We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
120
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari room hot tub bed and breakfast great hosts red river wonderful experience get away family reunion each morning grand beach sun room waffles my girlfriend guests feel comfortable blueberry french toast pleasing to the eye beautiful garden
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 128 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I were driving along River Road after a long day of visiting Grand Beach and touring the town of Selkirk,contemplating where we would like to spend the night.By pure luck we spotted Evergreen Gate's sign on the side of the road adjacent to their property and we are so glad that we did.Rob and Laurel are outstanding and gracious hosts who went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant and memorable one.The house is gorgeous and the setting is very beautiful,particularly when we stayed,which was during the middle of December,so with all the snow and surrounding evergreen and spruce trees, it made the area like a living Christmas card.
Do yourself a favor and stay at this wonderful B&B if you're ever in the Selkirk area(or Winnipeg for that matter),you won't be disappointed.Evergreen Gate is by far the best accommodations we have ever had and would return there in a heartbeat if we're ever passing through or visiting Manitoba again,which we hope will be in the near future.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBruce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast. The owners worked within our budget and planned many extra activities for my friends and I to enjoy. The service was excellent and the food was really good. I would recommend this property to anyone planning a weekend away for fun and relaxation.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are in the Winnipeg area and have a car there should be no decision as to where to stay. Rob and Laurel are the perfect hosts and the home they built was specifically designed as a comfortable bed and breakfast guest house. In addition to the guest rooms, there is also a common room for the guests. It is sort of like a kitchen and family room combined which made for a very comfortable stay. It was mid-October when we visited so they were not using their screened room at that time but if we ever have the opportunity to return in warmer weather it would certainly be the primary area to "hang out". Rob and Laurel also have many good ideas on what to do and see in the area. The Winnipeg museum was great and make sure to eat at the pancake house at the Forks even if it's for lunch or dinner. Speaking of food, Rob certainly treats his guests with his great breakfasts. If we are ever back in this area we already know where we will stay. Vern and Phyllis Miller

Room tip: The Safari room was great with it's private - and very nice bathroom. However any of the rooms would be equally fine.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vern_Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Evergreen Gate and thank you for your positive review. It is indeed a privilege to host "close friends" like you, even if it's just for a few days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid August. This was our first trip to Winnipeg and really enjoyed the area. The first night we stayed in Winnipeg as we were going to a Goldeye baseball game. The other two nights we stayed here at the Evergreen and it was great. It's about 20 miles north of downtown Winnipeg but a quick drive--not much traffic. It would probably be too far to drive back and forth to eat your meals but we ate at Barney Garggle's in Selkirk, which was recommended by Rob--it was very good. The hot tub was great and the breakfasts were very good. We would certainly stay here again when we come back to Winnipeg.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAFeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I find Trip Advisor's restaurant ratings a bit unreliable, but when a hotel or B&B has nearly perfect ratings, the place seems guaranteed to be terrific. Evergreen Gate is simply a wonderful place. The building is in great shape, and the grounds are beautiful, with lots of nice places to hang out. The hosts are really well matched to the task -- friendly and easy-going, great conversationalists. Breakfasts are among the best I have ever had at a B&B. Wonderful common space for guests. The bed was excellent. The location, near the river and Lower Fort Garry, is perfect. A great deal for the price.

Room tip: We stayed in the Safari room, which appears to have the most privacy and only costs a bit more per night.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw_slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We are so pleased that Evergreen Gate met your expectations, and that you took the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Manitoba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews