We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
939
248
152
101
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
939
248
152
101
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea scones beautiful surroundings birthday treat christmas party from start to finish cream tea every member of staff bottle of prosecco sunday lunch food was lovely hot tub evening meal lovely touch following morning the cottages wellington restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2021

Extremely comfortable stay in a historical property ; dinner in Wellington Restaurant; interesting and relaxing setting ; 'dairy-free' so sometimes offerings less than desireable; tonight good starter with dairyfree bread and spread; I wanted the pan roasted cod but not as on the menu; the chef offered a change and it came accompanied by wilted greens,asparagus and cherry tomatoes; he also put together a really delicious dairy free desert; the young servers were all very friendly and helpful too.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veronica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2021 via mobile

Just got back from a spa and afternoon tea with my wife. Thoroughly, enjoyable. Setting - 10/10, food and spa 10/10, staff and service 300/10.

Absolutely stunning place but the staff are incredibly good. Apologies for forgetting names but special mention to the receptionist in the spa and the fantastic waiter who told us he used to be a hairdresser. Both were awesome!

Can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidwN6562PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2021

I bought a red letter stay bed,breakfast and dinner. I really wish I had not bothered. The delicious menu on their website simply doesn't exist! The lovely starters of smoked duck breast,moules marinierre etc have been replaced with bread with poor quality olives, bread with tomato soup, or bread with hummus! Not surprisingly its claim to 2 rosettes is untrue. Apart from the eggs, the cooked breakfast was cold. Eggs benedict was served with bacon which was cold and grey looking. despite covid regulations,we were left to serve our own orange juice!
The breakfast restaurant manager was very rude to us both after we pointed out that we could not eat the cold fried breakfast .we explained to the manager the problems we had had and his reaction was simply to disbelieve our comments to him. Needlessly say it was all covids fault! An important message was left on the Hotel answer phone as the staff do not answer the phone The message was never passed on to us. This was a every disappointing experience, one we will not be repeating.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2021

WHAT IT IS.

Built 1846 for the Marquesses of Londonderry.

Currently a hotel and spa.

WHAT TO SEE.

Lobby, reading / tea room, chapel, dining rooms and a greenhouse bar.

Walk northwest across the estate and you'll reach a cafe, which is also the entrance to The Gardens. Ticketed.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank thejonpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2021

All staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and so was breakfast. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. The location is absolutely stunning, beautiful grounds and a great farm shop. The only small complaint is that the restaurant staff would benefit from some more training but they all make up for that with their happy and willing attitudes.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helenvQ5701YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews