We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

1.Rooms are quite small
2. The "lake facing rooms" they promised actually faces a big sized puddle
3.Food - average- omlettes had egg shells. Limited dinner options too
4.Worst part- room service. you have to call 2-3 times to get even a bottle of water. We ordered room service thrice and requested the bill to be presented with it each time. They did not comply. At the time of checkout, the manager was calling up the restaurant to find out the value of room service ordered. The F&B guys did not have it and consequently, we were standing there asked to spell out each item eaten, the restaurant guy was on the phone looking up that item's price and narrating it to the manager who then wrote it down on ur final bill...All this while we had a plane to catch!!
We left absolutely annoyed !!
It's a beautiful property and the reception staff were courteous. However, Steps must be taken to improve the quality of service

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriyaRaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    189
    58
    23
    15
See reviews for
142
192
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

A very good property across the beach. Good rooms to stay and good food. Access to Beach is through a Hotel Boat and then Boat is available from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm. This needs to be changed. Atleast early morning boat should be made available. Over all good place and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Heritage, Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhavik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Paradise found - Isola di Cocco is the perfect relaxing holiday!

For the last 8 years I have organised and escorted tour groups from Australia to India. My tours focus on Yoga and Ayurveda.

During that time I have stayed at and inspected literally hundreds of hotels and resorts and in all honesty I have found Isola to be one of the best by far. This view is shared by the 80 odd people that I have taken there during this period. I personally have stayed there 5 times and have even sent my mother a few times too!

There are a number of things that set it apart:
1. The staff – they are warm and caring. A hotels biggest asset is its staff and Isola has this in spades. They treat you as you would treat your own family. Their assistant general manager is Sibu Varghese. He sets a very high standard which the whole of the staff follow. They all really go out of their way to help.
2. The Ayurvedic Centre – the reason for my stays is that I love their ayurvedic treatments. For stress, pain or just to escape the bustle of India, they provide the panacea for all that ails you. Their treatments are divine. Plus daily Yoga and meditation too!
3. The Location – Wow. Coconut trees, a beautiful beach and backwaters as well. A short richshaw ride into the quaint and inexpensive town of Poovar. Great for shopping for Saris, Lungis etc. If you come here to get away from the world it is truly Paradise.
4. The Rooms – The heritage rooms are tops. Each has its own private court yard which has an amazing outdoor shower. An evening shower looking up at the moon and the stars is an experience that is out of this world. Till you have one, you cannot appreciate what you are missing.
5. The restaurant – A buffet that would better any in Sydney. Again the staff as well as the food is exceptional.
6. The drivers – The last thing I would like to mention is the hotel drivers, Eldow and Ramesh. When you are traveling you just want things to go smoothly. Whether you are transferring to the airport, sightseeing or just shopping they make it happen without any fuss.

Now with all hotels, things go wrong. But it is their ability to put things right that I am most impressed with. You’re a tough guest if you find fault with Isola Di Cocco.

On my last stay one of the group had a birthday on the day of our arrival. A big birthday cake, and flowers on arrival. Plus balloons and more flowers in her room too!

I am happy to answer any questions. My email is info@ swami.com.au. Send me an email if you would like to come on a tour too.

Warmest regards and happy trails.
Sanjay

Room Tip: Go for a heritage room. It is what sets this place apart from the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bud1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Went there with high expectations...thot there wld be a beach view,luxurious heritage cottage
Lake facing..but was totally upset on getting there..the room was minuscule and lake facing was more like grass facing! Totally no view, cant get to the beach excet by a hotle boat. Asked for a change and got a cheaper STD room 2k cheaper n they wld not adjust the money not even against a meal! The STD room was a nightmare...ac was noisy and antique, water in the shower and taps was salty, straight from the river,poorly trained staff,cheap kettle in poor condition and slow flush..and to top it, NO HOT WAER, decided to check out ASAP next morn when the kind lobby manager made up a little by upgrading us to a suite room which was much better in terms of facilities but not in terms of anything else. Food was strictly ok but breakfast was terrible.

Room Tip: Only take suites. Standard rooms are much bigger but big risk in gems of room amenities and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rutav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttarpara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The facilities in the rooms are remarkable because of the all wood ambiance and the open air rest rooms. The property is spread over many acres and is quite green. Service is satisfactory. We stayed in a room which had a view of the backwaters. We had to walk 75 yards to get a view of the sea (which is only available from the poolside / restaurant area).The beach is private and therefore pristine - however it is closed by 6:00 P.M. so you do not get a view of the sunset from the beach but have to watch it from afar.

Room Tip: Get rooms that are nearest to the pool / restaurant. Can be a long walk for food or for a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The locatio is too far awy from anywhere you can't get a tuc tuc and go to a village or small city shopping or sightseeing. Old rooms and fornitures. Not very clean, basic. some room have toilet outside. It seems like a place than has been buil in the 90's and since then has not seen any maintance and renewal!

people and staff vey kind, though.


Food at the restaurant not high quality-

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fedel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We all loved the resort. The things we loved were the soothing welcome coconut water drink. The walking down the narrow cement roads through trees, ravens pecking on the green lawns, everything was beautiful. We used to swim for almost two hours everyday in the huge swimming pool. The view from the dining hall was amazing! The strip of sand beach beyond the backwaters and then the vast sea made it a memorable scenery.The wooden "Heritage" cottages brought history to the modern age. We even could see nightingales in the day time. It was a very fulfilling experience.

Room Tip: The Heritage rooms were totally wooden cottages which were the historical Kerala style. But the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mukherjeeparamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.2 km away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#2 of 3 in Puvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
15.1 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
15.6 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#8 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
14.4 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
15.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort

Property: Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
Address: Poovar P.O,Trivandrum | Kerala, Puvar 695525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isola Di Cocco ( Island of Coconuts ) is a Complete resort by all means with its exotic location ( a breath taking combo of Backwater & Beach), it has one of the best Ayurvedic Center offering all Panchakarma Packages , Yoga & Meditation on a tranquil & peaceful location. COME & REJUVENATE with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Di Cocco Beach Hotel Puvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing