We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beaford House

16 reviews
Save
Beaford House
1 of 34
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
9 bedrooms
10 bathrooms
23 guests
2 nights minimum
Manor House
AS USED AS A HIDE OUT BY THE GREAT TRAIN ROBBERS - MANY WERE ARRESTED AT BEAFORD HOUSE, AND MANY BELIEVE THAT MUCH OF THE MONEY MAY HAVE BEEN HIDDEN IN THE GROUNDS AND NEVER FOUND !!! Beaford House offers peace and tranquility in a lovely setting with the bonus of an outdoor heated swimming pool (Whitsun-mid September). . ** Private HOT TUB !!! ** BBQ HUT Beautifully furnished, this English country house is elegantly furnished throughout, with spacious accommodation for up to 23 guests in nine bedrooms including two with a four poster bed. Perfect for conversation, gatherings and relaxation is the large comfortable drawing room. Featuring a large wood-panelled fireplace, it has one wall of floor-to-ceiling French doors, comfy sofas, occasional chairs and tables. IN HOUSE CATERERS A...AS USED AS A HIDE OUT BY THE GREAT TRAIN ROBBERS - MANY WERE ARRESTED AT BEAFORD HOUSE, AND MANY BELIEVE THAT MUCH OF THE MONEY MAY HAVE BEEN HIDDEN IN THE GROUNDS AND NEVER FOUND !!! Beaford House offers peace and tranquility in a lovely setting with the bonus of an outdoor heated swimming pool (Whitsun-mid September). . ** Private HOT TUB !!! ** BBQ HUT Beautifully furnished, this English country house is elegantly furnished throughout, with spacious accommodation for up to 23 guests in nine bedrooms including two with a four poster bed. Perfect for conversation, gatherings and relaxation is the large comfortable drawing room. Featuring a large wood-panelled fireplace, it has one wall of floor-to-ceiling French doors, comfy sofas, occasional chairs and tables. IN HOUSE CATERERS ARE AVAILABLE GIVEN PRIOR NOTICE The perfect rural retreat Beaford House makes guests feel like the Lord and Lady of the manor.More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
8 Attached (ensuite), 2 Full baths
Show more
About the Owner
Katie S
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:February 2009
Write a reviewReviews (16)

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2020

We booked for our 20th anniversary with 24 friends and just cant rate this place highly enough. The weather was outstanding which was a bonus with a pool but the view would be amazing whenever you go. Very spacious and the beds are so comfy....More

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Sally C
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2020

So pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Beaford House... we would love to welcome you back again.

Reviewed August 29, 2020 via mobile

Well what an amazing place to spend a family holiday. Before I talk about the house I want to express how loverly and welcoming Katie and her family were to us nothing was to much trouble but best of all they allow you to enjoy...More

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank william b
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2020

So pleased you all enjoyed your week here with us at Beaford House. You were a pleasure to share our lovely house with, and thank you all for looking after it and respecting it as if it was your own home.... We can't wait to...More

Reviewed August 17, 2020

We highly recommend this place for anyone looking to get away and relax. Katie was very welcoming and helpful from when we booked until we left. (even getting up at the crack of dawn to accept our delivery before we arrived) The house is beautiful, very well...More

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Voyager67911085274
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

So pleased you enjoyed your holiday.. it was a pleasure to welcome you all. The house was left as if you hadn't even been there !!! We look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Kate

Reviewed August 1, 2020

The pros are: Great garden and views Hot tub Swimming pool Location is quite good as most things are 30mins drive away. Quite clean Good dishwasher that washes in 2 mins Kitchen well equipped Sanitiser on entering Hand-wash provided Cons: Dated property, needs to be...More

Date of stay: July 2020
2  Thank Globetrotter_115
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2020

Such a shame that you didn't enjoy the property. I am sure you are aware that the majority of the problems were caused by yourselves leaving the dishwasher on 24 /7 which could quite easily have resulted in a fire, (thankfully tripping the electric,to which...More

Reviewed August 15, 2019

Beautifully kept gardens, very nice pool and hot tub, and super BBQ "hut". The views (from virtually every room and from the garden) down the Torridge valley to Dartmoor were simply stunning. Some potential issues to be aware of (which are probably more for those...More

Date of stay: July 2019
4  Thank Mazza4671
See more reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Katie (the owner) was extremely helpful from beginning to end. The house is huge and absolutely perfect for a hen location. Sleeping arrangements in separate rooms with ensuites was excellent. Large function room/dining room for entertainment. Pool, hot tub and bbq summer hut were all...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Laura P
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

So pleased that you enjoyed your weekend.... the photos looked like you had such fun, and the weather topped it off !! Look forward to welcoming any of you lovely ladies back again.

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

I booked Beaford House for my brothers stag do and it didn't disappoint! Kate's laid back approach was amazing! The house, garden, pool, and hot tub made the weekend extremely enjoyable. It did help that we had perfect sunshine all weekend! I was amazed when...More

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Nick P
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

So pleased you all had such a great weekend.. it was a pleasure to have you .. very well behaved group of chaps !! And you were blessed with perfect weather.. Hope to welcome any of you again in the future. Kate

Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

We had such a fantastic time at Beaford House. The views are stunning and it has all the facilities you need and more for a great weekend (or week!) away! We made Use of the pool, hot tub and brilliant new BBQ hut in the...More

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank lucygillam
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

So pleased you all enjoyed your weekend.. look forward to welcoming any of you back again

Reviewed June 22, 2017

Yes this is a perfect place for a large gathering, and the kitchen, rooms, bedding, pool, hot-tub are all extremely clean - which is a huge plus, however it is in desperate need of a cash injection and an update. The room decor, bathroom and...More

Date of stay: June 2017
2  Thank Sarah S
4littlepiggies, VR Owner at Beaford House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Such a shame you didn't mention any of your issues during your stay, we would have done our best to sort things out. Feel a little surprised you mention the house is dated !! It is constantly updated, rooms revamped and decorated and after all...More

Reviewed November 28, 2016

We spent a wonderful weekend at Beaford House earlier this year to celebrate my 40th birthday with friends. Every couple had a glamorous bedroom and the venue catered to everyone's different wants and needs- quite an achievement when you're trying to keep a big group...More

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank karenbaker2603
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Balcony
Grill
Central Heating
Suitable For Children Under 5
Dishwasher
Dryer
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Hairdryer
Highchair
Internet Access
Iron
Hot Tub
Kettle
Linens Provided
Microwave
Playground
Pool Table
Private Outdoor Pool (Heated)
Private Garden
Secure Parking
Shared Tennis Court
Cooker
Swingset
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
VCR
Washer
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Horse Riding Nearby
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Corporate Bookings
Cycling Trips
Bachelor/Bachelorette Parties
Hiking Trips
Long Term Rentals (Over 1 Month)
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
January 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Just a short walk along a track, leads down the valley to the River Torridge, where kingfishers, otters and deer can be often spotted. Just 4 miles away is Great Torrington, home of RHS Rosemoor and Dartington Glass. Salmon and trout fishing, shooting, hunting, horse riding and golf can be booked locally. North Devon beaches, Bideford, North Devon’s principle town of Barnstaple and many local attractions can be easily reached. Tours of Tarka Country and trips to Exmoor and the North Devon Coast at Ilfracombe are all good days out.
Access
Car recommended
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL22283175