We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had our wedding at Rob and Laurel's home this past May and It was amazing! Very helpful and things seemed to fall into place to so easily. I would LOVE to come back.... Maybe we will have to make it a yearly thing for our anniversary?! ;)
Wonderful people and gorgeous home and property!! Definitely give it a try!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

My girlfriend and I were driving along River Road after a long day of visiting Grand Beach and touring the town of Selkirk,contemplating where we would like to spend the night.By pure luck we spotted Evergreen Gate's sign on the side of the road adjacent to their property and we are so glad that we did.Rob and Laurel are outstanding and gracious hosts who went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant and memorable one.The house is gorgeous and the setting is very beautiful,particularly when we stayed,which was during the middle of December,so with all the snow and surrounding evergreen and spruce trees, it made the area like a living Christmas card.
Do yourself a favor and stay at this wonderful B&B if you're ever in the Selkirk area(or Winnipeg for that matter),you won't be disappointed.Evergreen Gate is by far the best accommodations we have ever had and would return there in a heartbeat if we're ever passing through or visiting Manitoba again,which we hope will be in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBruce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast. The owners worked within our budget and planned many extra activities for my friends and I to enjoy. The service was excellent and the food was really good. I would recommend this property to anyone planning a weekend away for fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you are in the Winnipeg area and have a car there should be no decision as to where to stay. Rob and Laurel are the perfect hosts and the home they built was specifically designed as a comfortable bed and breakfast guest house. In addition to the guest rooms, there is also a common room for the guests. It is sort of like a kitchen and family room combined which made for a very comfortable stay. It was mid-October when we visited so they were not using their screened room at that time but if we ever have the opportunity to return in warmer weather it would certainly be the primary area to "hang out". Rob and Laurel also have many good ideas on what to do and see in the area. The Winnipeg museum was great and make sure to eat at the pancake house at the Forks even if it's for lunch or dinner. Speaking of food, Rob certainly treats his guests with his great breakfasts. If we are ever back in this area we already know where we will stay. Vern and Phyllis Miller

Room Tip: The Safari room was great with it's private - and very nice bathroom. However any of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vern_Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Evergreen Gate and thank you for your positive review. It is indeed a privilege to host "close friends" like you, even if it's just for a few days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed two nights in mid August. This was our first trip to Winnipeg and really enjoyed the area. The first night we stayed in Winnipeg as we were going to a Goldeye baseball game. The other two nights we stayed here at the Evergreen and it was great. It's about 20 miles north of downtown Winnipeg but a quick drive--not much traffic. It would probably be too far to drive back and forth to eat your meals but we ate at Barney Garggle's in Selkirk, which was recommended by Rob--it was very good. The hot tub was great and the breakfasts were very good. We would certainly stay here again when we come back to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAFeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I find Trip Advisor's restaurant ratings a bit unreliable, but when a hotel or B&B has nearly perfect ratings, the place seems guaranteed to be terrific. Evergreen Gate is simply a wonderful place. The building is in great shape, and the grounds are beautiful, with lots of nice places to hang out. The hosts are really well matched to the task -- friendly and easy-going, great conversationalists. Breakfasts are among the best I have ever had at a B&B. Wonderful common space for guests. The bed was excellent. The location, near the river and Lower Fort Garry, is perfect. A great deal for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Safari room, which appears to have the most privacy and only costs a bit more per n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw_slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are so pleased that Evergreen Gate met your expectations, and that you took the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Manitoba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Evergreen gate B & B. It was a wonderful experience. It was our first time in this area of Manitoba and Laurel and Rob were extremely knowlegable and helpful about the area, history and activities. Their home is beautiful and the gardens are gorgeous. They made us feel as if we were at home. The breakfasts were lovely, beautifully presented and very tasty. We had lots of good conversation and laughter with the other guests. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for anyone visiting the Winnipeg area. It is very easy to find and to get from place to place.
It was truly a wonderful experience
Margaret Francis

Room Tip: We had the room with the jaquzzi. It was very quiet and cool. It was also next to the common room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1138 River Rd, Selkirk, Manitoba R1A 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Selkirk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range: $123 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above the Red River on the Trans-Canada Trail, Evergreen Gate offers peaceful and private accommodation in a unique modern home surrounded by park-like grounds. Private baths, a guest lounge and kitchenette, screened porch, deck and hot tub complete the experience. Delicious full breakfast with accommodation of special diets. French spoken. Tourist information available. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Gate Bed And Breakfast Selkirk, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing