We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alvera Beach Apartments Nyali, Mombasa, North Coast, Kenya

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
3 bedrooms
4 bathrooms
6 guests
2 nights minimum 
Condo/Apartment
Alvera is located in Nyali, Mombasa, Kenya near Voyager Beach Resort. Alvera boasts 4 duplexes and swimming pool, lush gardens & generator. A minute's walk to the beach and near social amenities. Minutes walk to Nyali Golf & Country Club, Mamba Village, Wild Waters, Haller Park among other attractions and close to shopping malls:City Mall & Nyali Centre. Serene environment in the quiet suburbs of Nyali. Access to public transport. Top notch interior finish and fully air conditioned. Well equipped. Well manicured garden and lawns. 24 hour guard security and alarm back up. Power back up.
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlySmoking allowed
Bedrooms
1 Queen2 Doubles1 Single
Bathrooms
1 Half bath3 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
Veronica
Hosting since May 2016
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 94%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsMy staff will receive you if am not at home. After check in and getting the keys you will be led to your house. We prefer you leave your keys with us as you leave. I am available 24 hours and you can call me or come to my house.

Contribute
Reviews (25)
Sunpflower
Sunpflower
Stone Mountain, GA11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Women traveling alone should not stay here
This place is dangerous for women. Your privacy is violated constantly and the male staff will prey upon your kindness. The same male staff seems to always be looking in your windows to see what you're up to, and then reports your business to the owner. She will then send you a message that reveals you are being spied upon. Once, she even followed me to the beach to see what I was up to. A word of warning, the beach is filthy and what we call a "slum beach". It is filled with trash heaped up all along the path to the beach. No community pride whatsoever. As a single woman, you will be approached by "beach boys" who solicit you for everything from coconuts to sex. There is no "me time" for beachcombers. Solo ladies, beware. The premises is past its prime. The pictures on the sites advertising it are no longer relevant. The owner has not taken care of the interior buildings and as a result the appliances are old and nasty, the fixtures are rusted and crusted over from salty water that runs through the pipes making them difficult to move or use, not to mention the danger of what might be coming out of the pipes. If you have high blood pressure, the salty water will only make your condition worse. There are no mosquito nets on windows and mold runs throughout. Things are always breaking down and the men come in at all hours of the day to fix things. You'll need to make it very clear they are not to just barge in, as it seems they are comfortable with just walking in without knocking. Nor do they abide by the 48-hour notice before entering. They'll expect you to give them your key every time you leave. Don't do it. Take your key with you. The location is fenced and guarded, and that could be a good thing, except you are also fenced in and guarded. All your comings and goings are noted. What time you leave, what time you come back, and what you bring or who you bring with you are also noted and reported to the owner. You will have no privacy. As a woman, I felt watched, I felt unsafe, I felt uncertain about the men around me and I actually had to tell the one that preyed on women for money to leave me alone. The owner hides charges for things you will have no idea are yours to pay. Make sure you get clarity up front before you pay her a shilling. She will come for more if you are not. Protect yourself. Stay somewhere else.
Visited October 2022
Written May 9, 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ash K
Ash K
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Would not recommend, especially not to anyone who is prioritizing privacy, autonomy, and transparency from the owner
She created rules and additional expenses, which she did not disclose before I agreed to stay for 2 months. This included charging me 3K for each extra guest I had visiting me and not telling me that the property staircase lights (that stayed on all night, every night for 11hrs) were part of my individual unit’s electricity bill I was paying. She also would let staff into my unit whenever she wanted even after I requested several times that she at least let me know first, and then accused me of being disrespectful when I said, and I quote: "I am kindly requesting that you respect my privacy and consent." Additionally, she accused me of complaining whenever I inquired about what I was being charged for. If you are considering staying, at least be prepared to ask many questions up front or you’ll discover her rules and hidden payments as she makes them up. The way she does business is very unethical and unprofessional, which made for an unpleasant stay.
Visited February 2023
Written March 30, 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ray F
Ray F
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Kenya beautiful country and people
Nice lady veronica and husband quiet and seems to leave things for veronica and staff to run smoothly. Pool guy amani and sidekick Simon friendly helpful and safe with this covid around . Stayed at one bed for one month Charged with a six thousand electric usage when only maybe 2thousand was maximum used especially since they have solar system . Really annoyed at I think her name was Doreen supposedly head of maids asking me for a broken cup by hot water to replace no customer friendly service from her needs to be coached. Nice pool though and wouldn't stay again though as many others are abound now in Kenya and available.
Visited June 2021
Written July 31, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you for your feedback Ray. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the electricity bill. This amount, inclusive of water, for a one bedroom for a whole month I guess it's not ridiculous. I wish you consulted with us further though. Solar is for heating water. AC, fan, microwave and the kettle use electricity. We do not ask for security deposit cos we trust our guests to replace whatever they damage or lose. The housekeeper was only doing her duty but if at all she was rude, I apologise. However, it was not polite for you to insult her with the '4 letter' word.
Written September 15, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

paolobrondi54
paolobrondi54
Turin, Italy6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mr
I spent a peaceful and Quality month in Alvera with my girlfriend People working there very kind, polite, helpful Good swimming pool and the apartment was comfortable I will come back there again
Visited January 2021
Written February 19, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you Paulo. We enjoyed serving you. We look forward to hosting you again. Soon.
Written April 9, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stein M
Stein M
Stockholm County, Sweden4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super value for money
Great location. Super clean. Especially the pool must be the cleanest in Mombasa I highly recommend Its very close to the beach and 5 minutes from Nyali center. Wuiet safe are The hostd are great people focused on your wellbeing
Visited February 2020
Written January 18, 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you Stein. You are a great guest. You help us become better every time you visit. Always welcome to Alvera.
Written September 15, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wambui M
Wambui M
Geneva, Switzerland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Relaxing and fun
I absolutely loved my stay at Alvera. It’s a lovely property for a holiday with family or friends. The rooms are airy and well appointed and the hosts are welcoming and highly responsive to guest needs. It’s a short walk to a beautiful, secluded private beach and guests also have the option of using the pool on property. Can’t wait to visit again!
Visited April 2020
Written April 13, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation at Alvera. You were an excellent guest. We look forward to hosting you soon.
Written January 18, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

OrangeBuffy
OrangeBuffy
19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Peaceful stay
We truly enjoyed our stay. Veronica and her team were excellent hosts. It is an ideal place to be with Family. It is located near several restaurants and the beach is only a 2 -4 minute walk away. Will definitely be back.
Visited December 2019
Written January 2, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you for bring a lovely guest. We look forward to hosting you soon.
Written January 18, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mukami Munge
Mukami Munge
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Home Away from Home
Alvera Beach apartments have been my home whenever I’m at the coast since 2016. Alfred and Veronica are great hosts! The service is excellent! The staff are friendly and always ready to help. The rooms are clean, airy and well lit. Over all a relaxing, stress free place to visit alone or with family.
Visited December 2019
Written January 2, 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you for choosing Alvera for your vacations. You are one guest anybody would love to host. We look forward to seeing you once this pandemic ends.
Written January 18, 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Travel59633651062
Travel59633651062
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice place to stay
Alvera Beach Apt Mombasa. We had good time and welcoming from the owner Veronica and . Hospitality 100%, security maximum as we encountered no bad incident.Children enjoyed swimming and the rooms are extremely clean. looking forward to go back and enjoy more.
Visited February 2019
Written February 28, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you Irene for trusting us to make your holiday enjoyable. We will strive to make it even better next time you come. Ahsante sana Irene.
Written March 7, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sylvia
Sylvia
Nairobi, Kenya1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect! Home away from home indeed
Our stay at Alvera was perfect! The duplexes were spacious, extremely clean and well air-conditioned. Veronica was an amazing host - she would always appear when we arrive to see how our day was and if there was anything we needed. The pool was amazing! And very clean thanks to Hussein! He always came to get my kids and tell them the pool is ready :) The beach is less than 2 minutes away - very clean and not crowded at all. We only saw 1 beach boy and he was more of a sales person because he was very helpful. Housekeeping was also great thanks to Zawadi and Hannah. Great staff. We are definitely coming back! Much more than what we bargained for. Thank you Veronica and your amazing team.
Visited November 2018
Written December 6, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Veronica F
Veronica F
Thank you very much Sylvia. You were lovely guests to have around. My team enjoyed serving you. We look forward to hosting you and making your stay a more exciting experience.
Written December 7, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 25

What this rental offers
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Bathroom and laundry
  • Iron
Outdoor amenities
  • Children's pool
  • Private yard
  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
Indoor amenities
  • Air conditioning
  • Internet access
  • Cable television
Parking
  • Secure parking available
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
Kitchen and dining
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Scenic views
  • Ocean views

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

April 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4

May 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1

Map
About the neighbourhood
We are near Voyager Beach Resort and Nyali Golf Club. Wild Waters for water slides and activities and Haller Park for nature trail are within the vicinity. Nyali shopping centre is 5 minutes away. There many eateries around.
Getting around
Close to public transport and walking distance to restaurants. However you may call for a cab or use a 3 wheeler or motorbike.
Access
Car not needed
How to get there
The facilty is situated in North Coast on Nyandarua Road off Mt Kenya Road, 1st gate on your right.
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 11 a.m. Check out by 11 a.m.
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL2227199804

Frequently Asked Questions about Alvera Beach Apartments Nyali, Mombasa, North Coast, Kenya

Alvera Beach Apartments Nyali, Mombasa, North Coast, Kenya is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

Alvera Beach Apartments Nyali, Mombasa, North Coast, Kenya has 4 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Alvera Beach Apartments Nyali, Mombasa, North Coast, Kenya has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Alvera Beach Apartments Nyali, Mombasa, North Coast, Kenya must last at least 2 nights. See all property details.

UPDATED 2024 - Alvera Beach Apartments Nyali, Mombasa, North Coast, Kenya - Holiday Rental in Mombasa - Tripadvisor