We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
67
7
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
7
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise on earththe kitchenoutdoor furnituresolebrucefishinghostforeshorecabinauckland
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 76 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2014

This "Sanctuary" is located in a beautiful and interesting part of New Zealand and is a wonderful base from which to explore it all. We stayed in the Pohutakawa Cottage for four nights and could easily have stayed longer. The cottage (understatement!) is well supplied with all cooking facilities, TV, WiFi, Music, BBQ, Kayaks (C/W life jackets etc).
And then there is the view!!-constantly changing with the tide and the weather but always spectacular. The sanctuary itself is full of interest with a waterfall, a host of native and foreign, shrubs and fruit trees trees all carefully labelled and is in a very secure and private location.

Room Tip: Either the Pohutakawa Cottage or the Cove Cottage would be excellent. This is not a hotel, it is a sanctuary.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiwincalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in Pohutukawa Cottage for three nights to help celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary, and what a wonderful relaxing location we picked. The weather was outstanding so we were able to make the most of the beautiful gardens and views out over to Karikari peninsula. Sanctuary in the Cove is the perfect location for exploring Doubtless Bay and up to Cape Reinga, lots of stunning quiet beaches to explore, particularly Matai Bay at the top of Karikari peninsula. Bruce has done a fantastic job of keeping the two cottages private yet within the grounds of his house. Highly recommended as a place to stay, very well equipped and comfortable cottage so self catering was easy, though restaurants only 5 minutes away in Mangonui. Would love to come back and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were fortunate that due to a cancellation we could spend 2 nights in 'Cove Cottage' between Christmas and New Year. The setting is breathtaking, and accommodation just lovely - very well equipped and comfortable including wifi. We were unlucky with the weather but what better place to relax and read on a rainy day than this private waterfront paradise. Host Bruce was friendly and obliging. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I had the good fortune to stay in The Cove Cottage at this appropriately named boutique resort in October 2013. It was a magical experience.
Magnificent grounds,the sea, the well appointed cottage, and the the most helpful and friendly owner all contributed to our enjoyment.
Good retaurants, and for those afflicted with the addiction, two golf courses,all close by.
We unreservedly recommend Sanctury In The Cove - especially to those wanting to experience tranquility.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely secluded spot right on the beach.

We stayed in the Cove Cottage. Very private.

Nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. All you need to self cater, plus close to Mangonui for restaurants if you want to eat out.

We didn't use the kayaks, but great that they're available as part of the cottage rental. The gardens are amazing too. Lots of options for beach walks and other activities in the local area.

Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews