We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and cake”
Review of Smithereens Cafe

Smithereens Cafe
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Cowaramup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

It was a quiet saturday in middle of winter, and there was not much going on in cowtown.

Visited the providore next door for chilli sauce and then coffee and cake at this cafe.

Good service and good food, but needs to step up on cleanliness. Tables were a bit neglected and displays needed cleaning up. Just saying.

Patrner indicated that ladies toilet could do with a look at occasionally.

A bit of attention needed.

Thank CRadmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Took a friend for coffee. The day was cold and wet but door to outdoor area locked. Coffee good but cake a trifle stale. Chipped saucer with my coffee. Wine glasses on top of stand absolutely grotty. Give them a wash guys! You almost walk into them as you come through the door. It isn't a good look. The display cabinet just inside door needs a bit of windex as well. The tables were very sticky and it was overall a very ordinary experience.

Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Nice breakfast and coffee. Would probably have breakfast there again if in the area but would not drive out of the way to get there. Nice old place. not to many healthy options.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Not my first visit to this cafe, as I live locally. On Monday 24th April, After deciding we would try the blackboard special seafood pie, we were told it wasn't available. Back to our table, two new choices made from the menu only to go back up to the counter & be informed that this choice, plus a few others, were unavailable. For our third choice, we then decided to go with the breakfast menu (available until 2pm) & ordered eggs, toast & bacon. After a lengthy wait, in a not particularly busy situation (only 4 tables of customers in total) our food finally arrived. My scrambled egg was more like a flat, overcooked omelette - very disappointing. After waiting some time after our meals, our plates & the 3 other finished tables were not cleared, let alone any follow up to see if our meals were ok.
Nice setting, however very lacking in service quality, organisation & menu choices. I won't be back & will not be recommending to friends.

Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 April 2017

Hi Dawn, I'm terribly sorry that you're lunch wasn't to the standard you expected. As our other reviews show, we pride ourselves on providing a quality product and service, and unfortunately you arrived after one of our busiest weekends ever meaning there were some menu items that were unavailable on the Monday (due to our local suppliers being closed over the weekend). However your experience still isn't acceptable, and we would like to make it right.
Please email me at smithereenscafe@gmail.com and I hope we can arrange a replacement experience. Your original choice, the seafood pie, is amazing!
Kind regards,
Pat from Smithereens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Had to return to this cafe. It is not fancy and definitely not expensive. The seafood pie is amazing. The staff are lovely. Great food, lovely people, inexpensive. Give it try.

Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithereens Cafe also viewed

Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
 
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
 
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
Cowaramup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Smithereens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing