We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house in Eastern Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lookout Guest House
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We arrived with our 19 month old daughter, and were well looked after.
Louise has a plush, professionally run guest house overlooking the whole of Port Alfred. A good place to base your travels.

A couple of good restaurants in town. All within 5 mins.

Hospitality was astounding, and the guest house itself is very well looked after.
Wifi in all rooms.
Rooms Nice and clean with self- catering facility as well.
All the frills a modern guest house AND MORE. ideal for all kinds of travellers.
Security 24/7.

Quiet neighborhood with great views.

An absolutely delicious breakfast served between 07:00- 09h30.

Such a lovely host. Thanks so much Louise. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleMartin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

We appreciate your most encouraging review and thank you for taking the time. We would like to welcome you back as you are such a delightful couple with a special little girl!
Alan and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Class, location, amenities, friendliness, service; all rolled into one: The Lookout!
Arrived late Saturday night (last minute decision), only to be received and welcomed in a friendly yet professional manner. The room is absolutely acceptable. Neat, tidy, spacious, comfortable, and everything you'll need to enhance a beautiful stay. The view is "to die for"!! I will definitely make use of The Lookout again. I can highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank EaterOuter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We stayed at the Lookout in preparation for a wedding. It was all we hoped for and more! A fantastic location, immaculate room and welcoming hosts. Not to mention the breakfasts! An amazing place.....

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M970WCchristopherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Had the most amazing relaxed time at the Lookout
The views were amazing and Breakfast even better
Louise and her staff were very friendly and welcoming.
It was peace, quiet and tranquil
We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sanushkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for your encouraging review and so pleased you found it relaxing and tranquil. We look forward to welcoming you all again one day. warm regards - The Lookout Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We loved our two nights stay at this very well appointed guest house.
Louise and Allan are perfect hosts, helpful in every way.
Breakfast delivered to our room was very tastefully presented.
As keen golfers we liked the local course, but the real gem is Fish River Sun, great course and amazing value.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank georgelD7831CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

The apartment has everything. It's home away from home. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

The house is beautiful and the interior is welcoming. My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves here. If we had known it would be this nice, we could have extended our stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Traveling over Southern Africa for more than 15 years I'd state that The Lookout GH is one of the best or perhaps the best one I have ever tried - and I have tried well above 50 over the years.
Spacious, well equipped and clean room, suitable working place, working wifi, secure parking and - after leaving my room for the terrace/pool site - a fabulous view. My room did not have that view, but most of the other rooms have it.
As the tap water was not good enough, a separate drinking water system had been installed with its separate tap. Beat THAT if you can!
The service was friendly and personal.
This is place I'd be glad to visit again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Claes,
Your comments are greatly appreciated by all members of The Lookout Team. It certainly makes what we do feel worthwhile. Thank you! We would like you to visit us again, should you be in the area. Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.9 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
331 reviews
0.4 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
315 reviews
1.5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
1.6 km away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
186 reviews
1.1 km away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Guest House

Address: 24 Park Road | Po Box 2809, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque seaside village of Port Alfred, The Lookout Guest House commands panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, the Kowie River, the Royal Alfred Marina and the colourful small boat harbour. The three elegantly furnished units are extremely well appointed and have their own separate entrances. Offering 4 star luxury accommodation at very affordable rates The Lookout is THE place to stay in Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lookout Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing