We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harassed by off- duty staff and Assaulted by on-duty staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of River Rock Inn

River Rock Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockland B&B and Inns
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Harassed by off- duty staff and Assaulted by on-duty staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The staff that works here is unprofessional, uncourteous and uneducated. Guess the owner had to limit her standards, I mean she can't hire people that are better than her at operating a hotel. The owner should really invest in a Hotel Management course.It was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I was verbally harassed by an off-duty employee, who had attended a function in the attached banquet hall, who was intoxicated walking around the hotel in her bare feet. At this time I told Melanie, the on-duty staff, that she was horrible at doing her job, she then followed me back to my hotel room, where she kicked in the hotel room's door. Wait a minute...it gets better!!! I was assaulted by a hotel staff member there, but she called the O.P.P. The officer’s showed up to the hotel with the owner and after being told the situation, they said I could press charges, if I wanted to, I didn’t. At this time the owner didn’t apoligize for her staff’s behaviour or anything.

Room Tip: Never stay here, period. That is my tip. Many better hotels around, I suggest you keep searching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spb2808, Manager at River Rock Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
These guests were warned by hotel staff and then OPP to stop noise in hotel hallways and to go back to their room. I have on DVD these guests pushing and harrassing one of our guests as well as one of our employee. The harrassment was not done by our staff but by the guests. There is a report filed with the OPP about this. This guest is more than welcome to come and see the video proving this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
9
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Pros:
-Off the highway
-Clean
Cons:
-Don't get me started on the price.... from the pictures the rooms look great and seem to have a lot to offer. I paid about $150 for a night, we had no mini bar in the room, the TV was an old tube TV that hardly worked.
-Lots of noise from traffic
-Breakfast was terrible, nothing really to choose from other than cereal, and bread(which for my kids is ok). They did have fruit in a bowl, but it looked like it had been on the counter all week.
-Hot tub was dirty and foamy
-Nothing fun either in the hotel or in the surrounding area to keep the kids busy
-Internet was availible, but it cost me $10 a night and it wasn't even wireless (this is the first hotel in over 2years i've stayed in that didnt have wireless internet.)
-The room we had didnt have a terras, only the rooms with the single bed had one. -
-No ice machine availible for he guests.
-The staff were very cold and did not seem to be enjoying their jobs.
I really could go on and on and on......

Room Tip: Don't bother booking a room, you will be saddly disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank BUSTANUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spb2808, Manager at River Rock Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Most hotel reviews will be made by unsatisfied guests no matter how many satisfied guests an hotel actually has. Satisfied guests do not usually take the time to let anyone know. All Trip Advisor visitors should be aware that this may not be the best platform to get accurate reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelburne ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

CONS: Phone in room was inop, Internet (wired only) in room didn't work. The included "breakfast" is only bread and a few packaged james with some cereals. No meats or anything warm.

PROS: The hotel and room was beautiful, everything was exceptionally clean, staff were fabulous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Though nothing overtly wrong with this place, I would suggest one continues and looks for a more accommodating place....

The wife and I stand there and found the reception cold to say the least.

I was more keen on sleep and was awoken often by traffic/trucks using their air brakes...

Safe to say we won't be staying here again and would suggest travellers make there way to gatineau where much better options are available.

Room Tip: Keep going to Gatineau or Montebello
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank REZNOR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spb2808, Manager at River Rock Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Most hotel reviews will be made by unsatisfied guests no matter how many satisfied guests an hotel actually has. Satisfied guests do not usually take the time to let anyone know. All Trip Advisor visitors should be aware that this may not be the best platform to get accurate reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

nice hotel between ottawa and montreal right off the hwy and its brand new and built with quality.good hotel for in and out and or a buisness meeting

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunyounguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
30.0 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Montebello
17.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East - Orleans
16.4 km away
Quality Inn Orleans
Quality Inn Orleans
#63 of 67 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
31.2 km away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
9.0 km away
Motel Les Pignons Verts
Motel Les Pignons Verts
#1 of 1 in Buckingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Inn

Property: River Rock Inn
Address: 2808 Chamberland Street, Rockland, Ontario K4K 0B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Rockland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new RiverRock Inn is ideal; complete with comforting atmosphere and convenient facilities to meet your every need. Conference and banquet facilities on site accommodating up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Hotel Rockland
River Rock Inn Rockland, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing