Belgium is one of the 15 countries that use the Euro as its national currency.

The Euro (€) is a decimally-based currency, 1€ comprising of 100 cents.

Coins - 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 cents, 1 and 2€

Notes/Bills - 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500€

You can exchange your foreign currency for Euros at the usual outlets, banks, post offices and foreign exchange counters. Banks are generally open 9:30 to 16:00 Monday through Friday. Post Offices in Belgium are open 9:00 to 17:45 Monday to Friday and 9:00 to 12:00 on Saturday in the larger towns and cities.

Credit cards are widely used and accepted in Belgium, VISA is the credit card of choice, but MasterCard will be accepted in most outlets. American Express and Diners Club are not as widely accepted.

For the tourist, debit cards should be enabled on the Maestro or Cirrus network in order that you can use these in Belgium. Proton, Bancontact and Mister Cash are Belgium's three debit networks, but these are only available to use if you hold a Belgian bank account.