We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BLENCATHRA BARN, mezzanine area, breakfast bar, spacious, in Penrith, Ref. 29323

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
4 bedrooms
3 bathrooms
7 guests
3 nights minimum 
Holiday Rental House
This semi-detached cottage is located in the village of Newton Reigny near Penrith and can sleep seven people in four bedrooms.Blencathra Barn is a semi-detached cottage situated near the village of Penrith in Cumbria. Hosting four bedrooms; a mezzanine king-size with en-suite, a double, twin, and a single, along with a bathroom, and a shower room, this property can sleep up to seven people. Inside you will also find a kitchen with breakfast bar, an open-plan living and dining area, and a sitting room. To the outside is off road parking, and an enclosed lawned garden with patio, furniture and a hot tub. Resting in a peaceful village with much to enjoy in the surrounding areas, Blencathra Barn is a memorable cottage in a desirable part of England. Amenities: Oil central heating. Electric o...This semi-detached cottage is located in the village of Newton Reigny near Penrith and can sleep seven people in four bedrooms.Blencathra Barn is a semi-detached cottage situated near the village of Penrith in Cumbria. Hosting four bedrooms; a mezzanine king-size with en-suite, a double, twin, and a single, along with a bathroom, and a shower room, this property can sleep up to seven people. Inside you will also find a kitchen with breakfast bar, an open-plan living and dining area, and a sitting room. To the outside is off road parking, and an enclosed lawned garden with patio, furniture and a hot tub. Resting in a peaceful village with much to enjoy in the surrounding areas, Blencathra Barn is a memorable cottage in a desirable part of England. Amenities: Oil central heating. Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of games. Fuel and power inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Off road parking for 2 cars. Enclosed lawned garden with patio, furniture and hot tub. Two well-behaved dogs welcome. Sorry, no smoking. Shop 2 miles, pub 2 mins walk. Note: There's a sloping ceiling in the mezzanine king-size double bedroom, along with a step up into the en-suite. Note: Four steps up to the garden from the patio. Note: Hot tub must NOT be used after 10pm. Region: Impressive mountains, open fells and clear-water lakes, the Lake District has it all. From walking in the mountains to exhilarating watersports or just a gentle cruise on a steam-powered yacht, Cumbria is the perfect holiday destination. Town: The market town of Penrith, once the capital of Cumbria, enjoys a central position between the Lake District and North Pennines and is ideally placed for taking in all that the region has to offer. With a wide choice of excellent pubs, hotels, restaurants and entertainment, Penrith also offers a museum, and Millennium Trails around the historic city streets. There is much to explore for visitors of all ages.
House Rules
Pet-friendlyNot suitable for childrenNo smoking
Bedrooms
1 Queen1 Double3 Singles
Bathrooms
2 Full baths1 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
Sykes Holiday Cottages
Hosting since October 2009
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (2)
Reece
Reece
Preston, United Kingdom9 contributions
robbed
Despite only 2 of us wishing to stay, we booked here because of what it would be like with emphasis on the safety of our 2 dogs. after one nights stay we asked for a refund to leave and find elsewhere.the photos are misleading, the back garden fence has a gap of at least a foot at the side of the spa and the side fence is no higher than 3 feet, easily jumpable for any decent sized dog.. from arriving at the place we struggled to open the security box for the key. Eventually when finally gaining entry we took our dogs straight to the back garden thinking they would be safe there whilst we unloded our stuff. What a disapointment. we managed to get our gear into the kitchen and then went to see which bedroom we would like. The star attracion is the bedroom ar the top of the house.We began climbing the stairs only to find above the first landing the stairway/room was covered with dead flys. We decided against using this room and decided to chose a room on the first floor with the intention of sorting the fly issue out in the morning. At this point we then had a look at the other rooms, what a nightmare. In the main lounge, at the side of the exit onto the patio is a bare wire sticking out of the plaster. Behind the settee is a plug socket completely open with the cover laid below the hole in a pile of bits of cement. The curtain pole above the patio was half missing with the missing curtain thrown over a sofa in the second lounge.. Because of the time we decided to settle in for the night with the intention of resolving things in the morning. I then started to prepare something to eat, the cleanliness of the place/pots and pans/ cutlery was nothing short of mind blowing. My husband at this point was now finding other issues, snail trails across several carpets, down stairs toilet was disgusting, BBQ needs binning, patio areas scruffy and back garden looking more like a building site, the steps upto the higher level are laughable. We retired for the night hoping that the morning might look a little better. After literally sleeping on our thoughts, yesterday morning we contacted Sykes to discuss what refund we could obtain if we left the place immediately after staying just the one night. WE WERE DECLINED ANYTHING. SHOCKING on both owner and Sykes.
Visited March 2019
Written March 28, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you have not been happy with your stay at Blencathra Barn. We have investigated this matter and can see that we tried to arrange for the housekeeper to attend the property to rectify the issues that you reported to us. However, the housekeeper needed access to the property and we were unable to contact you to arrange this, despite sending emails and a text in addition to calling you. We have raised the issues with the property owner, and will ensure they are addressed but regrettably they did decline to give compensation as you didn’t allow them in to inspect or rectify the issues during your stay. I do note that my colleague has provided a gesture of goodwill from Sykes Cottages for the inconvenience you experienced. Kind regards, Kathy at Sykes Cottages
Written April 8, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carolinegary_11
Carolinegary_11
Ormskirk, United Kingdom31 contributions
Could have been perfect!!
Stayed with 4 girlfriends for a 50th birthday. Not far from Penrith, Lovely picturesque village. Great views. There's a well stocked kitchen, Large dining area, the bedrooms were clean & beds comfortable. Lovely big garden, great place for kids to run around in. Hot tub is fabulous, clean & well maintained. However there were some issues that spoilt our holiday. No external aerial for TV. an inadequate indoor one that we couldn't get a signal on all weekend!! Despite a phone call to owners a difficult conversation due to very bad phone signal! Asked if someone could come out & sort this. No one arrived at all. So a basic TV was not available. The WIFI was non existent! The Hub stated could not be found! & I tried every room! There's a blue ray player but the remote left would not work in the TV to get to correct channel. changed batteries (our own) still didn't work. Unable to use that also. Bulbs were missing from 2 lamps looked for spares as stated in welcome folder none were found! We swapped one from lounge area. The small toilet on ground floor had a sink on top of cistern this was full of water on arrival so unable to wash your hands in this bathroom. Old bar of soap, a soggy tissue & 2 disposable razers found on shelf in large shower on the first floor. Upon arrival we checked out the Hot Tub thankfully this worked great. Sadly we had to clean up the patio area. The previous occupants had left a few items of wet clothes, cans, & rubbish littered around! (Unbelievable how people leave property) however this should have been picked up by the cleaners. They must not have gone outside at all! Chairs all array table not cleaned. Extremely disappointed with this & find that totally unacceptable. Such a shame as the location is perfect, barn a great size. reported to sykes when I returned . Owners need to visit this property for themselves as I do blame the quality of the cleaners! for most of it. My advice to owners ... invest in a good broadband & get an outdoor aerial fitted.... Our saving grace... The local pub The Sun inn a few minutes walk away! Fabulous. Worth a visit & a great restaurant. Lowther Castle 15 minute drive away also worth a visit. There's a Morrisons & shopping area 10 min drive away too.
Visited August 2018
Written August 15, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-2 of 2

What this rental offers
Outdoor amenities
  • Private yard
Indoor amenities
  • Internet access
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Hot bath
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Entertainment
  • Television
Kitchen and dining
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
Parking
  • Parking available

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

February 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
1
2

March 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
25
26
27
28
29
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
1
2
3
4

Map

Things to know
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send enquiries to other properties. If you still don't hear from the owner, Tripadvisor recommends that you send enquiries to other properties.

If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. This owner does not currently accept payments via the Tripadvisor inbox. You can ask him or her to sign up; payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

If you would like payment protection, ask the owner to sign up to accept online payments on Tripadvisor. Payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/FK_Supplier_Logo.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #FKN2229244296

UPDATED 2024 - BLENCATHRA BARN, mezzanine area, breakfast bar, spacious, in Penrith, Ref. 29323 - Holiday Rental in Newton Reigny - Tripadvisor