We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TOWN HEAD FARM, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
4 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
8 guests
3 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
This Grade II listed, detached cottage is located on the outskirts of Malham in the Yorkshire Dales and can sleep eight people in four bedrooms.Town Head Farm is a luxuriously furnished, Grade II listed, detached farmhouse just on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham. With two double and two twin bedrooms as well as a family bathroom, this cottage can sleep eight people in style. The cottage also contains a fitted kitchen, a dining room and a sitting room with an electric stove. Outside the cottage, you will find gardens with outdoor furniture and a BBQ, off road parking for 4 cars and an outside storeroom for bikes or walking equipment. Close to the famous Malham Cove and Malham Tarn, Town Head Farm is an impressive holiday home for the discerning traveller who fancies a litt...This Grade II listed, detached cottage is located on the outskirts of Malham in the Yorkshire Dales and can sleep eight people in four bedrooms.Town Head Farm is a luxuriously furnished, Grade II listed, detached farmhouse just on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales village of Malham. With two double and two twin bedrooms as well as a family bathroom, this cottage can sleep eight people in style. The cottage also contains a fitted kitchen, a dining room and a sitting room with an electric stove. Outside the cottage, you will find gardens with outdoor furniture and a BBQ, off road parking for 4 cars and an outside storeroom for bikes or walking equipment. Close to the famous Malham Cove and Malham Tarn, Town Head Farm is an impressive holiday home for the discerning traveller who fancies a little bit of comfort after a hard day's exploring. Amenities: LPG central heating with electric stove in sitting room. Electric oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV, DVD, CD, books/DVDs. Wi-Fi. Fuel and power inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Travel cot and highchair on request. Stairgate. Off road parking for 4 cars. Gardens with furniture and BBQ. Outside storeroom for bikes/hiking equipment etc. Sorry, no pets and no smoking. Shops and pubs 5 mins walk. Region: From heather-clad moors and limestone scars, to market towns and the steady pace of country life - the sublime Dales await you! Where else in Britain is it as satisfying to sit and do nothing as it is to explore the numerous pursuits on offer? Town: The village of Malham is an ideal base for visitors to the Dales who come to see one of Britain's most impressive natural features - Malham Cove. The Cove consists of a natural cavern or 'amphitheatre' of limestone rock stretching 75 metres in height and 300 metres around the perimeter. A steep walk up man-made steps is rewarded with a superb view across moors and limestone pavements to Malham Tarn - the Pennines' highest natural lake. The village itself has pubs and tearooms and a National Park Centre.More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
2 Showers
Show more
Meet the host
Sykes Holiday Cottages
Hosting since October 2009
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours
Contribute
Reviews (18)
X9980QTcarole
X9980QTcarole
Gateshead, United Kingdom11 contributions
We have just stayed at Town Head Farm cottage and although it is a lovely house it is in desperate need of re-decoration and a deep clean. The whole house was covered in cobwebs which I can understand a few as in the country but they must have been there months. I had to take one shower head off to clean it as it was disgusting and the trim on the bottom of the shower screen was also full of grime. We did have a problem with the washing machine but this was sorted promptly and a new one installed. I do think that the price we payed for the cottage did not reflect its cleanliness or decor. The village is beautiful as is the surrounding area.
Visited July 2021
Written July 30, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

gthynne01
gthynne01
Lincoln, United Kingdom3 contributions
The cottage was tired and run down - tv didn’t work properly, no controller for the DVD player... it was quite dirty and just generally unloved. This wasn’t cheap either... When we arrived we were greeted by a bottle of wine which was nice but all that was undone by the fact the heating nor water hadn’t been put on and with elderly folk we had to put it on and leave for the pub returning an hour later. The house was Damp - the radiator in the kitchen didn’t work - the furniture smelt of damp too To the people that own the cottage - if you can’t be bothered please don’t take peoples money as it is unfair ? Malham is beautiful and this is perfectly located to get out and about. - not for young kids as there is nothing to do without a properly working tv or working DVD and no phone signal or internet - there is no WiFi at all - if you go, take lots of toys and puzzles but I would seriously think about going unless you are just using it as a hub for walking - if you are the hostels would be far cheaper and offer more I’ve used Sykes for years but I’m really disappointed- I never leave reviews but I feel I should here to warn other away
Visited October 2020
Written November 19, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Happiness24343699736
Happiness24343699736
Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We really appreciate your comments as they allow up to improve and ensure our high standards are being maintained in all of our properties. Had we been made aware of these issues during your stay, we would have looked to rectify them for you at the time. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment on this occasion. I do hope you will continue to book with us in future. Take care and stay safe! Lauren.
Written January 16, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SignarI
SignarI
Levanger, Norway247 contributions
We were a group of 5 friends staying here for two nights, while walking in the area. The property was perfect, and contained everything we needed. Plenty of space and nice, clean rooms and ample bathroom capacity. Highly recommendable !
Visited May 2017
Written June 8, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

LancsLass41
LancsLass41
Blackburn, United Kingdom57 contributions
Went here for a weekend as a group of 4 couples celebrating my 50th birthday. It was perfect. The cottage is a good size - plenty of room for everyone. Well equipped. Located really well. No need to use the car once here. Walked up Malham Tarn and Cove on Sat afternoon which took around 3-4 hrs. Ate at The Buck Inn one evening. Food was good. One bonus was having no wifi and patchy phone signal. It meant that we weren't on our devices all weekend which made the weekend even more relaxing. Would def return.
Visited November 2016 Travelled with friends
Written November 28, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Soozee
Soozee
Frosterley, United Kingdom672 contributions
A lovely cottage, really traditional and nicely furnished and equipped, just on the edge of Malham. Malham has become incredibly popular now and from the cottage we walked up to Malham Cove, over the top to the limestone pavement and across the fells to Malham Tarn. The next day we visited Janet's Foss waterfall and Gordale Scar, again easily accessible from the cottage. An enjoyable long weekend and chance for a group of friends to catch up.
Visited October 2016 Travelled with friends
Written November 1, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

KLDar
KLDar
7 contributions
The cottage is very pretty and in a great location, clean and very comfortable. It definitely needs some decent kitchen knives buying though! Our visit was tarnished by a power cut the first night that lasted around 6 hours, and then again on the 3rd day which had happened when we woke up and lasted until mid afternoon. Unfortunately, everything in the house is electric (cooker, showers, everything) so we were completely stumped. Also, in a separate issue, the dishwasher wasn't working so we had to wash up quite a lot too.
Visited August 2016
Written August 12, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

garethmagg1e
garethmagg1e
Rotherham, United Kingdom112 contributions
We were a group of four couples. The cottage was everything we needed, there was enough space for us all. The facilities in the cottage was as described. It was a lovely peaceful retreat. We went for lovely walks to Malham cove and the Tarn, it was not a long walk but due to it being rocky and uneven it felt harder and longer. We had New Year's Eve in LIster arms which we had previously booked, the food, atmosphere was really pleasant everyone enjoyed their meals. There are two pubs within 5 minutes walk, both are not cheap for drinks. Previous reviews state The Buck Inn is the most expensive, we had 2 large wines and three beers which came to £32. Lister arms is a little cheaper. We would definitely go back to Town Head Farm, well recommended.
Visited December 2015 Travelled with friends
Written January 8, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Town Head Farm with us, we are so pleased that you all had a lovely holiday! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet, as well as some bracing walks, sounds great to blow away the cobwebs before relaxing at the property! We certainly hope to see you back in the very near future, we'd love to have you.
Written January 9, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

caroline h
caroline h
Bolton, United Kingdom12 contributions
We were lucky enough to stay at Town Head Farm this weekend to celebrate my mum and dads 40th wedding anniversary. We were a party of 7 which the house easily housed, never feeling crammed. Initially we all worried about the lack of phone signal and wifi, but in the end it stopped us reaching for our phones all the time and enjoy each other's company that bit more. The house was in a fantastic location, near great walks and sights. We failed to undertake most of these due to awful weather, but the house was warm and cosy and strolling distance to two great pubs. Both of these offered free wifi (for those who needed it) and really fantastic food. The fish and chips at the buck inn is highly recommended. An amazing time was had by all, and we are hoping to book next year so we can enjoy the sights without torrential rain. Highly recommended if you fancy getting away from it all (except two great pubs). Thank you x
Visited November 2015 Travelled with family
Written November 30, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us, we are so happy that you had a great stay at Town Head Farm! We are over the moon that you chose to make the property a part of such a special celebration and that you had just a lovely time spending some quality time together. We certainly hope that you come back and visit us again!
Written December 1, 2015. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Neil E
Neil E
Leeds, United Kingdom49 contributions
A group of 5 of us stayed here in May. I can't find a fault with it to be honest. The only negative (which was a positive as it turns out) is no wifi. If you're like like, having little to no phone signal, and no wifi is a bit distressing to start with, but actually enhanced our break. The place itself is very homely, and well presented, offering all you could want. It's location is fantastic - turn right out of the drive and a 5 minute walk and you reach the 1st pub, turn left out of the drive and you are at the gate leading up to the cover. For anyone wanting a peaceful break, give it a try - Malham and the surrounding area is typical Yorkshire dales - An amazing place. There are several pubs (only tried 2 of them) and the food was great in both.
Visited May 2015 Travelled with friends
Written June 9, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

BigAndy1980
BigAndy1980
Leeds, United Kingdom130 contributions
We stayed at this farmhouse for a weekend to celebrate my Mother in law's birthday and it was brilliant for our needs. It's easy to find at the end of the village and has loads of car parking space which is good when it sleeps eight! we actually had my little boy on his travel bed to make the party nine but we spoke to the owners in advance who were very helpful in arranging this for us. We have found out in the past at other holiday rentals that there can often be insurance implications for taking more people than the owners suggest so please always check in plenty of time if you have an extra like we did!! The farmhouse has recently been decorated and has been done so very tastefully and gives a great environment in which to totally relax. There is enough space for eight adults to be comfortable and it's great to have a large dining room to all sit properly together for meals. The kitchenware, tableware and linen provided are all of a high quality and give the impression that somebody has made a significant investment in making this place a great holiday let. The garden would be a great little sun trap in the summer but as it was January we had some snow and the garden was just big enough with a gentle enough slope for my 2yo son to really get used to the idea of sledging. He also made friends with the farmer next door who invited us to go and look at his sheep who had just lambed and they had great fun waving at each other every time the farmer went past on his quad!! The village is the ideal typical Dales village. It has everything that you'd need for a weekend stay within walking distance. As you're on the edge of the village you just need to turn left out of the drive and you're immersed in the countryside instantly - bliss! We spent a fair amount of time in the beck 'fishing' with sticks and feeding the ducks. It is shallow and slow enough for children to play safely if supervised and there's lots of interesting things to explore for in the wooded area with small children too. The only thing that I would've liked that we didn't have was wifi but some people would count it as a bonus not to have it! We're already planning our next trip to Town Head Farm!
Visited January 2015 Travelled with family
Written February 2, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like the whole family had a great time and we hope your mother in law enjoyed her birthday celebrations - and how nice that your son got to experience the countryside! Hopefully we can welcome you all again soon.
Written February 4, 2015. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 18
Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Dishwasher
Refrigerator
Kettle
Linens Provided
Parking
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
See more amenities
Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

February 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4

March 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Map
+
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send enquiries to other properties. If you still don't hear from the owner, Tripadvisor recommends that you send enquiries to other properties.

If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. This owner does not currently accept payments via the Tripadvisor inbox. You can ask him or her to sign up; payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

If you would like payment protection, ask the owner to sign up to accept online payments on Tripadvisor. Payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2222401998
Frequently Asked Questions about TOWN HEAD FARM, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in

TOWN HEAD FARM, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in is able to accommodate up to 8 guests. See all property details.

TOWN HEAD FARM, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

TOWN HEAD FARM, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in has 4 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at TOWN HEAD FARM, family friendly, luxury holiday cottage, with a garden in must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.