We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
33
10
12
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
10
12
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking parrotsbush locationrain waterone night staykangaroos grazingprivate jettyrainbow troutnew ownersper nightnational parkgood sizebell birdsbrendanriverboatswildlifemallacoota
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 55 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2017

We stayed at the Boutique Resort Lakeside But we managed to explore Gipsy Point and Hired a boat from them at the Lodge. They were extremely friendly and engaging with new people coming through the Door. We had a splendid time for 3 hours on the river and managed to get all the way down stream to Mallacoota. If you have a spare $70 well worth doing

Room Tip: Hire A Boat from them at the Lodge for $70 Half a day
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gipsypointlodge, Owner at Gipsy Point Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Thankyou Chris for your review in regards to our Boat Hire here at Gipsy Point Lodge, we are glad you enjoyed your day out and hope you'll come back again on your next travels!
Kind regards,
Gerlinda
Gipsy Point Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Gipsy Point Lodge was a lovely place to withdraw from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Somewhat isolated from main roads and any townships it is a scenic, serene and peaceful place to unwind.

Being fifteen kilometres from Mallacoota you still have the best of both worlds, close enough to pop into town for some shopping or a coffee or whatever you need but also being far enough away to absorb the beauty of the neighbouring Croajigalong National Park, the Genoa and Wallagaraugh Rivers.

We stayed in a self contained apartment which was both spacious and comfortable. There were two rooms so we had privacy and space and were able to prepare and cook our own food in our own time. Views from every room were lush with greenery with glimpses of the Genoa River and provided the most spectacular of sunsets each evening. On some occasions we were lucky enough to sight kangaroos grazing outside on the lawn. The kitchen had everything you would need with regard to cooking including utensils, cookware, microwave, oven and stove.

The staff at Gipsy Point were accommodating, friendly and helpful. They were so patient in teaching us to drive the boat and providing us with maps for our sightseeing trips on the waterways. We travelled up and down both rivers, stopping at one of the many National Parks picnic areas which have fireplaces, toilets and a jetty to tie up to. The restaurant and lounge were comfortable and homely and the food we ate for dinner on the occasion we dined there was delicious.

During the days we travelled from Gipsy Point into Mallacoota, hiked on some of the many walking tracks nearby, visited the beach for an afternoon of surf, climbed Genoa Peak, op shopped and of course our boat trip day. Each evening we ensured we arrived back in time for sunset drinks and nibbles on the Gipsy Point Jetty about 300 metres away on the bank of the river. A perfect spot to watch the sunset to the sounds of the bell birds, whip birds, carrawongs and more.

Overall, this is the perfect place for a peaceful holiday with the beauty of the great outdoors but all the comforts of home. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: There are self contained cabins and hotel rooms depending on your needs. If in a downstairs cottage expect some noise from above.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MissChris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gipsypointlodge, Owner at Gipsy Point Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Hi Chris,
It was lovely to have you stay at Gipsy Point Lodge and really appreciate your lovely review, it so well explains the beautiful area in which we are located in. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here again in the future.
Kind regards,
Gerlinda & Brendan
Gipsy Point Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017

A beautiful little get away in a fantastic location. Room was comfortable and what you can see in the pictures. You can tell that they are doing a lot of work to the property. Staff are wonderful and very friendly. We hired a Kayak and a Boat from the property which was fantastic for fishing! Restaurant on site was good too. Would gladly go back and stay again. Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Single Bed room was comfortable and had great view of the garden.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katrina13_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerlindac, Owner at Gipsy Point Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thanks Katrina, lovely to have you here at Easter time and glad you both enjoyed. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2017

This is a semi-wilderness lodge. Don't stay here if you want something in a town or city. Room was very nice, super clean, quiet. Hosts and staff very friendly and helpful. Nice continental breakfast was included with our room. In the area we saw kangaroos, a wombat, pelicans and we were able to get the King Parrots to eat from our hands. Nice experience!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerlindac, Owner at Gipsy Point Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Great to know you enjoyed your stay at Gipsy Point Lodge. Thankyou for your beautiful description of the wilderness and surrounds too. Hope we see you again on your next travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2017

My husband and I stayed a couple of days to enjoy a bit of local fishing.
Great rapport from all the staff! They helped make our stay relaxing, nothing was an effort for them.
They guided us on what was available for us in the local community.
Keep up the great work guys, some things are superficial, friendliness and laughter is a good starting point!

Room Tip: The rooms are as reflected in the photos.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank francowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews