We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
939
248
152
101
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
939
248
152
101
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea scones beautiful surroundings birthday treat christmas party from start to finish cream tea every member of staff bottle of prosecco sunday lunch food was lovely hot tub evening meal lovely touch following morning the cottages wellington restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
921 - 926 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2015

We were not staying at the hotel but had pre-booked for a restaurant lunch. Upon arrival, only the library was open, with a bistro menu, so choice of food was limited. The lounge seats were very comfortable but too low to comfortably eat our meals at the table. Service was also slow as the staff seemed more concerned with guests having afternoon tea, even before 1.00pm.
All-in-all, not as impressive as on previous visits.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikelmool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2015

Dear kikelmool,

Thank you for your review.

All feedback is appreciated and always acted upon when received, please be assured that your comments will be passed on to the management team. I am sorry that you fell your visit fell below your expectations, we always strive to create the best possible experience for our guests.

I do hope you choose to return to the hall, when you do please contact me directly and I will personally ensure you have a pleasant and enjoyable visit.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015

We had lunch here last Saturday having booked a table some time ago for my mother's 91st birthday. The hall and park are beautiful so it seemed like the perfect place. The food, when it arrived, was good and overall we did enjoy the experience but it should have been so much better. Firstly it took ages to get someone to show us to our table. Lots of staff but only one seemingly who could help! Then when we got there it was set for four (we had booked a table for 7, though one of us could not make it the last minute) with low lounge chairs and a normal height dining table which meant that it was somewhat difficult to eat from the table as it was quite a bit higher than the chairs. Furthermore it was a real squash to get six chairs round it, so it's a good job one person could not make it! Then it took ages for someone to take our order (in the end I had to find someone to take it). When we asked for wine, no wine list was provided but instead the house red was suggested and fearing a further long wait we decided to go with that suggestion (which thankfully was very good). However, a wine list should have been provided with the menus. Finally when it came to pay we had to go to another room to use the one (non portable) credit card machine and had to stand waiting until it became free. All very frustrating, especially for such a special occasion.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank goodfoodie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Dear goodfoodie308,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am disappointed to read that your visit fell below your expectations, please be assured that this is not our usual standard of service.

All of your comments will be shared with the management team and further training procedures will be emplaced.

We hope that you will visit the Hall again and allow us to restore your faith in the usual impeccable service which we strive to provide.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed Saturday night and invited friends over for dinner.
The reception welcome was flat and cold although a porter helped take our bags to the room.
The room had bizarre 1/2 Windows, and storage heaters, the safe was faulty.
At dinner, no one was in charge - we ordered drinks, which came promptly, had to ask for menus after 20 minutes, complimentary hors d'oeuvres arrived, amazing selection really really exquisite - we asked how we should eat them " be inventive " was the reply - we needed tea spoons....

Dinner service was slow, the food was fantastic, had to keep asking for the wine to be topped up as the bottle was on ice some distance from the table .....they had " run out " of desert wine

Breakfast was tremendous, really well cooked, had to wait 15 minutes to order though, ordered toast - which you had to cook yourself on a machine 30 metres away from our table - I don't think you have to do that in a Premier Lodge....

We won't return - really good chef and food completely let down by non existent front of house and poor untrained staff and systems.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RichardB396
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Dear Richard B

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests as it allows us to highlight areas which we require further training.

All of your comments in regards to service have all been noted and passed on to relevant managers. Please be assured that further training will be carried out in areas which we fell down.
Wynyard hall is such a historic building and we have had to utilise all the available space we have to create bedrooms. The use of storage heaters allows us to do this.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and please be assured that all of your feedback is appreciated.

I do hope you choose to return to the hall, if you do please contact me directly and I will personally ensure that you have a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2015

My husband and I visited Wynyard Hall to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary as a special treat and the place didn't disappoint. From the moment we arrived we were treat like royalty until the moment we left. We stayed I one of the superior double rooms (Castlereagh Suite) which was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable...With the addition of his and hers bath robes which were sooo comfy. We started our day by having afternoon tea (mine with prosecco and my husband's with Glenfiddich), we then spent some time in the spa. This isn't usually our cup of tea but sipping prosecco in one of the outdoor hot tubs made it worthwhile and very special. Our evening meal was eaten in the brasserie and the food was very reasonably priced, very tasty and the service was exceptional. We eventually retired to our room and had a very good night's sleep indeed. Breakfast was served in the Wellington restaurant. The menu was extensive and the food was good but be aware they stop serving at 9am...We like to laze around the room on a morning when staying in hotels and nearly missed breakfast. Breakfast in bed is an option and think I would try this next time. After readjust we took a leisurely stroll around the walled garden which isn't usually our thing but it was beautiful. On the whole we had a fantastic time and will definitely be going back again soon.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicky0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2015

Dear Nicky0104,

I am pleased to read that Wynyard was your hotel of choice for your anniversary celebrations, I hope that you had a very happy one.

Your review was a pleasure to read! It is wonderful that you utilised all of our facilities! The spa, afternoon tea, The Brasserie - all of which make for a wonderful stay!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2015

We recently held our 30th Celebration Event at Wynyard Hall, in the Conservatory.

We would like to thank Katie Land so much for her help – the event wouldn’t have gone as smoothly without her support. Also a thanks to Ryan, the event leader of the evening, he was a superstar and I’m sure we drove him mad but he couldn’t have been more helpful. Everyone also commented on how nice the food was, so please let everyone involved know, and a big thanks to all of the service staff as they did a great job making sure the meals were placed and cleared quickly.

We’ll definitely keep you in mind if we have any similar events in the future

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2015

Dear Amy B,

Thank you for your recemt review.

I am thrilled to hear that the team impressed you and your staff, i hear that your event was a pleasure to oversee.

Katie and Ryan will be elated to hear your wondeful feedback, i will be sure to share your kind words.

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews
<