We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious stay”
Review of Riverwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

really pleasant stay for 3 nights.saw the area with a great itenarary from Danny.Even went on a boat tour to see whales with a nice couple who own the boat who made us so welcome.
the inn has expanded with a magnificent new section where we stayed.there are a few items still needed in room but it didnt damper our stay
definitely a worthwhile experience

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gattisdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Riverwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

Where do we even begin.......The owner, Danny was so accomodating. I live in Victoria, BC and his inn has a truly West Coast atmosphere. Everything from the perfect Queen size beds with gorgeous white linens, to the delectable soaking tub and full walk in shower. The firepit outside next to the river was so relaxing. The recommendation on the food for the cafe in neighbouring town was outstanding. I haven't got one bad word to say, my only disappointment was in not staying longer. All the best Danny! Your place is a true diamond in the heart of NFLD.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewfyGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We just flew into St. John's and were making our way west to Gros Morne National Park. After doing some searching on the internet, I like the look of this location and the number of positive reviews the Riverwood Inn received. I was also looking for a place that I would not have to drive too long to get to and make sure that we weren't driving much farther the next day as well. It took us just under 5 hours to drive there from St. John's. We were met by some friendly faces that night and they directed many questions to our kids - they liked that. We were brought up to our room (Upper Shereboom) which was impecably decorated and given the full tour of the facility. There was a funciton going on at the time, but we were so tired we didn't really notice. The very very large room had 2 queen beds and a very spacious bathroom. Breakfast was delivered to our door in the morning - continental with fruit, fresh baked muffins, yogourt and orange juice. A bit light, but still very good. We slept very well that night.....just what the driver needed. The next morning, we inquired about the glass beach that was in town. Danny, the owner, had me follow him out there - nice touch. The beach is quite facinating. Anyways, getting back to the hotel, we had a great stay with friendly service. I just wished I had brought my fishing rod. Great introduction to Newfie hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We were married on Sept 12/09 at the Riverwood Inn, Danny, Susan and all the other staff at the Inn were wonderful. The meals and room are fabulous. It was one of most elegant and relaxed wedding we’ve ever been to and it was our own. I’ve already recommended The Riverwood Inn to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMB-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

There are not enough good things to say about our stay at the Riverwood Inn. We fell in love with the Springdale area and especially the Riverwood Inn. The property is beautiful both inside and out. The service is outstanding by Danny and the rest of the staff at the Inn. Dallas is an amazing cook, everything was too perfection. It was a great place to relax even when we travelled with our young child and two small dogs. The staff does everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They suggested places that we could visit and didn't go wrong, everything we seen and did was awesome. It's nice to know that when you are spending money on a place to vacation that you can walk away knowing that it was money well spent....you can't go wrong by staying here! We can't wait to plan our next trip back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We got married at the Riverwood Inn on July 30, 2009. I cannot say enough to describe our experience at the Inn. The staff there went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed to have a spectactular wedding day. We had the ceremony overlooking Indian River, which was amazing. Everyone enjoyed our wedding there. The food was excellent, the rooms were beautiful and everything went off without a hitch. I would highly recommend the Riverwood Inn to anyone who wants a fairytale wedding.

Andrea & Fred Kelly
Lower Sackville, NS
(Robert's Arm, NL)

The stuffed chicken breast was fantastic choice for our meal

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Located on the banks of a beautiful river with marvelous hiking paths on the premises, the Riverwood Inn is a can't miss spot in Newfoundland. The accomodations were both beautiful and extremely comfortable and our room and bathroom were hugh. We opted to have dinner (for an extra fee) and that was wonderfully prepared as well. Our host, Danny, went out of his way to make us feel at home and helped to answer our questions about Newfoundland's history and culture as well. I would highly recommend a stay here if Springdale is anywhere near your path of travel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Riverwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood Inn

Address: 1 Riverwood Drive, Springdale, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Springdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverwood inn is favorably nestled in a "seemingly" remote river valley along Indian River in Springdale, Newfoundland & Labrador. This NEW 5-suite country inn features the highest standards in accommodation comfort, decor and services to ensure distinctive and memorable experiences for all its guests. If you desire an accommodation choice that emulates exquisite character and comfort in an undisturbed, natural setting then come visit us at the Riverwood Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverwood Hotel Springdale
Riverwood Inn Springdale, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing