We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Easter Morn

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
6 guests
Minimum stay varies 
The minimum stay for this property changes depending on the dates selected
Cottage
Easter Morn can be found tucked away in a quite yard off the Cragg behind the Fishermans and The Pier Inn this cottage may not be suitable for babies, very young children or people with walking difficulties as it is up 24 steps from the Cragg there also several more gentle steps from Pier Road up the Cragg but we feel that the steps from the Cragg up to the cottage are more difficult this why we would not recommend it to anyone with mobility problems. It has a small yard and about 150 yards from the harbour side and fish market and the beach is at the end of the road and is very central to all amenities Sea views over lower properties from all 3 rear windows The cottage is comfortable for 4 people and may be tight in the lounge for 6 There is a washing machine and tumble dryer for the...Easter Morn can be found tucked away in a quite yard off the Cragg behind the Fishermans and The Pier Inn this cottage may not be suitable for babies, very young children or people with walking difficulties as it is up 24 steps from the Cragg there also several more gentle steps from Pier Road up the Cragg but we feel that the steps from the Cragg up to the cottage are more difficult this why we would not recommend it to anyone with mobility problems. It has a small yard and about 150 yards from the harbour side and fish market and the beach is at the end of the road and is very central to all amenities Sea views over lower properties from all 3 rear windows The cottage is comfortable for 4 people and may be tight in the lounge for 6 There is a washing machine and tumble dryer for the use of all cottages this can be found down the steps at the side of Tower Cottage Ground Floor kitchen, shower room toilet, Lounge with double bed settee and bedroom with 2 single beds There is only one stair case up to the first floor and these are kite winder again not suitable if you have walking difficulties but you could chose to use only the ground floor if wish first floor bedroom with double bed outside is a split level paved yard this as been altered recently so the raised area can be used for sitting on also the in lower area a small part is the bin area Pets are welcome, we can arrange near by parking at a small extra cost
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlySmoking allowed
Pets are welcome but we ask that they are not left unattended unless in a cage
Bedrooms
1 Double1 Sofa2 Singles
Bathrooms
1 Shower

Meet the host
jean T
Hosting since August 2013
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsyou cannot park outside the cottage but there is a nearby loading bay where you can stop to unload your vehicle, a map and keys will be posted to you approx., 2 weeks before so please let me have your address about 3 weeks before

Contribute
Reviews (25)
Cheryl Gee
Cheryl Gee
Rome, Italy2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mrs
Do not book this cottage!! I don't know how anyone could rent this property out in the condition it is in and with the furniture it has. Spend some money and update it! Could be a very lovely quaint cottage but at present it's disgusting ! I refused to stay and got a refund !!
Visited April 2017
Written April 18, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jean
jean
I am sorry that you did not like the cottage but we can get 60% rebooks and the people in before you come 7 or 8 times a year the cottage as been recently decorated, we have just put in a smart tv one of the settees is only a few months old
Written April 19, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steve C
Steve C
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend
We had a lovely stay . The cottage won't suit everyone due to the access issues but they weren't a problem for us . We loved the place ! It has a unique charm . Quirky and quaint sums it up . 5 stars from us we'll definitely be back soon .
Visited October 2016
Written October 13, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jean
jean
Thank you we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay
Written October 14, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

elizabeth f
elizabeth f
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
lovely spot'very cosy
loved our stay here. landlord was very friendly and helpful. once you have off loaded your luggage up the steps(phew) was a ideal place to chill. we would stay here again.
Visited September 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written September 28, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jean
jean
We glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again
Written September 29, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lilbootoo
Lilbootoo
56 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic but spot on
I booked Easter Morn for a school reunion weekend. I only needed a base and somewhere to crash out after a night (or 2) of drinking with my old pals and didn't want the fuss of breakfast in a crowded b&b with a hangover. I was lucky to book for an incredibly reasonable price and was kept well informed by email and text about my booking. I received the key and excellent directions in the post and was easily able to find the cottage and the parking (a few streets away, standard for Whitby!). The approaching stairs are slippery when it's raining but that added to the charm. The cottage itself is a little dated but the beds and sofa were comfy and that's what matters. The previous residents obviously weren't up to washing up very well but that was nothing a quick rinse couldn't sort. The shower needed a bit of TLC but was fully functional so again, no worries. The stairs to the attic bedroom are fun, they're all different sizes and made me giggle. My tall room mate had to duck a couple of times but he survived. Some of the floors are a little wibbly, adding to the delightful fishermans cottage feel. The free wifi was an unexpected bonus and very handy as mobile data signal isn't the best on the coast. I'd stay again, it was so reasonable and I loved being right in the centre of town.
Visited April 2016
Written April 25, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Natalie P
Natalie P
Louisville, KY3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Away from it all
My family has stayed at Easter Morn for the past three Christmases. It is quiet with helpful owners.
Visited December 2015 Travelled with family
Written January 3, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jean
jean
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Written January 15, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrea M
Andrea M
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT BOOK THIS COTTAGE
On arrival at the cottage, my husband, myself and our Labrador were dismayed to find we had to carry all our luggage up very steep stone steps (due to there being no parking facilities) to the cottage. The stone steps leading up to the cottage was twice covered in human urine ( there was a club situated nearby and it's customers ( who were all pissed) would urinate on the steps. There was rubbish littered all over the bottom of the steps. We felt in need of oxygen and feared having a heart attack once we had reached the top and that included Alfie the dog! Once inside of the cottage we were confronted with a filthy kitchen - and I use the term 'kitchen' very loosely - the cooking utensils and kettle were greasy and dirty. Cooking in that kitchen would have made a bushtucker trial seem appealing. Just making a cup of tea was a feat in itself as I had to boil anything I used before I felt I could drink from any cup. The shower room was horrendous and no, I am not being OTT here. I did not want to brush my teeth from the grimy taps, The bedrooms, well, I can not find any words to describe them. Needless to say, we cut our break short and came back home. We felt dirty and distressed that we had to actually sleep there. I still keep checking my skin for any signs of scabies!!
Visited September 2015 Travelled as a couple
Written September 11, 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jean
jean
You were asked if things were ok and was told that they were. We do mention about the steps and also state that the cottage is not suitable if you have walking difficulties. We have over 60% rebooks on that cottage and you can read about 200 testimonials on our Facebook page. The people that followed in are here for the 6th time this year, the people before you have booked for next year. We welcome pets and ask that you clear away pet hairs we spent 2 hours removing dog hairs when you left. We are sorry that you not happy with the cleanliness of the cottage if you had complained on your arrival we would have given you a full refund if you did not wish stop
Written September 12, 2015. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cazyf
cazyf
Staffordshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Average
I wouldn't recommend this cottage to any of my family or friends. It wasn't very clean and smelt of cigarettes. The walk up the steps to the cottage wasn't very enjoyable as men were usually standing at the bottom drinking and smoking. There was a constant 24/7 hum from the air conditioner from the near by club which also sent a stream of fat cooking smells up to the cottage. The "garden " wasn't a garden it was full of rubbish and broken glass which I had to clear up before my dogs could go in it. But if you smoke and enjoy the smell of cooking fat go for it !
Visited July 2014 Travelled as a couple
Written September 23, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ian W
Ian W
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay
We felt that the Cottage had an authentic fisherman's cottage feel to it, if you are looking for luxury it isn't for you, but if want a cosy base very handily situated indeed then I'd recommend it. Access up some stone steps is no problem, one of our party has a knee problem and she found it perfectly ok. John was kind enough to sort out some wi-fi for us. Had a lovely time in Whitby and the N Yorks Moors
Visited September 2014
Written September 16, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Claire P
Claire P
London, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous cottage, excellent position, home from home
Had a smashing holiday in Easter Morn cottage with 3 school age children, cottage very comfy and cosy, homely and in a perfect position to explore Whitby from. Jean and John were friendly and helpful. Would recommend using the parking on offer with the cottage for convenience and value for money. Cottage is literally in the heart of Whitby but you wouldn't know it because it's so quiet- even in August holidays. The kids had been so excited to stay in a cottage and we weren't disappointed, just a lovely lovely holiday- perfect seaside retreat.
Visited August 2014
Written August 30, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sonya L
Sonya L
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Whitby wonderful - Accomodation Adequate
John (the Owner) was very friendly and quick to offer help when we experienced problems with our parking space as we had booked a medium space and arrived to find we had been given a small space which the car struggled to fit into. The cottage itself is built into the available space which gives it lots of character, however space is limited, we were lucky as there was only 3 of us but I dread to think if we'd tried to squeeze 6 of us in there. Previous reviews indicate the cottage is in need of a deep clean???? Pots were a bit dusty in the kitchen as they are sat on an open shelf, but I always wash anything in a self catering apartment before using anyway regardless of how clean it looks. The only real fault we found with the kitchen was the toaster (which was un-usable and really needs thrown out), but we simply used the grill instead. The rest of the cottage was reasonably clean, and everything you really need is available. One of the sofas is in need of a deep scrub or throwing out (this may be due to someones pet having an accident as these are animal friendly holiday homes)but we sprayed it with febreze and covered it with a throw from upstairs and it was comfortable enough. I forgot, but meant to mention to John that the exterior light is not working and is really essential at night due to the precarious steps. so check this is working if you visit. I feel we got what we paid for and some of the previous reviewers were perhaps expecting 4 star luxury for 2 star prices??? I do however think the property description online could do with updating as there is NO garden here....there is a very very small concreted area with 2 bins in it and not even a chair to sit on. Also information sent out to renters is also out of date as we were sent a map telling us access to the cottage means driving over one of these pillars in the ground which required us to enter a code( we were told this code would be on the pillar) it was not and we did not know whether to drive over it or not...we ended up with many cars behind us and just took a chance...it was fine....however it annoyed us that when we told John he laughed and said it hadn't worked in 5 years???!!! Really!!?? All in all we had a lovely week and if you plan on spending most of your time outdoors, why spend more than you have to. Bedding was fresh, beds were comfortable and the bathroom although small was adequate. Just don't expect more than what you pay for. :-)
Visited July 2014 Travelled with family
Written July 27, 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 11-20 of 25

What this rental offers
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Bathroom and laundry
  • Iron
Outdoor amenities
  • Private yard
Entertainment
  • Television
Kitchen and dining
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Internet access

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

May 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
1

June 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
29
30
1
2
3

Map

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 3 p.m. Check out by 10 a.m.
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 100% refund* if you cancel at least 2 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed
Notes from owner
these prices do not include bed linen duvets and pillows are provided free bed linen extra £5 per set We never charge more than are weekly rate for the short stays please ask for quote due the new pricing structure the weekly price may not be correct please ask for a quote

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL222608176

UPDATED 2024 - Easter Morn - Holiday Rental in Whitby - Tripadvisor