We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a typical country town.”

Hotel Gasthof Humplbrau
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gasthof Humplbrau
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wolfratshausen
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a very good stay in Wolfratshausen in this hotel. The room was very big and lots of light coming in from 2 directions since it was on a corner of the building. It was clean, good bathroom, typical small shower, but not as small as I have experienced. At least on this one you can bend over if the soap fall to the floor. The location is the last stop on the S-Bahn so it takes about 20 minutes to get to the Hbh in Munich. There is a church next door, and if you happen to get the same room as I did, facing the church, you will hear the bells all night long. There was also not too many sockets to connect so you have to string the cords of whatever you need powered. But overall, it was a very good stay. The breakfast was good also.

Room Tip: North side rooms will have the church bells all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have just finished a cycle tour of Bavaria and stayed in several Gasthofs like this one. Sadly this was our least favourite of the trip.

On arrival we were ignored while the grumpy waiter finished chatting about something or other with another member of staff, then given the keys to our rooms which were pretty spartan. They were spotlessly clean but the walls were marked and scuffed and the whole place needed a bit of TLC as well as some money spending on it as it was cheaply finished.

In the evening I went down for a beer and the surly waiter eventually served me. I asked if they had an English menu but was told grumpily no. Now I don't expect people to learn English, but if I was running a restaurant frequented by English speaking tourists it wouldn't cost much to have the menu translated. The cost of our dinner alone would have more than covered the translation fee, they could probably get a German/English speaking customer to do it for a few free beers. This is typical of the lacklustre attitude of the people here. we went to a place down the road which had an English menu and spent €100 there instead.

The breakfast was the worst we had all holiday, very sparse by normal standards, and when an American tourist asked for scrambled eggs and bacon the waitress made it but she wasn't happy about doing so.

One last thing. This hotel is next to a church. The bells start at 6am and not just with the 6 dongs you might expect, but with a cacophony of noise unlike any I have ever heard from a church bell, it goes on for several minutes waking people up for many miles around. Everyone at breakfast complained about it, the staff think it is funny. I didn't.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fandango11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

After we picked up our English friends from Munich airport last Oct., we headed down to this wonderful 400 yr. old hotel/restaurant in a quaint town just south of Munich. This is a good spot if you are planning to visit Munich. The price is right, I believe around 72E. The room is very clean, the bathroom has a shower, which I always look for, and the bed was comfy. Walking downstairs you find the restaurant that offers wonderful meals. The breakfast , included as with most European hotels, was great. I love having "brunch" type food at any time of the morning, which is the typical German breakfast, meats, cheeses, breads, along with eggs, and cereals, etc. We were headed to Neuschwenstein the next morning, and the location (and price) were perfectly in line with our itinerary. We always look for parking arrangements when making our selection of accommodations, and here, they had a private courtyard. Excellent. They also took our credit card, which is wonderful, as some want cash, which means you need to know this up front so that you have it on hand when paying your bill. A credit card acceptance for us is so much easier to use when traveling. So if you're looking for a place to stay, especially during Octoberfest, which I suspect you should make reservations early, this is your place.
We are so sad we didn't have time to stroll through the town. Next time.

Room Tip: At this price, every room is good, although our room was on the courtyard side and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed two nights whilst attending the Bauma exhibition in Munich. The location of the hotel is not ideal for that as it takes about 2 hours door to door to reach the Messe Munich exhibition centre, however it was the only hotel we could find which still had availability.
Room was small, but clean & functional, and the staff were very friendly. If arriving by train it's about a fifteen minute walk from the station. Breakfast was good, as was the restaurant where we ate one night, and the price was very reasonable. Price for overnight stay also very reasonable, €60 for bed & breakfast.
NB Although in a very nice part of town the hotel is right next door to a church, which begins ringing the bells from 6am. The bells are very loud and ring several times an hour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Hotel Gasthof Humplbrau is over 400 years old. It has been rebuilt on several occasions.
The room we had was very small, and the bathroom was tiny. However it was very clean and the had a good breakfast. And best of all the price was only 72 euros a night for both of us. In Munich the hotels were 300 euros a night!!!
The hotel has parking in their own court-yard which is great. It is located in the old-town part of Wolfratshausen, which is an old river town that supplied the surrounding cities with materials back in the mid-evil age period. You can walk just about everywhere from the hotel. This is a great half-way point to stay if you are driving from Frankfurt airport down to Italy or the southern resort parts of Germany. A big plus is that they still take American Credit cards!!!! Believe it or not, that is becoming rare since the banks are collapsing.

Room Tip: Take your shower at night or early in the AM. The hot water runs out if you wait too long,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank immeraufachsejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Gasthof Humplbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Humplbrau

Address: Obermarkt 2, 82515 Wolfratshausen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Wolfratshausen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wolfratshausen
Price Range: $110 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Humplbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing