We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful gem”
Review of Hartleys

Hartleys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$57
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stumbled across this lovely restaurant while holidaying in the lakes. We were welcomed by the chef (nice touch, he was chatting to some other guests at the time), delightful waiting staff offered top quality service through out the meal. The food was amazing, lots of creativity and delightfully varied menu, not your usual boring fare, and clearly the chef has thought about vegetarians rather than them just being an after thought, as so often is the case. A truly wonderful place, which we will recommend to anyone visiting the area. I would advise you to book as clearly a popular place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lakeslover062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 259 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

I have dined at Hartleys many times over the years but have never had a bad meal.
In fact every meal has been outstanding in flavour, presentation, portion size and value for money.
Hartleys is understated and unpretentious but it knocks the socks of any competition it has in the area. Do yourself a favour and try for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Thank camber29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Having visited hartleys various times I can honestly say the food has been excellent everytime. Real tasty home cooked food.
Sometimes the service is a bit slow but at least you know it is all cooked to order , and for the quality of food it is fantastic value for money.
The only negative is the staff are'nt particularly friendly or welcoming which is such a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blossomdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babs046, Chef Owner at Hartleys, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2009

Thank you very much for your comments and your custom. We are concerned about your review of our staff, we pride ourselves on the service and standard of food we offer and obviously our staff are important to our business. We note that you have mentioned you have visited us on various occasions, is it possible to narrow this down for us ie day of week and time etc in order that we can investigate fully any problems that we may have and alleviate for the future.

We look forward to hearing from you, Andrew and Lisa Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2008

If you are looking for a first class meal then look no further. Hartleys is a small restaurant in Dalton and while being somewhat plain in decor the food is first class. As the place is on the small side it is advisable to book. A real bargain at present is the early bird menu that runs from five to six thirty (phone to confirm as the times may change). For a mere £4.50 a meal you have the choice of a selection of pizza and pasta dishes. I chose a sea food pizza that was simply the best i have ever had, lots of topping including chunks of cod and salmon. The total cost for two meals, a bottle of spitfire biter and a large excellent house red wine was £15.15p. If your in the area try it out you will not be disappointed.

Thank travelman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Reviewed 19 January 2008

Food was delicious, service was great but a little slow.

Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Hartleys also viewed

Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
 
Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
 

Been to Hartleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing