We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Edge gives us the perfect cottage weekend getaway with our dog.”
Review of Lake Edge Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Edge Cottages
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lake Edge gives us the perfect cottage weekend getaway with our dog.”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We've been going to Lake Edge Cottages for several years. It's our go-to getaway with our dog Buster. The cottages are very comfortable, the waterfront view is beautiful and it's cosy, rustic without being rough. Buster has the run of the woods and we get to have a relaxing respite from city life. Nearby Lakefield has a butcher store that is fantastic. We always pick up our groceries after we've unpacked. The town is less than 10 minutes away and has everything you need.
We've stayed in most of the lakefront cottages including the one with a hot tub in winter! Great fun! We've had friends stay with us (4 adults plus one teenager) plus our schnoodle. It's a little crowded for the 1-bedroom cottage but with good friends, totally doable. One year we cooked a turkey dinner at Thanksgiving. I would definitely recommend Lake Edge Cottages to anyone with a dog who wants to escape the city and experience the great outdoors. There's excellent hiking in the nearby provincial park. One tip: we always bring two canvas folding chairs and an extra lamp (if you're like me and like mood lighting).
Pam and Peter are terrific hosts and they are always improving the property. We've stayed at other places that "allow" dogs but in our experience only Lake Edge "welcomes" dogs!
Lakefield also has lots of shops to browse in and you can rent dvds for entertainment at night. Each cottage has a dvd player with the tv.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arundelite123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My wife and I stay for a weekend and we just loved it. Right on the lake, Jacuzzi hot tub next to the room and some good fishing. The room we had was the suite on the lower level of the main house. It was clean, huge and had a great view of the lake. We had a kichenete and a barbeque but we did not use it. Peter and Pam are great hosts and had all the info on local restaurants, shops and sites to see.

We hope to be back again real soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0b_and_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto. Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Lake Edge Cottages has become "our" cottage- we plan to return every year. We are grandparents-We love kids but often there are just adults and dogs there- perfect for our demographic. Dogs are welcomed with a cookie (humans with a chocolate) and every comfort has been thought of. As I said, the bedding is SUPER clean, there are feather duvets and flannel sheets in winter, and the towels are thick, absorbent and smell great. Many housekeeping cottages we have seen do not even provide these things- you have to bring your own! The lake is very beautiful to look at and the view across to the other shore is just trees - no cottages, even, on that bit of lake- it is incredibly peaceful. Non power boats (kayaks, rowboats, paddleboat) are free to use, power boats are rented (re:gas) and games to borrow (free), and there is even free wireless! Civilisation is 10 minutes away in a small town well equipped with stores, restaurants etc. Lots of interesting tourist stuff close by. The ONLY thing is the weeds in the lake which put us off swimming but the dogs didn't care. And we didn't much either- we sat by the fire (in each cabin ) or lake or walked or read. It is a PERFECT place to take your well behaved dog or dogs- and size is not an issue either-ours are quite large. There is a reasonable dog fee. VERY highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grammacello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

If you enjoy a peaceful, beautiful, dog friendly and a cottage atmosphere, this is the place for you. I found Lake Edge on the internet back in 2000 and have gone up for a vacation, every year and every season since. The water is gorgeous in the summer, and the views are amazing in the fall as is the white fluffy snow in the winter. It is very clean and supplied to the max. The one reason we chose Lake Edge was because we could bring our 4-legged friends, and I'm not sure who has more fun, our dogs or us !! I can't wait until October 2010 for our next visit to this relaxing vacation spot. The hosts; Pam & Peter are very accomodating, friendly and welcoming. I highly suggest a visit to this tiny little resort.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaynewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
6.8 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
103 reviews
21.8 km away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
503 reviews
21.3 km away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,556 reviews
7.8 km away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
89 reviews
11.3 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Edge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Edge Cottages

Property: Lake Edge Cottages
Address: 45 Lake Edge Rd | Rr4, Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lakefield
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning, 4-season, pet-friendly cottage resort on Katchewanooka Lake. 1.5 hours north east of Toronto. 1 and 2-bedroom cottages and Deluxe Kawartha Suite on 12.5 acres. 12 ft. x 40 ft outdoor heated pool. Smoke-free, fireplaces, private hot tubs, free high speed wireless internet access. Complimentary canoes, kayaks, rowboats and paddle boats. Fishing and pontoon boat rentals for guests. Close to the Village of Lakefield, city of Peterborough and all amenities and attractions. Cozy, intimate and proudly owned and managed by the Peter & Pam Fischer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Edge Cottages Lakefield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing