We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
I had an awesome trip

Amazing campsites parks for kids no store. Looks like I have free little library upfront candy... read more

Reviewed August 16, 2023
Lita E
,
Hanover, Canada
via mobile
Nice little park

Nice little park, really enjoyed our stay, will definitely go back, only thing that could be... read more

Reviewed June 6, 2022
allanb790
,
Cargill, Canada
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
20
26
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
26
5
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 57 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We have been camping here for years, our advice is to book early in the spring especially if you are looking to stay over a long weekend, August especially as kincamp is going on in the upper level and not many sites available. This is not a provincial park so expect to hear radios going and different sites families a little loud at times, grounds are monitored by staff and police though and noise ban in effect as of 11pm. Most families are regulars that come back like us year after year. Water can be chilly as a bay so best to enjoy it when its really hot out. Mini putt and the shuffleboard are fun. Bathrooms clean. Staff friendly. Highly recommend

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Jbourgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Though we picked an early time in the season to go it was still beautiful and fun. I loved our site. The washrooms were in great condition and very clean. Beautiful trails and the "road" was very well lit at night. We felt very safe and comfortable with letting our 5 year old Nephew go to the park alone because we had a clear view of the park from our site. He didn't want to leave. We are going Back before Sept and we'll be going every summer from here on out.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Lacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We first discovered this park, just this year and have already returned 3 times. I love that this park is located on beautiful Georgian Bay.
*The beach at the park is lovely, lots of picnic tables, snack bar, washrooms, change rooms. The beach itself has lots of small rocks, and in the water for the first few feet there are rocks as well.
*There are two areas for camping. There is the waterfront area, which is a One week only stay from Friday to Friday, this is the minimum, and the other area allows for short stays. I feel the other campsite area is too small for the amount of RV's and tents. You can literally be parked right in your neighbors campsite, were your awnings are touching. I don't feel this allows for privacy, or comfort. Also the way they have the hookups for the water and sewer don't allow the trailers to all be facing the same way. Meaning that your opposite to your neighbors door. The sites are situated as such that when you back in, or pull thru your entrance doors face each other. Each site has a nice bonfire pit, made of steel with a grate attached, (great big ones) however, due to the sites being so close together, on one occasion we could not use the bonfire pit as it was way too close to our own trailer as well as the one beside us. In this area, there are two comfort stations, one with showers. I was a little disappointed, I feel the washrooms need a little more attention then they get, with the number of people in the park.
There are a few large pavillions for groups to use, or provide shelter for the tenters.
*The park has two walking trails, very short ones, but are really pretty to walk thru. The trail is well manicured thru a lovely hardwood bush. There is also a mini putt at the front of the park that is $4.00 each to play. The hours for the mini putt could be better, and the course could be better maintained too.
*The town of Meaford is only a 5 min drive from the park in case of any needs. I will say, that Meaford has a beautiful harbour. Omgosh, we went several nights to the harbour to watch the sunsets, magnificent. The break wall is probably 60 feet high, all huge stones and you can actually walk out to the lighthouse. It is really beautiful.
All in all, this is such a little gem of a park, in such a great location, the campsites are way cheaper then any provincial or private park. Would I recommend this park, definate yes, at least once.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank beachgirl061
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been returning to this park once or twice a year since 2002. Our main reason is to bike the Georgian Trail and in the summer to browse the NETSHED (10 000 almost free books)
There are good and not so good things about the park.
The not so good things are that some sites are not very level (but most are) and the worst part is that if you are camping on a weekend, don't expect a quiet stay. It is a family park and there are lots of kids and everyone seems to bring 2 or three vehicles so it is very crowded. Also they advertise as having wifi and they do, but not once have I found it to be in great working order. The public showers work well, but certainly could be cleaned up a bit
The good part about Meaford park is that although it is in town, there are enough trees and greenery to make it feel as if you are way out of town. Another advantage is that there is a very nice beach area right on Georgian Bay. Almost every night you can expect to get great sunset views.
We like the park and just try to avoid summer weekends whenever we can.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Joe_Ursano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for the Labour Day weekend. We were surprised at how busy the campground was when we arrived on Saturday. Not that all campgrounds aren't busy on Labour Day weekend but there were cars everywhere, literally several vehicles on every site. This should have been our first clue this was going to be party central. Our reserved site 66 was so unlevel, muddy and small, we asked if there were any others. We were given "an emergency site" which not only turned out to be just as unlevel ( my tongue jack required 12 pieces of 2x6 blocks), we were now between a group of radio blaring teenagers and a multiple site group of extremely drunk partyers. By the second night I had had it with the loud music and called the office only to find everyone goes home at 8 and there is NO ONE AT ALL to enforce any rules after 8pm. Needless to say the partying continued unabated well past the designated quiet time. In the morning we were left to kick the empty beer cans our neighbours tossed on our site overnight and get the hell out of there.

Date of experience: August 2013
8  Thank AvalancheSurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews