We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
127
10
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
10
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain campmobile campother guestsother campsthe rivermasai maragame drivestree housealex walkerland cruiserfamily tentsafari experiencewalking safaritravel agentthe camp managercakerunning water
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 142 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Spend 3 nights at Serian Nkorombo followed by 4 nights at Serian Mara North (The Original) and highly recommend both camps. Comfortable tents, that are somewhat bigger and luxurious at The Original; very nice locations at the Mara River, excellent facilities and the best service you can imagine. It is like there is a complete team making sure you will have a wonderful stay packed with exciting and extraordinary experiences. Meals are excellent and provide more than sufficient energy to do an abundance of safari activities, morning, full day, evening or even nightsafari (The Original only, as Nkorombo is situated within the main reserve)
Guides and drivers are doing a great job and are able to spot one great sighting after another. And as you have the luxury of having a private car, everything can be arrangere just the way that suits you best: drivningen around a whole afternoon looking for cheetah or staying by the river awaiting the wildebeest to cross? All up to you.
Enjoyed a fantastic week in the Masai Mara at Serian.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Bettina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Hi Bettina,

Thanks for your lovely review. At Serian, we strive for a tailor made experience. Everyday you can choose your own adventure. It seems like you had many during your week with us. If you have any photos to share with us, please do so on our Facebook page. We love to see what images our clients produce! Come back soon!

Best,
The Serian Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017

The camp staff members were genuinely friendly, warm and welcoming. They each showed concern that all of my expectations and requests were met. It was a pleasure to get to know camp manager Peter, my guide James and assigned helper William.

The private secluded tent lodgings overlooking the famous Mara River are first class luxury with King size bed, full bath, and furnished front porch for relaxing. The smaller number of guests promoted pleasant conversations at cocktail time and around the dinner table – lots of stories of travel, smiles and laughter.

Best of all were the fantastic game drives. The number and variety of animals to observe and photograph were amazing – literally animals everywhere I looked. Sometimes the driver had to shoo groups of zebra, wildebeest and buffalo off the vehicle tracks. I am an avid wildlife photographer and highly recommend the Serian camp. Bring extra SD cards.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry_Rauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Hi Jerry,

Thanks for the fantastic review. I'm so happy to hear your stay with us was up to your expectations. We would love to see some of your wildlife photos, if you want to share some on our Facebook page, that would be great! Come back soon, with extra SD cards!

Best,
The Serian Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017

We have nothing but praise for this amazing place - the scenery, the accommodation, the food, the service and the warmth of hospitality were all exceptional.

Arriving at the airstrip for a six night stay at Serian Camp (the Original), we were greeted by our two guides, John and George. We climbed in the Land Cruiser and off we went (although they thoughtfully asked if we needed to use the facilities before the 45 minute drive to the Camp). John and George’s warmth and enthusiasm immediately made us feel welcome and excited about the days ahead.

Upon arrival at the Camp, we were greeted by Sofi (the Camp manager) who talked through our stay together with our very particular eating habits. We are both fussy eaters but nothing was too much trouble - separate meals were prepared for us to ensure we were completely happy. We were offered so much food during our visit we were a little concerned about the weight limit for the plane on the return journey!

Our tent (one of the most glamorous tents I have ever seen) was beautiful. Every detail has been carefully considered - such as disguising the pipes with tree bark. Our tent was set away from the main area of the camp which suited us perfectly. The deck area looked out over the Mara river and the stunning escarpment on the opposite bank. Lying in bed at night, you are serenaded by the sound of the hippos, lions and hyenas! There’s nothing to worry about as there are ‘askari’ (night watchmen) checking all of the tents.

Our tent had the bathroom and toilet separated from the sleeping tent but there are tents (for the more nervous guests) with toilets attached to the main tent.

We could choose game drives, walking safaris and night drives and our guides were extremely knowledgeable. Nothing can beat going out on a morning drive, watching the light change as the sun rises and stopping for breakfast out in the bush! John and George were our guides throughout our stay - we loved their company and were impressed with their knowledge and ability to ensure that we saw everything. ‘Topi on top’ is my new catch phrase!

One of the days, we chose to have lunch in the treehouse - about a 15-20 minute walk along the river having crossed the fantastic rope bridge first (Indiana Jones style!).

All of the staff are so friendly and warm - nothing was too much trouble. We do feel that we should make a special mention of Nyaga (sorry if I have spelt it wrong!) and Sammy -hosts/waiters - so charming and wonderful company.

Finally, we must thank Sofi in particular. Her warmth, sincerity and professionalism are a credit to Serian.

We have stayed at three other high-end safari camps. They were all fantastic but Serian had the edge. It is hard to express why - it’s a combination of the location (next to the river), the accommodation, the standard of service and, most importantly, the desire to ensure that we were happy!

We were certainly happy from the minute we arrived until the moment we left (when I cried!)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spkjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear spkjfk,

Wow, what a fantastic review! Thanks so much for taking the time to praise us and our wonderful staff whom we value immensely. We strive to be able to cater to a wide variety of dietary requirements, thrilled to hear everything met your needs. We love to hear stories of happy guests and your story was especially thoughtfully worded. Please come back soon, you always have a home away from home with us.

Best,
The Serian Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We can't say enough about our experiences at the Alex Walker camps in both Kenya and Tanzania. Alex Walker has it all – the friendly, knowledgeable staff and guides; the delicious food; the wonderful accommodations; and, of course, the animals!!!

We spent a magical night in the treehouse at the camp in Kenya; experienced a night drive that I will never forget; visited a Maasai village; met people from all over the world; saw so many amazing animals and learned so much about their behaviours.

A fabulous, fabulous trip. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yazmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi yazmimi,

Thanks for your lovely review. Wow, looks like you managed to do it all between both Kenya and Tanzania. That's wonderful. We are so happy to hear everything met and exceeded your expectations. Do come back soon and until then, please stay in touch with us and follow our updates in camp on Facebook and Instagram. We hope to host you again soon.

Best,
The Serian Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This was our first trip to Africa and first Safari, what we knew was we wanted to stay in a tented camp that had an old world feel, Serian didn't disappoint. We loved the realness of the entire stay.

We were met at the air strip by our guides Francis and George, we saw so many animals just driving from the airstrip back to the camp, including a pride of 7 lionesses...amazing already. Our guides were great and we saw so many animals and learnt so much about their habits. As it was just us in the vehicle, it was really great to stop and go as we wanted and even spend 10 minutes watching giraffes or elephants playing.

On the first night we had the chance to have a bush dinner with excellent food and wine, it was only made better by the chance to watch hyenas feasting on the drive home.
We had the opportunity to do an evening drive which was good, as we saw lions feasting, and jackals and hyenas waiting and watching.

We loved our room, which was on the river facing a hippo family who entertained us with their antics The entire team was great, we had an enjoyable time, I would recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic experience with a touch of glam.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajan-chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Hi bajan-chic,

Thanks for your lovely review. It's great to hear your first trip to Africa was memorable and authentic. Sounds like you saw some great sightings and had some wonderful experiences. Be sure to stay in touch with us should you wish to share some photos with us on our Facebook page that would be great. We hope to host you again soon.

Best,
The Serian Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews