We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveller rating
430
510
162
79
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
510
162
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel swimming pool free parking nice stay pancakes duplex room clean rooms bar and restaurant nice room separate toilet comfortable bed couple of days quality hotel excellent breakfast hotel is located railway station top floor
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

I have been unsure of whether to give it a 4 or a 5, but I feel that the latter is fair.

If you ever have the misfortune of passing by Verviers, this is a great place to stay. Outside its walls - not so much.

I had a business meeting near Liege and price quality wise this place was a good choice. I also wanted a new place to visit. The location is very convenient and easy to find. Great parking space. Very nice building. Good rooms and general equipment. I had an upper floor, thus a kind of a duplex. Except for some street noise from late restaurant goers there was little to complain about. All worked fine.

The breakfast deserves a special mention - always a deal maker/breaker for me. All was as good as one would expect from a 4* hotel, but the icing on the cake was the honey served in a comb. I had never seen that at a hotel for breakfast (and I love honey), so this was super cool. It also tasted great.

Summary. The hotel is great for a visit if you want to go to Spa, Liege, etc. and those places are booked out. Other than that, there is no point in leaving it, as the town itself is a hole, unfortunately.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Yuri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVerviers, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verviers Van der Valk, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear Yuri,

What a great comment about our hotel - Van der Valk Verviers!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It's always a pleasure to read it.

We hope to welcome you again here,

Best regards,

Emilie Lejeune
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

Clean cosy hotel. Excellent location. Try to do some activities in the hotel because the city is nothing.
We had a very nice stay and would book there again because of the nearby nature. parking no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hilda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVerviers, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verviers Van der Valk, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Dear Hilda,

What a great review about our hotel - Van der Valk Verviers!

Thank you for taking the time to write it! It's always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed them stays.

We hope to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Emilie Lejeune
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

The hotel is really good and classy. For example, you have champagne at the breakfast. But the localisation is not really interesting. Verviers is small and very polluted. In the hotel was everything fine except the staff members at the wellness centers who were really unfriendly and not helpfully.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yaelleleloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVerviers, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verviers Van der Valk, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Dear Yaelle Leloup,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We'll debrief it with our staff members from the wellness center.

Neverless, we're happy to read that you enjoyed the champagne at the breakfast :-)!

Best regards,

Emilie Lejeune
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Excellent food and friendly helpful staff. Good central location for a stopover en route to calais or hook of holland. Good facilities but very busy and parking was manic! A great use of the building and done nicely.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P2205JPsteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVerviers, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verviers Van der Valk, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear P2205JPsteva,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us!

We are glad to read that you found the quality of our food excellent & our staff very helpful.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel - Van der Valk Verviers.

Kind regards,

Emilie Lejeune
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2017

No cold water in the morning, we had to wash ourselves with burning water and the staff was totally unhelpful and disrespectful about this issue.
Also, 1h30 waiting for a soup and a toast at night in the restaurant + long waiting to pay due to computer problems. A terrible stay!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephaniehQ6550BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVerviers, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Verviers Van der Valk, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear StephaniehQ,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your recent stay.

We are deeply sorry to read that you had a terrible stay in our hotel.

Be assured, we are taking care about your relevant remarks, a briefing will be done with our different staff members.

Best regards,

Emilie Lejeune
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews