We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lookout Guest House
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This is one of the guesthouses in South Africa that we would always go out of our way to ensure that we could make a visit. The hosts Louise & Alan welcome you like long lost friends and are full of knowledge regarding Port Alfred - where to go and where to eat. The accommodation is outstanding and our suite consists of a small kitchen open plan to a spacious dining room and lounge (with spare bed). The bedroom has a very comfortable king size bed and there is a small safe hidden away. The full ensuite consisting of bath & shower, basin & WC has been tastefully tiled and with welcome touches of herbs, toiletries etc. The overall impression is of rooms which have received a lot of loving care from the owners. Breakfasts, which are excellent, are served either in the dining room or outside on the patio - recommended on a sunny day to sit, relax and enjoy the food whilst gazing out over the marina and town. The is secure parking inside remotely controlled gates. We cannot speak to highly of The Lookout and will be revisiting again in 2018

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DenisWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

We always enjoy your visit , appreciate your return trips and very encouraging reviews. You are both very loyal supporters, Thank you! See you in a couple of years again.
Alan and Louise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

We visited so we could attend gran's 80th. It was a restful place to stay after hours of travel.

Really love the hybrid between b&b and self-catering. Loved the breakfast being brought to room!

We'll definitely be back for a proper stay as we spent a lot of time going to see family etc.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zuko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We were greeted and made to feel very welcome by our hostess. The breakfast selection, room service and food presentation was excellent. The location is convenient and well located for visiting the beach or town area. Very good advice received for dinner and local tourist attractions. Lovely view in a relaxed and convenient environment

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidmP3334XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Taking the time to review us is much appreciated - thank you for your encouragement and positive comments.
I enjoyed catching up about your part of the country as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I loved everything about this place, the location, the host, the rooms are spacious, clean, and the view is amazing value for money. I would recommend this place to anyone coming to port Alfred. Stunning

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 163zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We arrived with our 19 month old daughter, and were well looked after.
Louise has a plush, professionally run guest house overlooking the whole of Port Alfred. A good place to base your travels.

A couple of good restaurants in town. All within 5 mins.

Hospitality was astounding, and the guest house itself is very well looked after.
Wifi in all rooms.
Rooms Nice and clean with self- catering facility as well.
All the frills a modern guest house AND MORE. ideal for all kinds of travellers.
Security 24/7.

Quiet neighborhood with great views.

An absolutely delicious breakfast served between 07:00- 09h30.

Such a lovely host. Thanks so much Louise. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleMartin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

We appreciate your most encouraging review and thank you for taking the time. We would like to welcome you back as you are such a delightful couple with a special little girl!
Alan and Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Class, location, amenities, friendliness, service; all rolled into one: The Lookout!
Arrived late Saturday night (last minute decision), only to be received and welcomed in a friendly yet professional manner. The room is absolutely acceptable. Neat, tidy, spacious, comfortable, and everything you'll need to enhance a beautiful stay. The view is "to die for"!! I will definitely make use of The Lookout again. I can highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank EaterOuter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We stayed at the Lookout in preparation for a wedding. It was all we hoped for and more! A fantastic location, immaculate room and welcoming hosts. Not to mention the breakfasts! An amazing place.....

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M970WCchristopherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.9 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
331 reviews
0.4 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
315 reviews
1.5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
1.6 km away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
186 reviews
1.1 km away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Guest House

Address: 24 Park Road | Po Box 2809, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque seaside village of Port Alfred, The Lookout Guest House commands panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, the Kowie River, the Royal Alfred Marina and the colourful small boat harbour. The three elegantly furnished units are extremely well appointed and have their own separate entrances. Offering 4 star luxury accommodation at very affordable rates The Lookout is THE place to stay in Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Lookout Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing