We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Uthlid Economy Cottages

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Front
Surrounding
Autumn
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
4 guests
1 night minimum
Cottage
35m2 cottage with two bedrooms. In each bedroom is one double bed. A fully equipped, open-plan kitchen/living room with a sofa, TV and stereo. In the reception/restaurant is a WiFi connection. 10 km to Geysir and 25 km to Gullfoss. Tourist License / Licencia de turismo N °: 29508
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
This is a non-smoking household Respect other guests and keep noise levels down, especially after 23:00 Ask for permission if you want to keep animals with you. Take care of the hot water because it‘s very hot. Help us to conserve water and turn off the hot tubs when not using them.
Bathrooms
1 Full bath
Show more
About the Owner
Thorsteinn S
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:February 2014
Interaction with guests
One door key is provided to you upon arrival. In some cottages you need to pull up the door handle before locking. In the reception you can buy basic food like pizzas, hamburgers, french fries, bread, cereals, butter, milk, beverages, cheese etc.
Contribute
Reviews (16)
slepyvon
slepyvon
Singapore, Singapore62 contributions
Stayed 2 nights. Close to Golden Circle. Even went to secret lagoon in the evening. Good pace to visit around the places. Cottage have all the amenities except toiletries. Could be better if able to provide shampoo and body wash. Reception was friendly upon check in. Took time to explain before we head to our cottage. There’s another issue vehicle Gps was unable to location cottage unless type in Icelandic alphabet. It kept showing Reykjavik uthlid Better to find via coordinate Superb place for aurora hunting
Visited October 2018
Written October 4, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

MsMessyHG
MsMessyHG
Reykjavik, Iceland38 contributions
First the good -- these cabins are well situated with plenty to do nearby. While it's close to Selfoss for groceries, you still (or at least a city girl like me) feel like you are way out in the country. Walking around the area we could hear very far away sheep -- lovely. We stayed in a little one bedroom, which was just right for a couple. The bed was comfortable and the duvets were fluffy and in a pretty pattern. The kitchen was well equiped with coffee maker and all the basics needed for cooking, including one of the tiniest cutting boards I have ever seen! Stove looked older, but heated quickly and worked well. It looks like the kitchen has been recently updated. View from the living room and deck was just amazing, with nearby horses wandering around. As a bonus, a random cat climbed in our window and said hello! Now the bad. This cottage would have gotten a much better score from me if it has been about half the price. I understand that Iceland is extremely popular, but just because you can get away with a price, doesn't mean you should. This cabin is rented at a luxury price so I feel it is only fair to list all the faults that really need to be fixed: Shower doors did not close properly. Every tap dripped. The bathroom door is swollen and did not close properly. Cracked tiles on the floor. Strict cleaning rules are provided, but no cleaning supplies. There were no food basics (sugar, coffee, tea, oil, paper towels, etc.) We were not shown how to work the hot tub, but had to figure it out ourselves. On our arrival, the hot tub was boiling hot and we could not get in. Had to wait to the next day. The hot tub enclosure had many, many dead spiders and was in need of a good sweep. Each morning there were four to five new dead spiders IN the hot tub. There was a tear in the sofa. I have been visiting Iceland for nearly ten years, and prices have gone up wildly. It is fine to raise prices, but in exchange an excellent product must be provided. That just isn't the case here. I would happily stay here again, but would expect the price should be about 99GBP, 75Euro, or $120 USD. Even that would be quite expensive. I would also like to note that I did say all of this on check out.
Visited August 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written August 25, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Sharon S
Sharon S
Las Vegas, NV91 contributions
Please note the friendly yet rushed staff at check in was my first clue that we would not be serviced. We were spoken to as if we were a hassle. These cottages are very cute and clean but staff need to treat people as if they are important. We pay their salary. What you need to know is bring all your own food, coffee, etc for fully stocked cottages and clean the cottage or receive a fee of over 100 euros. NONE of this was on booking.com website. I took a video of every inch upon departure as proof it was left clean and we took our own trash as required. There is no free tea or coffee so you either make it yourself, or drive 10 min to Geiser. The closest real shopping store Is 10km away. In retrospect, this place needs to advertise that you must be fully self sufficient and don't expect anything. The outdoor tub to use for soaking was dirty. This was not worth over 24,000 kr Stay somewhere else.
Visited August 2016
Written August 24, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DT-Billerica
DT-Billerica
6 contributions
We stayed in one of the cottages with two bedrooms. The cabin and the facility overall seemed to be well past its prime. Although some other reviews refer to hot tubs the one in our camp was not functional (there was no mention of a hot tub in the booking either). Outside grounds were not well kept. Beds were terrible, the kitchen seemed pretty dirty.
Visited June 2016
Written June 26, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DMI I
DMI I
Kolkata (Calcutta), India60 contributions
Located near Geysir and Gullfoss in a non descriptive area. Very small cottages with even smaller beds. Rough uneven outdoor. Regimental rules about cleaning and garbage disposal. Main door does not lock.
Visited May 2016 Travelled with family
Written May 16, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thorsteinn S
Thorsteinn S
Hi Shyamal, thanks for your stay. Our smallest cottages are around 32m2 and they are listed like that, cheap and basic accommodation. To lock the door you have to pull up the handle. Sorry if you have not be told that.
Written May 23, 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SparklyAndi
SparklyAndi
Nottingham, United Kingdom17 contributions
We have just enjoyed 5 nights at these lovely cottages which are located in the middle of the Golden Circle - ideal for visiting the most popular sights. We stayed in a two bed cottage with outside hot tub which was very spacious and clean. We loved our cottage (Stora) which had a spacious patio with barbeque and hot tub with panoramic views from the balcony and lots of big windows inside the cottage offering fantastic views from each room (there was snow the whole time we were there so very picturesque). There is plenty of space between each cottage so it feels very tranquil and private and there are screens behind the outside hot tubs providing privacy from passers by whilst still enjoying the view from the balcony. The cottages are located 5 minutes drive from Geysir so we were able to make the most of seeing this wonderful sight at dawn and dusk on our way out and back for the day (perfect times as the lighting is much nicer than during the day and there are no coach parties at those times of the day!). Gulfoss waterfalls are 15 mins drive, Thingvellir National Park about half an hour drive and Reykjavik is an hour and a half's drive. Fontana Spa is 10-15 mins drive and Blue Lagoon is about 1 hour 45 mins. Blue Lagoon is near to Keflavic Airport so some people visit either on their way from or to the airport. Lots of reviews mention how the water smells of rotten eggs - this is just the sulphur from natural springs that provide Iceland with hot water and heating - just accept it and you'll soon get used to it. It's not like it's caused by sewerage or anything nasty so I think it's unfair to mention this when reviewing accommodation or hot springs sites.
Visited March 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written March 5, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

sarahjane3695
sarahjane3695
4 contributions
Me, my husband and our little boy booked to stay here for 2 nights whilst travelling in Iceland and it wasn't great. The hot water had a very strong smell of sulphur an the water was slimy. The mattresses were dirty along with the windows and kitchen counters. Needless to say we were up early the next morning to go back to our previous location. I wouldn't really recommend staying here, Iceland is a beautiful place an I was shocked to see somewhere with such high potential being let down by neglecting the fundamentals.
Visited February 2016
Written February 21, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kerryk47
Kerryk47
Mildura, Australia65 contributions
We stayed four nights in a 4 bedroom cottage, it was perfect for us. We arrived late as we did get a little lost thanks to of GPS! Its actually pretty easy to find, its just of the only Highway in Iceland! Staff friendly and helpful and they spoke fairly good English. The cottage was much larger than it looked in the pictures, clean and tidy with 4 large bedrooms all with en-suite and linen, a fully equipped kitchen, nice comfortable living area and really great deck. Heating worked extremely well and we had to ask for it to be turned down, its has under floor heating heated from the thermal springs. The only thing we didn't plan on or enjoy was the smell of the thermal water! It smelt like rotten eggs! but other than that perfect and we did get used to it after a couple of days. Its in a great spot for seeing the main sites of the Golden Circle drive, you will need hire car. To top of our stay we got to see the most amazing Northern Light show from our deck, highly recommend Uthlid and would love to go back one day :)
Visited September 2015 Travelled with friends
Written February 21, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

annavoyage44
annavoyage44
France17 contributions
Nous avons été très déçu par cette étape. La première chose que l'on nous demande c'est de payer... Le réceptionniste a tenté d'être plus agréable et la patronne voulait absolument nous vendre son agneau. Nous avions loué le chalet avec le Hot Tub, qui était froid à notre arrivée, et qui malgré l'augmentation de la chaleur est resté froid jusqu'au lendemain matin. Nous avons payé pour cette prestation dont vous n'avons pas pu profiter. Le chalet, était sympathique, quoique la douche un peu sommaire ... La literie était correcte mais les couettes trop courtes. Le chalet était sale, il était noté sur le descriptif d'arrivée que 100 euros nous serait facturé si nous laissions le chalet sale et les poubelles à l'intérieur ... Bien évidement malgré des numéros de téléphone, impossible de joindre qui que se soit ! La connexion internet ne fonctionnait pas ... Et un autre problème important, l'eau a une odeur très forte de souffre, à cause de la proximité des Geysers. Il faut savoir que l'eau a une odeur d'oeufs pourris très forte, impossible de faire des pâtes ( nous avions prévu des pâtes pour notre repas) et bon courage pour la douche. Même pour le brossage de dent nous l'avons fait avec de l'eau minéral. Il n'utilise pas de filtre pour améliorer l'odeur, nous avons pris notre déjeuner a côté dans une autre enseigne et l'eau ne posait aucun problème ... c'est incroyable qu'il n'y ai rien de fait pour améliorer l'odeur et la qualité de l'eau surtout que nous avons bu l'eau du robinet pendant tout notre séjour, elle est très bonne. Grosse déception pour cette étape que se soit pour l'accueil, pour la prestation et pour le prix. ( la saleté, pas de réseau wifi, le hot tub qui ne fonctionne, l'odeur de l'eau font de cette nuit, une nuit hors de prix ). Impossible de joindre qui se soit, l'accueil ouvrait à 10H et il était demandé de laissé les clé sur la table du salon ... Bref, nous ne recommandons pas cette adresse, il y a nombreuses adresses à proximité pour passer un bon séjour et profiter pleinement de ce magnifique pays.
Visited February 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written February 17, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

CNSam91
CNSam91
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom20 contributions
Uthlid comprises of many lodges, we were in one of the 3 bedroom lodges (yellow at the top of the hill) which was more than enough space and also had a hot-tub included which was great fun and warm. The location, was ideal for us as it put us in the middle of where we wanted to be for a self-drive adventure. The cottage came with a full kitchen including 4 ring hob, oven, grill and microwave and also fridge freezer! Cottage was nice and warm on arrival and we were both stunned at the amazing view from the lodge - absolutely stunning! Friendly, attentive staff. Fast and reliable Wi-Fi The cottage felt very dated and it felt dirty on surfaces, such as the kitchen table and there was an old plaster (band-aid) left in the shower soap tray despite being threatened by a €100 charge if we didn't take out rubbish! The utensils, pots and pans could do with an update as are all very old and marked. When they warn you about the hot water, they really do mean it, it's scorching, so much so my partner burnt her elbow in the shower on the mixer tap, a serious concern if you have young children staying as it's about head height. The hot tub required a constant water feed which was extremely noisy and couldn't be turned off for fear of it freezing over or the hot tub emptying. Upon arrival the lodge was lovely and warm however it only seemed to get hotter to a point where it was uncomfortable. It would seem that you can turn the radiators off in the lodge but there are pipes all around the lodge feeding a constant supply of hot water meaning the lodge just gets hotter and hotter making it very uncomfortable in the evening trying to get to sleep! Despite the negative points above, I really would recommend Uthlid Cottages, the staff are friendly and courteous, the lodges are more than adequate and are in a great location!
Visited February 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written February 11, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 16
Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Grill
Central Heating
Freezer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Microwave
Mountain Views
Parking
Patio
Shared Outdoor Pool (Unheated)
Cooker
Wi-Fi
Rural/Countryside Retreats
See more amenities
Availability
November 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
The cottage is located about 10 km from Geysir and 25 km from Gullfoss. About 100 km asphalt road from Reykjavik. From this place is possible to visit the most popular turist attractions in South and West Iceland. During summer time we have horse rental, swimming pool and golf course open in Uthlid. The restaurant is open all days during summer and on demand in the winter time. The reception is always open when guests are arriving and 24 hours phone service.
Getting around
Local attractions and service: Uthlid (in walking distance from the cottage) Simple food store with basic food like bread, cereals, butter, milk, drinks, cheese etc. Restaurant open during check-in hours Horse rental and swimming pool during summer time
More
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 2 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2222995806