We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mara North Conservancy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2017

This review is for SERIAN NKOROMBO camp, which does not yet have its own TripAdvisor page, and is part of the Serian family of properties in Kenya along with Serian Main Camp and Serian Ngare (which is connected to the main camp).

This place was truly AMAZING. The staff were beyond excellent, helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, courteous and welcoming. We were very lucky to meet John, and Isaac our first day at camp, and have Camp Manager Angus collect us form the airstrip and excellent Silver Guide James being our guide for our stay, and Jackson keep us safe at night as went were escorted along for dinner in the dark! BUT there were so many other people in the background making our stay great that we thank them all.

I have dreamt of safari since I was a little girl and this place was so magical I cried when we left - it truly lived up to every expectation and beyond. The tents are so comfortable and the amenities are of such high quality, and more than you need, for us first time safari goers.

So what was there: a) main shared areas: communal tent for dinner with 3 course meal every night, communal tent with comfortable seating for relaxing in between drives, chairs set up to watch the hippos in the river any time of day, a camp fire for nibbles before dinner, booze should you so wish of all varieties. b) private tents: large beds, warm bedding, bug sprays, bucket / pipe shower and proper flushing toilet, vanity station with mirror and bowl for washing, tooth brushing, etc and bottled water for the same, rain boots for if it got muddy, mossie nets around the tents, and your own chairs to watch the river from your private spot. c) the drive vehicles: toyota land cruisers which can get through literally ANYTHING! especially when guided by such skilful drivers like James, and where the tops come off to stand up for a 360 view or stay on to keep the rain away, and room enough to stow breakfast if you want to take it with you from camp to get in an early sunrise start to the day.

I have tried to post several photos so people specifically focusing on this camp have extra info, hope they help. I cannot recommend this camp highly enough and if I am ever lucky enough to return to Kenya and the Masai Mara, there would be only one choice of play to stay in our minds. Thank you to everyone at Serian Nkorombo, may we see you again one day!

Room Tip: All the tents face out to the river so there isn't a "bad" room, but No 1 is nearest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tonbridge10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tonbridge10001,

Thanks so much for your review of our Nkorombo camp. We are so happy to hear of your "amazing" stay with us. Thank you for including some images in your review. I'm sure other travelers will find them helpful when planning their stay. We do hope to host you again sometime soon and until then you can stay up to date with us on Facebook and Instagram.

All the best,
The Serian Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Spend 3 nights at Serian Nkorombo followed by 4 nights at Serian Mara North (The Original) and highly recommend both camps. Comfortable tents, that are somewhat bigger and luxurious at The Original; very nice locations at the Mara River, excellent facilities and the best service you can imagine. It is like there is a complete team making sure you will have a wonderful stay packed with exciting and extraordinary experiences. Meals are excellent and provide more than sufficient energy to do an abundance of safari activities, morning, full day, evening or even nightsafari (The Original only, as Nkorombo is situated within the main reserve)
Guides and drivers are doing a great job and are able to spot one great sighting after another. And as you have the luxury of having a private car, everything can be arrangere just the way that suits you best: drivningen around a whole afternoon looking for cheetah or staying by the river awaiting the wildebeest to cross? All up to you.
Enjoyed a fantastic week in the Masai Mara at Serian.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Bettina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bettina,

Thanks for your lovely review. At Serian, we strive for a tailor made experience. Everyday you can choose your own adventure. It seems like you had many during your week with us. If you have any photos to share with us, please do so on our Facebook page. We love to see what images our clients produce! Come back soon!

Best,
The Serian Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The camp staff members were genuinely friendly, warm and welcoming. They each showed concern that all of my expectations and requests were met. It was a pleasure to get to know camp manager Peter, my guide James and assigned helper William.

The private secluded tent lodgings overlooking the famous Mara River are first class luxury with King size bed, full bath, and furnished front porch for relaxing. The smaller number of guests promoted pleasant conversations at cocktail time and around the dinner table – lots of stories of travel, smiles and laughter.

Best of all were the fantastic game drives. The number and variety of animals to observe and photograph were amazing – literally animals everywhere I looked. Sometimes the driver had to shoo groups of zebra, wildebeest and buffalo off the vehicle tracks. I am an avid wildlife photographer and highly recommend the Serian camp. Bring extra SD cards.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry_Rauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jerry,

Thanks for the fantastic review. I'm so happy to hear your stay with us was up to your expectations. We would love to see some of your wildlife photos, if you want to share some on our Facebook page, that would be great! Come back soon, with extra SD cards!

Best,
The Serian Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We have nothing but praise for this amazing place - the scenery, the accommodation, the food, the service and the warmth of hospitality were all exceptional.

Arriving at the airstrip for a six night stay at Serian Camp (the Original), we were greeted by our two guides, John and George. We climbed in the Land Cruiser and off we went (although they thoughtfully asked if we needed to use the facilities before the 45 minute drive to the Camp). John and George’s warmth and enthusiasm immediately made us feel welcome and excited about the days ahead.

Upon arrival at the Camp, we were greeted by Sofi (the Camp manager) who talked through our stay together with our very particular eating habits. We are both fussy eaters but nothing was too much trouble - separate meals were prepared for us to ensure we were completely happy. We were offered so much food during our visit we were a little concerned about the weight limit for the plane on the return journey!

Our tent (one of the most glamorous tents I have ever seen) was beautiful. Every detail has been carefully considered - such as disguising the pipes with tree bark. Our tent was set away from the main area of the camp which suited us perfectly. The deck area looked out over the Mara river and the stunning escarpment on the opposite bank. Lying in bed at night, you are serenaded by the sound of the hippos, lions and hyenas! There’s nothing to worry about as there are ‘askari’ (night watchmen) checking all of the tents.

Our tent had the bathroom and toilet separated from the sleeping tent but there are tents (for the more nervous guests) with toilets attached to the main tent.

We could choose game drives, walking safaris and night drives and our guides were extremely knowledgeable. Nothing can beat going out on a morning drive, watching the light change as the sun rises and stopping for breakfast out in the bush! John and George were our guides throughout our stay - we loved their company and were impressed with their knowledge and ability to ensure that we saw everything. ‘Topi on top’ is my new catch phrase!

One of the days, we chose to have lunch in the treehouse - about a 15-20 minute walk along the river having crossed the fantastic rope bridge first (Indiana Jones style!).

All of the staff are so friendly and warm - nothing was too much trouble. We do feel that we should make a special mention of Nyaga (sorry if I have spelt it wrong!) and Sammy -hosts/waiters - so charming and wonderful company.

Finally, we must thank Sofi in particular. Her warmth, sincerity and professionalism are a credit to Serian.

We have stayed at three other high-end safari camps. They were all fantastic but Serian had the edge. It is hard to express why - it’s a combination of the location (next to the river), the accommodation, the standard of service and, most importantly, the desire to ensure that we were happy!

We were certainly happy from the minute we arrived until the moment we left (when I cried!)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spkjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear spkjfk,

Wow, what a fantastic review! Thanks so much for taking the time to praise us and our wonderful staff whom we value immensely. We strive to be able to cater to a wide variety of dietary requirements, thrilled to hear everything met your needs. We love to hear stories of happy guests and your story was especially thoughtfully worded. Please come back soon, you always have a home away from home with us.

Best,
The Serian Mara team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We can't say enough about our experiences at the Alex Walker camps in both Kenya and Tanzania. Alex Walker has it all – the friendly, knowledgeable staff and guides; the delicious food; the wonderful accommodations; and, of course, the animals!!!

We spent a magical night in the treehouse at the camp in Kenya; experienced a night drive that I will never forget; visited a Maasai village; met people from all over the world; saw so many amazing animals and learned so much about their behaviours.

A fabulous, fabulous trip. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yazmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi yazmimi,

Thanks for your lovely review. Wow, looks like you managed to do it all between both Kenya and Tanzania. That's wonderful. We are so happy to hear everything met and exceeded your expectations. Do come back soon and until then, please stay in touch with us and follow our updates in camp on Facebook and Instagram. We hope to host you again soon.

Best,
The Serian Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This was our first trip to Africa and first Safari, what we knew was we wanted to stay in a tented camp that had an old world feel, Serian didn't disappoint. We loved the realness of the entire stay.

We were met at the air strip by our guides Francis and George, we saw so many animals just driving from the airstrip back to the camp, including a pride of 7 lionesses...amazing already. Our guides were great and we saw so many animals and learnt so much about their habits. As it was just us in the vehicle, it was really great to stop and go as we wanted and even spend 10 minutes watching giraffes or elephants playing.

On the first night we had the chance to have a bush dinner with excellent food and wine, it was only made better by the chance to watch hyenas feasting on the drive home.
We had the opportunity to do an evening drive which was good, as we saw lions feasting, and jackals and hyenas waiting and watching.

We loved our room, which was on the river facing a hippo family who entertained us with their antics The entire team was great, we had an enjoyable time, I would recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic experience with a touch of glam.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajan-chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi bajan-chic,

Thanks for your lovely review. It's great to hear your first trip to Africa was memorable and authentic. Sounds like you saw some great sightings and had some wonderful experiences. Be sure to stay in touch with us should you wish to share some photos with us on our Facebook page that would be great. We hope to host you again soon.

Best,
The Serian Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I stayed at Serian back in July (sorry for the late review) with a group of 5W Women and had a fantastic time. The guide, Judy and driver Francis were fabulous. Very knowledgeable and couldn't have done more to make our experience great.
The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. I never met the cook but I wanted to take them home.
I went on to other camps in Botswana but after Serian they were a little disappointing. Couldn't fault it and wish I could afford to go back every year.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice M, Public Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Pamelage,

Thanks for your review. Better late than never! We are so thrilled you were able to experience the guiding of one of our Ladybugs (female guides), they are a source of pride within our organization. It is wonderful to hear that everything was spot on, especially the food. Please do come back each year! Be sure to stay in touch with us and follow our updates in camp on Facebook and Instagram. We would love to host you and your friends again.

Best,
The Serian Mara Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mara North Conservancy
36 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
526 reviews
27.5 km away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
374 reviews
10.8 km away
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Ca...
#10 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
570 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Serian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serian

Address: C14, Keekorok -Siria Escarpment, Mara North Conservancy, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Mara North Conservancy
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mara North Conservancy
Price Range: $450 - $1,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bush camp most suited to adventurous outdoors characters in search of a real experience. "Serian" means peaceful, calm or serene in the Maa language. An artists haven and one of the most picturesque sites in the Mara. Located in the heart of the Mara North Conservancy "Serian" operates throughout the year. A traditional tented camp focusing on quality game viewing and providing clients access to some of the very best game viewing in Africa. The migration of wildebeest occurs from June through October and sometimes November, quickly followed by the birthing season from October to March. April May & June offer opportunities for ornithologists and those who enjoy the solitude of the quiet season. Serian guarantees exclusive use of vehicle at no extra cost. This is the key to a quality experience and not a shared compromise. The Nest is a tree house perfect for a picnic after a bush walk in the private conservancy, where guests can also spend the night in the two oval double beds and watch nocturnal game on the infra-red cameras! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serian Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing