We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean”
Review of Walsh's Snug

Walsh's Snug
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traveling from Toronto to Kingston my family and I stopped here for lunch following positive reviews on web. We received a warm, friendly welcome. Enjoyed great fish and chips, chicken wings and burgers. The place was decorated with all sorts of interesting memorabilia from Ireland. Unfortunately we were unable to stay for a music session which I believe are amazing. The cost was very good value and I would highly recommend it to other visitors.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We visited The Snug yesterday for lunch on the new outdoor patio. It was a lovely sunny day. Out of perhaps 10-12 tables only 3 had umbrellas to provide some shade. Most of the umbrellas are in useless locations attached to the outer railings. Chairs were quite uncomfortable, plywood seat with metal back. I ordered a spring mix salad with grilled chicken breast, tomato, bacon bits, cheese, carrots and celery. I asked for easy on the carrots and celery. There were no carrots or celery, the chicken breast was tasteless and no spring mix greens, only chopped romaine. Later when we questioned the lack of carrots and celery were told there was some discrepancy between the menu and what they were currently serving. My beverage glass still had the lipstick from a previous patron on it. I asked for a replacement. The cleanliness of the cutlery was not good either. Although I dislike the mouth feel, I appreciate the environmental nod of using paper straws. However, these ones were huge causing more air to be sucked in than beverage. Please choose a more normal diameter straw. My husband ordered a burger with mushrooms and cheese. He said it was ok but there were only a couple of tiny bits of mushroom in the cheese. The burger was served on a flat wooden board which was a very poor choice considering a lot of juices were running out of the burger and off the board. He had to make a napkin dam so it didn't leak off the table onto his clothes. Finally, the ladies washroom, UGHH! Dirty floor, walls, lid of the waste receptacle & no soap anywhere. We have been to this restaurant several times and have been less and less enchanted each time. Except for my meal today the food has usually been good. My main complaint about The Snug is the uncleanliness. Inside, the tables always feel sticky, seats have definitely seen better days, fabric getting threadbare and not particularly comfortable. The decor while somewhat charming is cloying and overdone. I doubt we will be back.

Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadcon, Owner at Walsh's Snug, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

hi susan , wow ! you really didnt have a good time at the snug and for that im sorry ...there are a total of eight umbrellas on our patio , some attached to the rail , and some centered on four seater tables , most ajust and flip and can be arched to suit your own particular needs. in the course of the day people move them and ajust them as they see fit , not sure what was happening with your salad , my thoughts are that the server asumed you didnt want carrots or celery , incidently there is never bacon on our garden salad unless requested , , but im sorry you didnt enjoy and had a problem withy the 5 oz fresh chicken breast on top..., the nod to the environment as you put it was on the insistance of my daughter , not a nod but something she felt deeply about as do we , we have also changed all our take out containers to biodegradable , this nod doubles our cost , none of which have we passed on to the customer . my main concern about your reveiw is about cleanliness, we are inspected on a regular basis by durham enviroment and are part of the dine safe programme and in all our years of on the spot inspections , im happy to report we have always passed with flying colours. all our kitchen staff have completed the durham food safety courses , their awards are on display in the hallway out side the kitchen , the glass with lipstick , should not happen , , but on oscasion it does as you know from your other reveiw of a restaurant in ajax ,question about lip-stick on a glass was put to one of the enviromental officers at one of the course i attended and her answer was most lipsticks are waterproof and doesnt always come off during sanitation...im not defending the glass , im explaing how this can happen ,, the washrooms are sanitised every morning , every night an several times during a shift , while i cant vouch for your visit , i find it hard to believe it was in the state you say and an abundance of soap is always stocked, you also talk about the the fabric on the chairs on the inside of our restaurant , and really apart from a leather couch in the back room there is no fabric , so im not sure what you mean , the rest of the decor is all mine im afraid and i make no appoligies for it , sorry if we ruined your day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 218 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2018

We joined The Snug's tour of Ireland May 10 to 20th 2018. This was one amazing vacation for us. John's knowledge of Ireland made the tour interesting. The places we stayed were terrific; the meals outstanding and the points of interest were chosen well. Great music, wonderful hosts, outstanding tour guide in John O'Donovan made it the trip of a lifetime. I would recommend going on any one of the Snug's tours. Fantastic!

Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadcon, Owner at Walsh's Snug, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

hello there frances t , im responding to you quicker than normal as most of the reveiws that mention the snugs trips to either scotland or ireland are being removed , i think tripadvisor is responding to critizism from other restaurants in the area who are complaining about reveiwers talking about the trips , the fact is the snug is not just a restaurant or a pub , we are a part of newcastle life , we do many unconventional things here at the snug and will continue to do so , regardless of what anyone says , cause thats what we are . our trips are as much a part of our restaurant as the food and the atmosphere , as you know we host several nights for each of our trips , food sampling , beer tasting , music etc , so all these reveiwers have eaten and partyed at the snug as well as being customers in their own right before and their reveiws are based on those nights as well as the trips. im delighted you enjoy the snug and loved the trip , i had a blast thats for sure and it was my pleasure to share and show off dear old ireland ...thanks so much frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

This was our first visit to the Snug, first off its a charming Irish Pub and the owner is delightful, I had the Curry and it was great and not overly curryied, the rest of the crowd had the Fish and Chips and loved them!! we will definatley go back again highly recommend it !!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 54LIZZYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadcon, Owner at Walsh's Snug, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

hi 54lizzyg , and thanks for the lovely reveiw and im glad you enjoyed your first visit at the snug , we see and meet new people every day which is one of the perks of my job , love showing people the snug and all it has to offer , hope to see you again , thanks john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018


My husband Rob and I enjoy going to the snug for a meal, it has authentic Irish atmosphere, the owner John Walsh is always there working hard and greeting everyone, after going a few times you feel like family. The food is delicious pub fare and with a varied menu you can try something new every week. Just this past year My husband and I were lucky enough to travel to Scotland with John Walsh from the snug arranged, by Mark Stephen travel. With Janet as a hostess. It was a fabulous tour, we stayed at some very lovely hotels including a Palace. We saw a dinner show, toured many castles, and enjoyed excellent food. We plan on attending a future tour of Ireland and know that it will be expertly planned and carried out. If you're planning On going to either Ireland or Scotland I would recommend you get in touch with John Walsh at the snug or Mark Stephens. Thanks John. Mark and Janet.
Anne and Rob Smith

2  Thank Sharky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadcon, Owner at Walsh's Snug, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

hi sharky thanks fo the great reveiw , delighted you love coming here and enjoy the atmosphere and the food , as for me i am never happier than when im working , love to host and try always to make people comfortable as possible , also delighted to have taken you on our snug scotish tour , which are as much a part of the snug expereience as the snug itself is . we enjoy pushing the limits at the snug and seeing what experience we can share next , be it food , atmosphere , music and story telling , and of late our unique tours to ireland and scotland ..more great things ahead , stayed tuned lol...thanks john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

If you would like to pretend that you are in Ireland head over to the Snug for a pint and some fare. The food we enjoyed brought back wonderful memories and the atmosphere was perfect. The bangers, colcannon, the meat pies, and other Irish dishes were incredible. Even the non Irish food, wings and nachos, was perfect! What a great spot to enjoy a Sunday afternoon.

1  Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadcon, Owner at Walsh's Snug, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

hey dan thanks for the review and im delighted you enjoyed your visit and the food ... i have to tell you im sorry i missed you cause im from dear old dublin and im told ive an accent , kinda newphy as both my parents were from mayo , so ive a soft west of ireland mixxed with a more harsher dublin sound , we also have tara burke working here from co kildare with a a great accent and we also have a new fella anthony right off the boat from dublin also ...we must have all been off the day you were in ,lol, you better come back soon . slainte !...john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walsh's Snug also viewed

 
Newcastle, Ontario
Newcastle, Ontario
 

Been to Walsh's Snug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing