We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanctuary in the Cove
Reviewed 17 March 2015

A great place to wind down and enjoy the wonderful surroundings; from the wonderful views over the sea to the beautiful tropical gardens behind the cottage. You can either become a recluse and remain fixed on the red deck chairs overlooking the sea or go exploring to some very beautiful spots. We did both. Thank you Bruce for sharing your wonderful property with us. Your attention to detail gives your sanctuary a special touch.

Room Tip: Both cottages are very good; recommend either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 970Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2014

This "Sanctuary" is located in a beautiful and interesting part of New Zealand and is a wonderful base from which to explore it all. We stayed in the Pohutakawa Cottage for four nights and could easily have stayed longer. The cottage (understatement!) is well supplied with all cooking facilities, TV, WiFi, Music, BBQ, Kayaks (C/W life jackets etc).
And then there is the view!!-constantly changing with the tide and the weather but always spectacular. The sanctuary itself is full of interest with a waterfall, a host of native and foreign, shrubs and fruit trees trees all carefully labelled and is in a very secure and private location.

Room Tip: Either the Pohutakawa Cottage or the Cove Cottage would be excellent. This is not a hotel, it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiwincalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in Pohutukawa Cottage for three nights to help celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary, and what a wonderful relaxing location we picked. The weather was outstanding so we were able to make the most of the beautiful gardens and views out over to Karikari peninsula. Sanctuary in the Cove is the perfect location for exploring Doubtless Bay and up to Cape Reinga, lots of stunning quiet beaches to explore, particularly Matai Bay at the top of Karikari peninsula. Bruce has done a fantastic job of keeping the two cottages private yet within the grounds of his house. Highly recommended as a place to stay, very well equipped and comfortable cottage so self catering was easy, though restaurants only 5 minutes away in Mangonui. Would love to come back and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were fortunate that due to a cancellation we could spend 2 nights in 'Cove Cottage' between Christmas and New Year. The setting is breathtaking, and accommodation just lovely - very well equipped and comfortable including wifi. We were unlucky with the weather but what better place to relax and read on a rainy day than this private waterfront paradise. Host Bruce was friendly and obliging. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My partner and I had the good fortune to stay in The Cove Cottage at this appropriately named boutique resort in October 2013. It was a magical experience.
Magnificent grounds,the sea, the well appointed cottage, and the the most helpful and friendly owner all contributed to our enjoyment.
Good retaurants, and for those afflicted with the addiction, two golf courses,all close by.
We unreservedly recommend Sanctury In The Cove - especially to those wanting to experience tranquility.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely secluded spot right on the beach.

We stayed in the Cove Cottage. Very private.

Nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. All you need to self cater, plus close to Mangonui for restaurants if you want to eat out.

We didn't use the kayaks, but great that they're available as part of the cottage rental. The gardens are amazing too. Lots of options for beach walks and other activities in the local area.

Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had our wedding and reception at Sanctuary during February 2013. Despite getting the only rain in the middle of a drought it was a perfect day. Bruce was helpful at all times and even had a good supply of nice white umbrellas just in case.

The venue couldn't have been better and easily accommodated the 110 people present. We hired an 18m X 15m stretch marquee that fit perfectly in front of Cove Cottage. The cottages were great for the Bridal and Groom parties to get ready in and were useful accommodation for selected members of the wedding party.

The garage was suitable for the excellent catering we received through Food at Wharepuke who came out from Kerikeri.

Overall it was everything we could have wanted in a venue for the type of wedding we had planned. We got many positive comments from our friends and family who attended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcg_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
2.7 km away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
2.8 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.2 km away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary in the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary in the Cove

Address: 283 State Hwy 10, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range: $203 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary in the Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained accommodation in a choice of two waterfront modern cottages. Your secluded hideaway is set within a large property of natural bush and sub-tropical landscaped gardens. Relax in peace and privacy with a stunning outlook onto a hidden cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary in the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing