We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Sunday evening feed time!

We have come to the 'Night Market' at Glenfield several times and have always found it a great... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2018
Bubblehead8862
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Out of the ordinary, but GREAT food choice.

Located in the basement of the Glenfield Shopping Mall. Use your phone to find it; my local friend... read more

Reviewed May 13, 2018
chiangmaicharlies
,
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
28
16
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
16
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food stalls pork buns knick knacks great atmosphere shopping mall night market for sale sunday evening churros asian flavours cheap eats paella donuts korean crowd seat products
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We have come to the 'Night Market' at Glenfield several times and have always found it a great place to try something different in culinary offerings. Many different tastes are catered for from European dishes to the majority of the Asian cuisines. It gets busy so be prepared to be bumped around a bit with the crowds, but all pretty good natured. Also buskers and produce stalls as well as the ubiquitous mobile phone accessories and ipad covers! All the food we have tried has been great with only minimal exception due to our differing taste expectations! Cheap eats and good quality, but expect to wait a while for a seat unless you go later - say 7pm onwards, after the younger family groups have departed.

Thank Bubblehead8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Located in the basement of the Glenfield Shopping Mall. Use your phone to find it; my local friend knew where it was. Sadly, only open on Sundays.

Open (Asian style) food stalls in a parking lot. Doesn't sound good, but it is. Food from many parts of the world and at inexpensive prices, often less than $10.

We had Asian vegetable dishes which were excellent, and delicious mango smoothies.

Also, there are many stalls with a variety of goods for sale. Great atmosphere here.

Highly recommended. Wish I could have gone there again.

It seems there are other similar Night Markets at other locations on different days of the week, but I didn't check those.

Thank chiangmaicharlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

We opted to pass by the night market to buy food. It was a good decision. The place was teeming with people when we got there. You can choose from a wide array of Asian food ranging from Japanese , Thai, Filipino , Korean Chinese, Taiwanese , Malay as well as Central Asia and pasta and Paella. We ended up buying from 5 stalls. The price was very reasonable. Too bad it's only on Sundays.

Thank JYao55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017

i went here at our first day in akl... i have been tried contact someone that managed this night market before by email, he assured me there night market here... so i decide visited here... this place is very very far from my hotel... surrounding is quite. and the surprise is no night market... no food, no car, not even any people at all... lie!!! loser!!! at least there is good friendly indian taxi driver that willing to bring us back to my hotel... not recommended this place especially if you are foreigner...

1  Thank amazinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Good variety of stalls at the night market selling cheap and tasty food. Especially love their 15 for $5 pork dumplings!

Thank thewildnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

Lots of Asian flavours and the kids always love going! We enjoy pork buns and the Filipino stalls, and you can't leave without a bucket of little donuts or some churros!

Also lots of knick knacks to look at, but they always seem a little expensive.

We went very early at 5:30pm and it was extremely busy, hard to find a table but we ended us sharing with another family. It's easy to lose people so when you have kids just be aware!

Thank nelbells10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

We had a great visit. Lots of different styles of food from a wide range of origins. All sorts of things for sale also. The real highlight is the variety of food available!

Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2017

This Sunday Night Market is located in the basement of the Glenfield Shopping Mall. My phone GPS had no problems finding this place and we easily found a parking space in the multistory mall carpark. The night market was packed with a wondeful aroma of cooking foods from around the world including China, Malaysia, Singapore, Japan, Lebanon, England, NZ, Hungary and heaps more. I loved the $5 fresh mango juice. This seemed to be the standard price. The food was very reasonable priced from $1.50 for a satay stick through to $5 to $8 for a meal. I tried $5 hungarian elephant ears which is a plate sized friend bread with a hint of garlic butter and sea salt. It was delicious. I also had pork chop, lemon chicken with noodles. Lovely. I joined the line up for a Spanish churro and that was scrumptious and reasonably priced. There are lots of tables and stools and you just plonk yourself in an empty seat next to other diners. It works really well. I highly recommend a Sunday drive over to Glenfield to the Night Market for dinner. It's a wonderful extraordinary experience.

Thank terangi706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We went to the Papatoetoe Night Market with family one Friday Night...not promising at first, as it is in the parking garage of a KMart (Hunters Plaza, 217 Great South Rd,, Papatoetoe, Auckland). However...there WAS a lot of parking!

It was brilliant! There was so much food, and it was terrific AND well-priced. There was an emphasis on Asian flavours, with great Karaage and squid, delish pork buns and an amazing banana-mango smoothy. Gyoza are fresh and hot. Seriously, everything was wonderful and I would go again in a heartbeat...but I live in Canada!

Everything was hot, fresh and delicious. A great place to hang out with family and eat fantastic food.

Best night ever.

Thank etobianToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2016

Front of the night market selling fruits/veges, some stalls selling some knick knacks (usually found all over night markets across Asia)

Towards the back is like a large food court. Predominately Asian cuisine, Thai, Chinese, Japanese and Indian. Local food and barbecue available too.

Dumplings are really good and cheap!

Thank blhc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews