We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Xanadu Estate Luxury 2 Bedroom, Xanadu 2 suite on Vancouver Island

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Comfortable living area with a real fireplace
Elegant kitchen
King size bedroom
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
5 guests
7 nights minimum
Villa
Enjoy your luxurious, private suite for less than the cost of a B&B. Your private two bedroom suite is 11 acre estate in the heart of the Cowichan Valley. You will overlook the dawn on Salt Spring Island, hear the eagles calling, and relax in your own piece of paradise. Your luxury suite comes fully furnished. You have a beautiful kitchen, refrigerator, cooktop, stainless steel microwave, pantry, all white crockery and quality utensils. You have a flat screen TV with unlimited Netflix movies. You have free high speed wireless internet. Your bathroom comes with luxury towels and amenities. The Xanadu 2, 2 bedroom suite has a queen Master Bedroom, a second Bedroom with a queen bed and a double futon bed, and even its own wood fireplace. Xanadu 2 will sleep up to 5. Suitabl... Enjoy your luxurious, private suite for less than the cost of a B&B. Your private two bedroom suite is 11 acre estate in the heart of the Cowichan Valley. You will overlook the dawn on Salt Spring Island, hear the eagles calling, and relax in your own piece of paradise. Your luxury suite comes fully furnished. You have a beautiful kitchen, refrigerator, cooktop, stainless steel microwave, pantry, all white crockery and quality utensils. You have a flat screen TV with unlimited Netflix movies. You have free high speed wireless internet. Your bathroom comes with luxury towels and amenities. The Xanadu 2, 2 bedroom suite has a queen Master Bedroom, a second Bedroom with a queen bed and a double futon bed, and even its own wood fireplace. Xanadu 2 will sleep up to 5. Suitable for both short and long term stays. Wander outside to meet the friendly bunnies, birds and deer. Enjoy the warmth of the outdoor fireplace. Enjoy breakfast outside in the sun. For fitness folks there is a trampoline, for the rest of us, comfy lounge chairs. For your convenience, there is a front loading washer and dryer, coffee and tea provided, and even a storage closet for your suitcases. You have a propane barbeque and large barbeque garden area, FREE bicycle rentals, and an outdoor play area for children. Stroll down the tree lined driveway, and come to Arbutus Ridge Golf Course, whose entrance is truly just across the road. See how many golf balls you can find en route. Enjoy world class gourmet dining at the many close by wineries, pubs and seaside restaurants. For those seeking to escape Winter, Xanadu Estate is in the Cowichan Valley, which means the WARMLANDS, the warmest part of Canada. Many guests come for a month or longer to enjoy our gentle 'winter'. Students and their families are also welcome. Please also see our website Xanaduestate for more great video and information. * Near Brentwood College and Shawnigan Lake Schools * More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
We are on 11 acres, so there is room for children to play, and lots of room for peace and quiet. Our property is perfect for family reunions, small weddings, and outdoor functions. We are able to arrange catering, and can host up to 60 people on the lawn area. Families staying here often book all the Xanadu suites and have the whole property to themselves. Smoking is only available outside in the outdoor fireplace area.
Bathrooms
1 Full bath
Show more
About the Owner
Jane B
Languages spoken:English, French
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:February 2011
Interaction with guests
Hi. I live on Xanadu Estate. I am happy to help you with information and recommendations, or I am happy to leave you alone. Its all up to you. I have had great evenings with guests for dinner, and I have had guests who I have never seen after they have checked in. Its all up to you.
Contribute
Reviews (17)
CALvin
CALvin
244 contributions
Very clean unit, helpful owner and staff, loads of space inside and outside of the vacation rental. Activities for a family of 4, with board games or badminton on the lawn. A 45 minute walk to a nice rocky beach area. In the heart of wine country so you could tour wineries in the area from this rental. Central location between Nanaimo and Victoria for great day trips. Quiet location in the country. The only problem was the smells from the local farm, as they were spreading manure which was overpowering for 3 of the days. We used these days for day trips to get away from the smell outside. We come from a farming background, so we were not shocked but the smell was very strong on these days. The owner said the manure spreading happens 2 or 3 times a year but it just happen to be the wrong week. Unluckily for us.
Visited August 2017
Written September 18, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Verena R
Verena R
5 contributions
My husband and I rented the one-bedroom suite in the tree house for four days. During that time our daughter and our three and a half year old granddaughter visited and we all had enough space and enjoyed ourselved in the cute suite and lovely deck. The granddaughter even had the first sleepover in her life and wanted to stay there forever! But best of all was the warm reception by hostess Jane and her daughter. Jane is a fascinating woman with lots of good ideas and advice. As a welcome and good-bye gift she presented us with wine from the Xanadu Estate. We highly recommend staying with Jane in this beautiful part of Vancouver Island.,
Visited August 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written September 2, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

V H
V H
Wurzburg, Germany1 contribution
I am from Germany and stayed here with my wife and two small children for a week. Place is very nicely situated in a calm spot a few kilometres from the shore, surrounded by a forest. Everything was neat and clean, the kitchen was brand new. The apartment is very spacious, with a huge living room and two large bedrooms. Host was very friendly and helpful, even drove me in her car to me some interesting locations in the vicinity (hiking trail, restaurant...). There are a few rabbits living on the large lawn surrounding the house, which my kid enjoyed feeding with carrots.
Visited September 2014
Written November 13, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

pickeyguest
pickeyguest
Victoria, Canada54 contributions
I was working in the area and needed something last minute for myself and Mr. Smiles (my dog) - We had heard of this place and thought we would call on the off chance they had an opening. Jane was ever so sweet and gave us a great suite - Mr. Smiles LOVED the farm surroundings. The suite was very well equipped, clean and private. This would be an excellent spot to stay if you're looking at checking out the Valley.
Visited August 2014 Travelled solo
Written August 22, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Benoit PA P
Benoit PA P
Paris, France153 contributions
We stayed at Xanadu Estate in August 2014 for 3 nights. The suite is very comfortable, well decorated, very "feel-at-home". Kitchen with all amenities. Modern and large bathroom. Large living room with TV, games, hi-fi, books (if you ever have time to read this). Two bedrooms, again comfortable. Located on a large property with a garden and lots of animals (birds, rabbits,...). I would highy recommend it for families with (young) children, or couples looking for a quiet retreat. About halfway between Nanaimo and Victoria, in the Wine region and close to Cowichan Bay, Duncan,...
Visited August 2014
Written August 18, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Terracetrader
Terracetrader
Parksville, Canada27 contributions
We stayed there for a month to month rental. Jane Barton Grieg passed me an electronic Rat Zapper, after I discovered rat droppings in my kitchenette. Gave me thumbs up for catching 6 rats in that XAnadu suite. She continues to ignore the problem. Says they caught the mommy, daddy & 2 babies. Disney is alive &well at Xanadu Estates at Cobble Hill. More than likely she will say we never stayed there, but I have e-commerce transactions as she likes cash. Loads of silverfish, wood bugs, earwigs & woke up with blood on my face from a spider bite.. Then refuses to refund my $1200 prepayment for leaving. Reporting her, no way to run a business
Visited May 2014 Travelled as a couple
Written May 29, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jane B
Jane B
We are sorry that this guest tried to blackmail us for not refunding the money for her remaining nights. This lady told us that she would post a terrible review about rats and bugs unless we refunded the money for her remaining nights. This is against TripAdvisor Refund Policy. This lady did have a family of 4 rats come into her suite. We have never had this problem before. We immediately had the rodents dealt with professionally, and offered the lady the more expensive Executive Suite at no additional charge. This lady then stayed in the Executive Suite for over a month. She moved out of the Executive Suite with no notice, and took the suite keys. This lady also continuously harassed other guests and visitors staying at Xanadu. We can assure all guests that our property is very clean. Any unforeseen incidents with living in the country will be dealt with immediately and professionally. Come and enjoy Paradise.
Written June 6, 2014. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sriram R
Sriram R
Portland, OR2 contributions
I have just returned from a wonderful vacation in Vancouver island and we stayed three relaxing days at the Xanadu Estates. I would like to say that this is a beautiful place and if you have childen they have ample opportunity to play with the bunnies and possibly friendly deer that abound here. My wife, sister-in-law and myself enjoyed feeding the resident bunnies with carrots, and also sneaking a hug here and there. We also got to play around in the trampoline. The apartment was well furnished and is suitable for up to 5 people. Jane is a gracious host that took good care for us. When we had a problem with a toilet she immediately fixed it (she replaced the entire flush mechanism!) You won't find a more attentive host. She really made us feel welcome. You can't go wrong here. They have a cool fire pit that I was not able to use unfortunately. We also got a free bottle of home made wine that was quite nice.
Visited August 2013 Travelled with family
Written September 3, 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

pennylund
pennylund
Chicago, IL1 contribution
My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at Xanadu with our young son, and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the Cobble Hill area. Jane was an excellent hostess. The suite had its own private entrance, a master suite for my husband and me, and a 2nd bedroom for our son. The kitchen was well-stocked with a variety of cooking utensils, pots and pans, and other cooking accessories, which meant we could cook local foods for dinner. We enjoyed coffee outside overlooking the beautiful vista, and made a fire one night at the fire pit. Overall it was a great stay, and we would definitely come back.
Visited June 2013
Written July 6, 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

salty sunsets -:- Shawnigan Lake
Jane makes you feel welcome while respecting your privacy - a great balancing act! The fully furnished, two bedroom suite is nicely done and is supplied with games and books if you should get bored of exploring all that this lovely area has to offer you! A car is pretty well a necessity and parking is plentiful, but there are walking trails to a park and the beach, as well as a golf course, restaurant and lavender farm just a short stroll up the road.
Visited June 2013
Written June 26, 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dr. Robert and Mrs. Christine Scott -:- Calgary
Xanadu is our top choice for furnished short or long-term stays and is truly a home away from home. We've returned often, drawn by the comfy, spacious accommodation, huge bathroom and modern kitchen with every amenity. Owner Jane is a charming, warm and obliging hostess. The 5-acre forested property -- a delight to explore -- abounds in seasonal wonders including visiting deer, songbirds, owls and woodpeckers. A short 5 minute drive takes you to the picturesque shops and ferry at Mill Bay. Xanada receives our best recommendation.
Visited September 2012
Written November 7, 2012. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 17
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Air Conditioning
Balcony
Grill
Central Heating
Deck
Dryer
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Business Travel
Kettle
Business Travel
Microwave
Mountain Views
Ocean Views
Patio
Playground
Private Garden
Safe
Cable/satellite TV
Secure Parking
Shared Tennis Court
Staffed Property
Stereo System
Cooker
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
Trampoline
TV
Washer
Water Views
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Golf Course Is On Site Or Within 15 Mins Walk
Horse Riding Nearby
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Watersports Nearby
City Getaway
Cycling Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
See more amenities
Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

December 2022

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

January 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Across the road from Arbutus Ridge Golf Course and Tennis Dome. On Telegraph Road. Only 35 minutes north of Victoria, south of Duncan, and 6 minutes from Mill Bay Centre and Brentwood College School. 10 minutes to Shawnigan Lake School. Close by there are over a dozen wineries, gourmet restaurants, and wonderful farm markets. The Cowichan Valley has the highest average year round temperature in Canada. Cowichan means 'The Warmlands'. Because of the warm ocean currents, we are green all year round, and there is no need for your winter coat or snow boots. You can be outside every day, enjoying the warmth. Many people come here for a month or longer to escape Winter! Please contact Jane for longer term GREAT RATES.
Access
Car advised
More
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 8 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2223836829
Frequently Asked Questions about Xanadu Estate Luxury 2 Bedroom, Xanadu 2 suite on Vancouver Island

Xanadu Estate Luxury 2 Bedroom, Xanadu 2 suite on Vancouver Island is able to accommodate up to 5 guests. See all property details.

Xanadu Estate Luxury 2 Bedroom, Xanadu 2 suite on Vancouver Island has one bathroom available. See all property details.

Xanadu Estate Luxury 2 Bedroom, Xanadu 2 suite on Vancouver Island has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Xanadu Estate Luxury 2 Bedroom, Xanadu 2 suite on Vancouver Island must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.