for our needs. There was also a disco at the beach open until 1.30 am which all the hotels could attend (Alba Queen and Alba Royal). There was also a Beach Party for all the hotels held every couple of weeks. There were many German and Russian guests at this hotel, not so many British.

The hotel was very clean, rooms are in need of an update but you are only sleeping in them.

The Dining Room had a great selection of dishes to choose from and the staff very attentive and friendly, especially Yusuf who served in the outside area.

There is a lovely Lobby Bar upstairs and you can sit inside and out, this was a very relaxing area for a drink.

The Pool Bar is open 24 hours, there is also waiter service to the tables and we would say Feliz is one of the best waitresses, always remembered your drink order and managed to get you a seat if you needed one! The Night Barman Kadir always had a smile on his face whether you saw him last thing at night or first thing in the morning! Always remembered your name and your order.

Big thanks to Alba for a great holiday. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank perfectholidays_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

There are lots of positive reviews on this hotel which is why we chose it for our holiday.
I always bear in mind a hotel cannot please everyone and you cherry pick the majority opinion but I have to say I found the Hotel wanting in many areas and am writing this review with a balanced opinion.

We arrived at reception and given a pleasant welcome by the concierge. Once completed the registration form and handed it to Receptionist there was another English couple who were returners to this hotel and some German visitors also registering. He had several registration forms and cards to rooms in his hand and came to me asking "Is this your first visit to us" I replied truthfully Yes and he then proceeded to change the papers with the cards to rooms. Puzzled and having read reviews on trip advisor I questioned this and said This room is not near the Zoo is it? He didn't answer and said "Best block and again asked me if it was our first time at the hotel. I stupidly answered truthfully yes and then the concierge and receptionist had a brief exchange and the concierge scrubbed out the number on our luggage labels and put another number on them! Suspicious? Went to our room. We had paid for a superior sea view room having read on Tripadvisor that the rooms could be a little small. We arrived at our room and it was a lovely spacious room however on opening the curtains and patio door we were confronted with a full view overlooking the bird zoo with the noise that was awful! Chickens, peacocks and numerous other birds squawking incessantly. Not happy my husband went down to reception to complain and he was told "Block one is the only one with superior rooms"! I knew this was a blatant lie and they moved us down a level but with the same view! I was not happy.

Another pointer here for travellers they only give you one room key which you have to put into the slot in the room to activate the air conditioning so when you leave you take the card and that stops the air-con. Ask for a second card you will need it as I will explain later. Also don't shut the patio door whilst you're out on the patio because you cannot open it from the outside.

The following morning we went to the Thomas Cook welcome meeting to complain to them about the room situation. Debra the rep arrived listened to what we had to say and said she would have a word and see what they say. It was interesting the other couple there who had been there a few days already said they were asked the same thing about was it their first visit to the hotel so there seems to be a pattern here!

Debra then sent us a message to say she had managed to get our room changed to block 3 and so we went to our 3rd bedroom in less than 24 hours but changed to a much better block. Now the holiday could start so well done to the rep and shame on you Royal Alba for lying!

It was quite humid while we were there but always book a hotel with air-con. What they don't tell you is that it is centrally controlled on a timer! The timer activated the air con between 1800-2100 hrs (when you are out eating) and 0200-0600 hrs when you are probably asleep!

So if you get a second card you can leave it in the slot and use the other key to go to dinner! Not a good situation at all. Another cost cutting exercise I suspect.

The staff were all very pleasant and there was certainly no "favouritism" between the nationalities of guests. Hotel was clean as was the pool and chambermaids very pleasant.

Food : Our main concern. We have stayed in other 5 star hotels and this one by far is the worst we have stayed in with regard the standard and variety of food. Breakfast is odd to put it mildly - cauliflour & brocoli isn't top of my list for breakfast and there is not really any English food on the menu. I stuck to the continental but you can have a freshly made omelette and cereal.

Lunch is okay the pool bar offers pizza, burgers etc which were all nice and hot. the beach bar offers fish which we didn't try so can't comment upon. One restaurant is open for lunch and it offers salad with jacket potato or chips so again very nice.

Dinner was by far the worst meal of the day. It basically consisted on chicken, veal/beef, turkey every single day but in a different form - stew, escalope or grilled.
It was NEVER hot. You would be lucky to say it is luke warm. There were NO vegetables most evenings unless you picked out the tomatoes in the stew etc. You would have to go to the salad bar for any vegetable option! I have never had such chewy meat either so opt for the stew/braised meat as it tenderised it. the rest of the meat options are very dry.

There are the usual bite size cakes along with ice cream served to you so no problem there if you have a sweet tooth.

Interesting to note that the Alba Resort and Spa is still shut down with no sign of opening and I got the distinct impression that they have cut down costs season on season and it is overdue a visit from Companies that award it its ratings and "Certificates of Excellence" because the last certificate they had proudly displayed at reception was dated 2015. there were none from any Company after 2015 and I think it showed they haven't kept their standards up to warrant 5 star. Lots of other guests were moaning and one chap complained to the Manager and the response he got was a shrug of the Managers shoulders and "We're full"! I don't think they are planning long term because even return guests said their standards have dropped and some said they would not be returning.

Interesting to learn from a German tourist that Germans are staying away from Turkey because of the political statement from Turkeys President about Germans so Turkey is beginning to feel the bite of lack of tourists and we saw quite alot of shut hotels.

Room Tip: Superior rooms available ask for one with pool and sea view if not you could be overlooking the zoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 26debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We travelled as a family of 4 and this holiday could not have been better! The staff were outstandingly helpful and the hotel was immaculate. All the food was very good. Could not pick a fault if I tried. Would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outerside of the hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AnonymousMe2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed at the sister hotel, Alba Royal Hotel (+16). The ALBA RESORT was CLOSED shut we we arrived on June 13. It didn't look like the hotel had been open for sometime but the word from The Alba Royal was that they hoped to re open the Alba Resort next year. We were told that many reservations from the Alba Resort were being shuffled in the Royal Alba, which explains its over booked status at the time.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JoeArevaloAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
0.2 km away
Alba Queen Hotel
Alba Queen Hotel
#12 of 44 in Colakli
843 reviews
2.6 km away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#8 of 44 in Colakli
972 reviews
2.3 km away
VONRESORT Golden Beach
VONRESORT Golden Beach
#18 of 44 in Colakli
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Can Garden Resort
Can Garden Resort
#6 of 44 in Colakli
460 reviews
2.2 km away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.6 km away
Bella Resort & Spa
Bella Resort & Spa
#16 of 44 in Colakli
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Resort Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari No:6, Colakli, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Colakli
#8 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#11 Family Hotel in Colakli
#14 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
Price Range: $89 - $1,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alba Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Resort Colakli
Alba Hotel Colakli
Alba Resort Hotel Turkey/Colakli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing