We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luxury Holiday Retreat near Rutland Water

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
6 guests
3 nights minimum
Cottage
Pibbles Nook is exquisitely furnished, bespoke two bedroom, luxury, self-catering accommodation in the county of Rutland, nestling in the delightful village of Empingham near the shores of Rutland Water. An ideal place to stay if you want to.....relax for a few days.... enjoy country walks.... visit local attractions..... explore the area...... attend a friend or family celebration...... visit the public schools of Oakham, Uppingham and Stamford. Our aim is to provide a warm welcome to the exceptionally clean and comfortable surroundings and make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one. Pibbles Nook is furnished in a palette of neutral, calm colours, with design touches and attention to detail throughout providing self-catering with the luxury edge. Enter through the oak front door a...Pibbles Nook is exquisitely furnished, bespoke two bedroom, luxury, self-catering accommodation in the county of Rutland, nestling in the delightful village of Empingham near the shores of Rutland Water. An ideal place to stay if you want to.....relax for a few days.... enjoy country walks.... visit local attractions..... explore the area...... attend a friend or family celebration...... visit the public schools of Oakham, Uppingham and Stamford. Our aim is to provide a warm welcome to the exceptionally clean and comfortable surroundings and make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one. Pibbles Nook is furnished in a palette of neutral, calm colours, with design touches and attention to detail throughout providing self-catering with the luxury edge. Enter through the oak front door and you will not be disappointed ...... Step into the open plan sitting/dining area ........Relax and unwind in this open plan living space with a neutral toned, natural stone floor, comfortable sofa and flat screen wall mounted TV. The sofa converts to a sofa bed giving additional sleeping if required. An oak extendible dining table with seating up to six people provides a practical space and gives a sophisticated feel with contemporary twist. Bi-fold doors provide plenty of natural light and opens on to a west facing courtyard. A contemporary kitchen area........incorporates ivory fitted units with a grey breakfast bar to provide a functional space to enjoy a leisurely croissant and morning beverage or prepare delicious food with fresh, locally sourced produce. Integrated appliances include dishwasher, washer/dryer, fridge, induction hob, oven and microwave. Under cabinet and plinth lighting creates a relaxing ambience as well as providing functional working light. Kitchen essentials are provided including cling film, kitchen foil, kitchen towel, washing up liquid, dishwasher gel/rinse aid, dishcloth and scourers. A welcome basket awaits incorporating some local produce such as – traditional handmade artisan bread from Hambleton Bakery, Belvoir cordial/pressé, fresh fruit, preserves and free range eggs. A ground floor cloakroom/shower room...... contains a stylish wall hung toilet and cloakroom unit with square deck mounted basin and an illuminated mirror enhances a minimalist look. Step into the enclosed shower to freshen up, with a high pressure mixer and hand held shower. Shaver point, heated towel rail and a supply of bath sheets, hand towels, shower mat and complimentary toiletries are also included. A bespoke staircase .......with oak handrail and black iron spindles leads to two bedrooms and shower room on the first floor The master bedroom...... has a vaulted attic ceiling with beams and an oak boarded floor that is accessed through the Suffolk latched, oak door. A pine double bed with quality mattress, pillows, duvet and bed linen provides a comfortable sleeping space. Two pine bedside tables with bedside lighting provide a relaxing ambience within the room. Open hanging space is provided at the entrance to the room. The second bedroom ..... has two pine 3’ beds with quality mattresses, pillows, duvet and bed linen. Pine bedside table with bedside lighting completes this twin bedroom. Enclosed hanging space with wooden hangers is provided outside the bedroom on the landing. Upstairs shower room..... contains a stylish wall hung toilet and vanity unit with an elegant square deck mounted basin. Step into the enclosed shower to freshen up, with a high pressure mixer and hand held shower. Shaver point, heated towel rail and a supply of bath sheets, hand towels, shower mat and complimentary toiletries are also included. A small paved and gravel courtyard.........provides the perfect place to sit, relax and enjoy eating alfresco. Pibbles Nook is in a peaceful location and it is not the venue for loud music or late night noise There is parking for one ordinary sized car outside the property. Free WIFI Internet access available. More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
2 Showers
Show more
Meet the host
Alison Y
Hosting since April 2016
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 95%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Contribute
Reviews (16)
Michelle E
Michelle E
61 contributions
Owners welcoming without being over attentive and the property is ideal as a base to explore. We spent 3 days as a party of four and though the space is compact it isn't cramped. It is very well equipped and as has already been noted, to a high spec, high end, stylish and well made without being ornate or flashy. We all had our favourite features, I loved the blinds, the bowl in the kitchen sink and the dining room chairs are gorgeous, loved the detail on the back rests. Ellen was deeply fond of the vegetable peeler. The whole house is solidly, tastefully comfortable and the linen and towels are very good quality. The two seater sofa is very comfortable and there are two very nice Lloyd Loom chairs. A small patio area is ideal for warmer evenings, it was quite cold so we had to give it a miss but I'm sure in summer it is very pleasant. The underfloor heating kept us nice and snug, the two shower rooms whilst economical with space have everything you need, the beds are comfortable and both bathrooms and bedrooms are fitted with excellent quality fittings. You are within a short drive to Stamford, which is a revelation, Oakham and Uppingham which are very attractive. Each of these places has a wide range of shops, more so Stamford which is delightful and each place also has a Nelsons butchers where you can buy meat pies, pork pies and cheeses, Black Bomber in particular which knock the Supermarket competition out of the court for quality and taste, the staff in the Uppingham branch also dispense useful advice as to places of interest, we would never have known about a monumental 90 span viaduct that was only a couple of miles away and well worth a look. The cottage is also ideally placed for Rutland Water, which is a short walk away over a field and through a wood, the path is accessed from the side of the property. All in all, if you're looking for a base to explore and appreciate quiet, restrained luxury then Pibbles Nook comes highly recommended.
Visited February 2022
Written February 14, 2022. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Climber26875283211
Climber26875283211
1 contribution
Pibbles Nook is smart and clean, has a nice feel, quiet location and is really warm for the winter weather. Ideal for a petite couple like us (not enough comfy seats for more than two). We were disappointed not to find the promised welcome basket - we were relying on the "traditional handmade artisan bread from Hambleton Bakery" - but fortunately the local shop was still open and only a few minutes walk. There's a well-signed path straight to Rutland Water for those wanting a good walk by the water. And we really enjoyed the food at The White Horse - a little on the pricey side but genuinely quality Italian-British food - and we had a really warm welcome so we went more than once. The only downside (but it was quite a downside!) was that we didn't sleep well at all. Not sure if was the room being too hot (we had to sleep with the windows open in November) or the REALLY squeaky bed that other guests have also commented on, but it did take the shine off our stay.
Visited November 2021
Written November 9, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Compass639866
Compass639866
Thank you for your comments. Our aim is to make all our guests stay as safe and enjoyable as we can possible make it. However, in order to comply with COVID-19 guidelines we have had to make some adjustments. Regarding the welcome basket unfortunately we have had to remove this service in accordance to the guidelines. This was explained in the welcome letter we sent you prior to your arrival. We are sorry to hear you did not find the two Lord Loom chairs with seat and scatter cushions in the sitting area sufficiently comfortable for your needs. We were also disappointed to hear you did not sleep well. The underfloor heating is zoned and guests can control the temperature by using the thermostats located in the two bedrooms, landing and downstairs seating area. We were not aware of any of the beds in Pibbles Nook squeak but we will certainly look to rectify the problem. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Alison and Kenneth Yeates
Written February 7, 2022. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DavidJeffrey G
DavidJeffrey G
3 contributions
Great location for exploring Rutland Water and surrounding areas. Property furnished tastefully, very well equipped and all very clean, however, although downstairs was very comfortable (although too many dining chairs and not enough comfy seating), upstairs there is insufficient headroom to make it very comfortable.
Visited August 2021
Written September 3, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kate F
Kate F
1 contribution
Great staycation. Exactly what my friends and I were looking for! In the country for plenty of walks and close enough to Stamford for a wander around! Alison and Ken were really helpful and gave us plenty of information and replied quickly to any queries Thank you!
Visited May 2021
Written May 27, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lindsayhendricks1979
Lindsayhendricks1979
London, United Kingdom7 contributions
We were a family of four (two adults, two small children) who wanted a holiday let for a family weekend away, close to Rutland Water. The holiday home is beautiful with all the items you would need for a weekend away and more. Everything is of excellent quality, so if you are looking for a special place to stay for a birthday or celebration, this is a good choice. It may appear to be compact but the home is brilliantly designed and we managed perfectly fine, even with two inquisitive and energetic children! The open plan downstairs space is lovely and, for us, it was great that there is a formal dining table and kitchen bar as we did cook meals while we were there. Unfortunately we were unable to experience the little courtyard at the back of the property because we chose to come on a particularly wet weekend but it looked good and if we came back in the summer, we would definitely make use of this extra space! The location is great for exploring Rutland Water and the surrounding areas. We received a very warm welcome from the owner on arrival with a helpful introduction to the property and then were left to our own devices for the rest of our stay.
Visited October 2019
Written October 29, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Daisy
Daisy
Basingstoke, United Kingdom7 contributions
This simply is not a 6 bed cottage as advertised. It is suitable for two people to stay in. There is a nice double. The second bedroom has two narrow single beds you could put two kids in but it is cramped has a very nasty toe stubbing door stop that will cause agony each time you get in and out of one bed. Downstairs there is a pull out bed but it is in the kitchen so put the dishwasher on early, and listen to the fridge all night. It is downstairs that this cottage falls apart. There is a two seater settee and nothing else comfortable for anyone else to enjoy the evening. I did not enjoy relaxing family time sat on a dining room chair. There is a four person dining table and having two not matching chairs in the room does change that it is a table for four. Everything is so cramped and miniaturised they are hard to use, I have seen bigger bathroom sinks on a plane. The owners live on site and extremely rude with respect as to where they expect you to park, valuing their convenience of that of their guests. On the positive it is finished and equipped to a very high standard, the usual blunt kitchen knives withstanding. So great for two people, no more. I should say I am the largest member of the family at 5ft 10 and 12 stone so my issue is not due to my size. We stay in about 5 cottages a year so I am familiar with what I should expect.
Visited May 2019
Written May 8, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Compass639866
Compass639866
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Pibbles Nook and the facilities provided did not meet your expectations. The website does not state it is a 6 bed cottage. It clearly indicates it is a two bedroom cottage and there is accommodation for up to 6 persons comprising of a double bedroom, a twin bedded room and a sofa bed that sleep 2. Both single beds in the twin bedded room are standard 3’ beds. There are a range of photographs on the website to clearly illustrate the open plan facilities on the ground floor and the amenities on the upper floor. We wish to clarify for any future enquiry the floor area of the cottage is 67 square metres. We have not received any adverse comments from any family of four who have stayed at the cottage to date regarding insufficient space and our visitor book reflects this. Regarding the car parking facilities, there is a designated space in front of Pibbles Nook to ensure there is clear access at all times, on to and off the driveway for occupants in Pibbles Nook, visitors and residents of the main property and to also ensure there is access to the two garages. Alison and Kenneth Yeates
Written May 24, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matthew R
Matthew R
Torpoint, United Kingdom6 contributions
Fantastic 2 bedroom cottage, equipped and finished to a very high standard. Very close to Rutland Water and about a 10 minute drive to the sailing club. Everything we needed and more for a weekends winter sail training. Alison was really welcoming and we would definitely book again!
Visited November 2018
Written November 27, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

dawnpartington
dawnpartington
Kendal, United Kingdom
I recently stayed here just last week as a last minute get away with my 2 young dughters whilst visiting family. A lovely welcome from Alison and Kenneth. The cottage is just beautiful and in a perfect location. Its a perfect home from home cottage and would definitely stay here again. Thank you for having us :)
Visited July 2018
Written July 29, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Compass639866
Compass639866
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Pibbles Nook and the accommodation met your expectations. We both look forward to welcoming you all again in the future. Alison and Kenneth Yeates
Written August 12, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca Fletcher
Rebecca Fletcher
Essex, United Kingdom17 contributions
We love the Rutland area and have stayed in a number of locations, although close to the A606 the only noise that could be heard throughout the stay was from the local sheep and birds. This property is an extremely well thought out conversion, making the best use of the space available and kitted out to the highest specification, with day to day grocery essentials included as a matter of course.. Booking was easy, the instructions from Alison clear and the welcome pack of goodies went down very well. In slightly cooler weather, we would have made use of the footpath down to Rutland Water.
Visited June 2018
Written July 5, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Compass639866
Compass639866
We very much appreciate your kind words and are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Pibbles Nook. We agree Rutland is a beautiful county and Empingham is a peaceful location for a relaxing break at any time of the year. Alison and Kenneth Yeates
Written August 12, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Resort717447
Resort717447
My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at Pibbles Nook and loved it. Alison and Ken (lovely people) put so much effort into making everything perfect for our stay. The cottage was spotlessly clean and there was a lovely welcome pack of goodies to enjoy. Everything in the cottage has been done to a very high standard. The downstairs was plenty big enough for us, in fact it seemed bigger than I was expecting after looking at the photos and reading the reviews. The kitchen is very well equipped and all very tastefully done. Upstairs is quite compact but has been done extremely well given the nature of the sloping roof. It may be a bit tight if you are very tall or larger framed people or have mobility problems so for you I would not recommend but for all others it is lovely. The cottage is very well situated with easy access to Stamford and Oakham with Rutland Water just a short stroll away across the fields and through a pretty little wood. We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage and are hoping to return, it's lovely.
Visited August 2017
Written August 25, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Compass639866
Compass639866
Thank you for your comments which we very much appreciate and value. We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay in Pibbles Nook and pleased you found the accommodation both pleasing and welcoming. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon. Alison and Kenneth Yeates
Written August 30, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 16
Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Internet Access
Parking
Private Garden
Wi-Fi
Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

February 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4

March 2023

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
Map
+
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2227136852
Frequently Asked Questions about Luxury Holiday Retreat near Rutland Water

Luxury Holiday Retreat near Rutland Water is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

Luxury Holiday Retreat near Rutland Water has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Luxury Holiday Retreat near Rutland Water has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Luxury Holiday Retreat near Rutland Water must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.