We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and always a positive experience ”

McGill's Cafe and Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
McGill's Cafe and Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in New Minas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: International, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

McGill's is a hidden treasure. The menu is unique and the food is very good, well prepared and presented. It serves an upscale lunch menu. The atmosphere is neat and clean. Good service and friendly staff. Pricing is moderate. Great specialty Coffee and Teas and Deserts too. This is a high quality food experience.

2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Stephen thanks you for your kind review. Our culinary team & FOH staff take pride in what they do. We just launched a new cafe menu & BBQ menu for the summer. Also we added a Gastronomic menu to our evening service. You can view our menus on our website….mcgillscafe.com. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 187 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

We always have a good experience at McGill’s. The staff are friendly, and the food is always fresh, well presented, delicious and reasonably priced.

2  Thank MHEBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate hearing from our guests. It will soon be patio time again, stay tuned for our Friday nights entertainment lineup.

Cheers
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

From the moment we entered the lower area of the restaurant, designated for fine dining, the ambiance was perfect. It was good that we had a reservation as there was the quiet yet healthy hum of a goodly number of happy diners. We sat in what is now our favourite spot and proceeded to have an amazingly tasty dining adventure. It all looked delicious and it all tasted as good as it looked. The customer service from Gilbert was exceptional. The final experience of coffee made at our table through a very unique(to us) vaccuum coffee maker ended the evening on just the right note. The advice on the evening's wine was "spot on" too! Happy anniversary indeed! I am going back tomorrow, this time for lunch

2  Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Shirley thanks you for your kind review. Gilbert is definitely a gem and is very knowledgeable about our syphon coffee. Our culinary team does an exceptional job and takes pride in what they prepare for our guests. Our cellar room ambiance just adds to the guest’s experience. We just launched a new cafe menu & BBQ menu for the summer. Also we added a Gastronomic menu to our evening service. You can view our menus on our website….mcgillscafe.com. During July & Aug we have live entertainment on our patio from 6-9pm. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

We have eaten at McGill's several times and are never dissapointed. We returned for lunch again this week. As always an intriguing and interesting menu was presented and our selections were superb. I especially loved the roasted vegetable soup. A very pleasant and effecient server helped to make the occasion complete. Can't wait for our next visit!!

4  Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Wendy

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I agree our culinary team makes delicious soups daily. We just launched a new cafe menu & BBQ menu for the summer. Also we added a Gastronomic menu to our evening service. You can view our menus on our website….mcgillscafe.com. During July & Aug we have live entertainment on our patio from 6-9pm. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

Pesto penne I had was amazing and the wild mushroom risotto my girlfriend said was “really no words to be honest, heavenly would be the closest” we would recommend this to anyone.

2  Thank patrick1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGill's Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Port Williams, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to McGill's Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing