We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in our Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2015

The service was superb, Laurel and Rob are great host and they treated us with great attention and detail. They really made us feel as home. we didn't have to do anything for our elopement wedding. The food was wonderful, specially with my wife food allergies and gluten issues they were very accommodating. Rob makes the best breakfast. The room and place was super amazing!!.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jcthechemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

It was our pleasure to help you with this very special event. We are so glad that you were happy with everything, including the wedding cake that met your specific dietary requirements. And yes, Rob makes the best breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2015

I was able to spend a weeknight here after a business trip to Selkirk. The hosts, Rob and Laurel are very good at making you feel comfortable. They're there to take care of you but not at all intrusive. Laurel and I had a nice chat in the hot tub in the yard (what a treat on a chilly fall evening!) and Rob's breakfast in the morning was delicious. This is a great spot for business travellers, or if you have a family and want something more personal than a hotel room, their basement guest rooms have a kitchen and living room. It would be worth your while to make this as your headquarters even if you're visiting Winnipeg. The scenery and the setting make for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

So glad that you enjoyed Evergreen Gate and were pleased to hear over breakfast that you had a very good impression of Selkirk as well. Thanks for the taking the time to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

We had a fabulous weekend at Evergreen Gates! We had a beautiful ceremony outside on the grounds. We rented the entire lower level and really found this was a home away from home. The hot tub was awesome and breakfasts were delicious. We didn't have to worry about anything really it was all taken care of. Rob and Laurel are the perfect hosts. We ll be back for our anniversary next year.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank marierobwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

It was an honour to host you at Evergreen Gate for this very special event. We are so glad that you were pleased with the arrangements and the environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This is one of the best B & B's we have stayed in. Laurel and Rob are fantastic hosts who manage to meet every request with ease. The breakfasts were fantastic. We were even served on beautiful family china one morning. What a lovely idea. The location is great. We had a lot of visiting to do in and around Winnipeg. Just a short drive to the perimeter road and you can circle the city and get to the area you want very quickly. It is in the countryside and very quiet with great views.
Excellent, excellent. An A+

Room Tip: We had the room with the jacuzzi tub which was fantastic. All rooms are quiet and the beds are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 435barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Thank you for your positive comments, and especially for mentioning how convenient our location is for people visiting anywhere in the Winnipeg area - it's true that with our proximity to the Perimeter Highway, all areas of the city are easily accessible without a lot of traffic, and of course it's only half an hour to the centre of Winnipeg. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Perfect! The location was great. Hosts were friendly and very accommodating. The room was large and spacious and we just fell in love with the mattress in the Safari room! Bath area was nice with plenty of towels. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do take special care to be sure that the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped, as we travel frequently and know that we ourselves appreciate this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

excellent retreat close to the river! Great breakfast and able to handle gluten-free requests.

Beautiful hot tub available for all guests. Large common room to mingle and speak with other guests and owners!

Room Tip: close to Selkirk settlement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

Thanks for taking the time to do a review, and for your appreciative comments. We enjoyed your visit and our breakfast conversations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We spent 3 nights at Evergreen Gate B & B. I brought my husband and son to explore my father's roots in Libau MB and to attend the Icelandic festival in Gimli MB. Evergreen was perfectly centrally located for our visit. The B&B has a gorgeous location along the river and Rob and Laurel have a large beautifully landscaped yard and flower garden. My 11 year old son and I enjoyed an evening in their outdoor hot tub. The breakfasts were phenomenal! Rob and Laurel go out of their way to provide a unique breakfast, steering away from the traditional eggs and bacon. They asked us what our menu preferences were before deciding on the menu. Breakfast conversations with our hosts and other guest were very interesting and added to the quaint experience of the B&B. We would highly recommend Evergreen Gate to other visitors to the area!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenever2014, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

So glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and breakfasts. It was a pleasure for us to learn about your family and their history in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1138 River Rd, Selkirk, Manitoba R1A 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Selkirk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range: C$123 - C$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above the Red River on the Trans-Canada Trail, Evergreen Gate offers peaceful and private accommodation in a unique modern home surrounded by park-like grounds. Private baths, a guest lounge and kitchenette, screened porch, deck and hot tub complete the experience. Delicious full breakfast with accommodation of special diets. French spoken. Tourist information available. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Gate Bed And Breakfast Selkirk, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing