We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
64
20
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
20
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews incredible service off season pools bungalow vik ocean gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 89 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

First of all, the hotel really is beautiful. It is located directly at a wonderful beachfront where the sand is so fine that it squeaks under your feet. The beach is almost yours alone (at least in november), there are very few people, it is clean and the dunes are full of birds. Rooms are either in the main building or in bungalows along the beach. Each bungalow houses three rooms which can be connected if needed. Every bungalow has its very own unique style.

Breakfast is not very sophisticated but nice. You get some sliced cheese and ham, toast, fresh fruits and croissants. Eggs are made to order, everything ist really tasty but there could be a bit more to choose from, especially if you stay for more than just a couple of days.

The staff is simply great. All of them are really helpful and go out of their way to organize things for you. Always friendly, always cheerful, they are the real gems of this place. Service ist top notch at all times.

But there are some downsides as well. We arrived there very early in the season. So two of the four pools hadn’t been readied yet, they where foggy, full of sand and algae from the winter, the filtration pumps where not running. The staff called their sister hotel playa vik, which is just a 15 min stroll away along the beach and let us hang out at the pool over there. We absolutely recommend going there, this pool and the view are absolutely stunning (go for sunset!). Service over there is also excellent, by the way.

In our room the toilet flush was broken. Small flush didn’t work at all, the large wouldn’t stop until you hit the button about 10 times. Of course we mentioned that and of course they said they would send someone to fix it but when we left four days later it was still broken.

Wine prices are in the expected range for such a hotel but still 2-3 times the prices you pay everywhere else there. Some pricings are just ridiculous though. 12 USD for a bottle of Uruguayan beer? 5 USD for a single Teabag? Come on. Food prices are also high compared to outside restaurants but ok, the food itself is very good, fresh and of high quality.

Tip: for eating out go to La Huella, for having exceptional great wines and a chat go to Solera wine bar, both are only a few minutes away.

At the moment they are constructing some new bungalows, so expect some noise, particularly when staying in one of the rooms near the main building. We were in the outermost bungalow, which was perfectly fine and quiet.

All things considered the hotel is definitely a great place to stay if you like secluded places without crowds and excellent service. The above mentioned downsides by themselves were not much of a deal for us but if you pay 500 USD per night you expect perfection even in the details.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaundTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018

We visted right at the end of the "season". As a matter of fact, the hotel closed the last day we were there and will reopen when Spring comes. The hotel is stunning. The epitomy of cool, laid back elegance in a gorgeous setting. Our room was huge and extremely comfortable ( Guerra Suite in the main building) with a massive bed, great artwork and a bathroom I could live in. The housekeeper was excellent, with nightly turndown service and lovely bathroom amenities. The grounds of the hotel were flawless and the main "social" area had comfy sofas, an impeccable playlist and wildly wonderful painted ceilings. The fire pit area was very inviting and the breakfast was nice (although not fantastic).

The only criticism I have is the bar service. The drinks were very expensive and not good and the bar food, the same. The nearby La Huella's food and drinks were far superior.

We loved riding at the sister property Estancia Vik ( it was closed, but available to ride). I want to stay there in the future.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Great little hotel right on the beach. Each room is different and huge. Views to the pools and gardens But.....you have to like modern art. Each room was designed by a different artist. Most ne had a huge nude woman on the wall behind the bed and just opposite on the other wall, another nude but this one completely blue. Kind of scary when you wake in the middle of the night. You can walk down the beach to the other Vik and have a drink in their amazing bar/pool...but Bahia V has a great fire pit with chairs and bar service right on the beach. Both have great views of the sunset.
So...rooms..very minimalistic with only the bed and a tv in most and huge bathrooms too...almost too big with the shower coming out of the ceiling next to a huge tub. I am 5’2” tall and could barely get my leg over the side of tub, many of which look like huge carved boulders and others like a big egg.
This place is very casual and fun, but you definitely need either a sense of humor or a love of modern art!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank walkpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Bahia Vik is a beautiful resort right on the beach in Punta del Este. Amazing views, amazing pools, excellent service! A great place for sunsets, walks, on the beach, close to Jose Ignacio town. Tip..walk over to Playa Vik and taxi over to Estancia Vik, the sister hotels. Also amazing!! Kayaking and horse back riding at Estancia are excellent!

Room tip: Ask for an unobstructed view of the water.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

The place is unique, close to the beach but protected

With a great view of the sunset, with a wonderful light and very silent

The infrastructure is nice, well designed

The bed sheet very nice cotton and the bed very comfortable
Everything works. We had great 10 hours

Breakfast good although it lacks water

The cakes are so and so but the yogurt very nice. Again this hotel is missing a director to give the final touch

Lunch is not worth! Nice but without passion and wit. Go somewhere else

Walks on the beach are recommended

Massage ok not a 5, but a full 4

The service is ok but the place is full of guest not resident and you may find yourself in an event

Again it could be a 5 but it lacks porpoise and stops at 3-4 . We gave four for the location

If u do not expect to be served and taken care off and you have plenty of other activities is the best place to be . You can use it as a resting place during the day

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gozzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews