We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Bridge Cottage and Riverside studio

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Breeze house
Large oak table.  Seats 12
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
6 bedrooms
5 bathrooms
18 guests
3 nights minimum
Cottage
Old Bridge Cottage with it's Riverside Studio, lies on the banks of the River Avon at the edge of Ringwood, a beautiful old Market Town on the Western fringe of the New Forest. The house and studio are rented out as one and sleep 15-18 in the main house and studio .The house overlooks open water meadows to the rear, yet is only a few minutes walk into the bustling town of Ringwood.Dating back several hundred years in parts, Old Bridge Cottage has been extended over the years to provide a modern, comfortable holiday home suitable for large groups of families or friends. A heated outdoor pool is available May to September. One can also relax in the 6-seater hot tub situated outside and in the sauna situated in the Riverside Studio. In the main garden, sitting in the thatched 'Breeze House' i...Old Bridge Cottage with it's Riverside Studio, lies on the banks of the River Avon at the edge of Ringwood, a beautiful old Market Town on the Western fringe of the New Forest. The house and studio are rented out as one and sleep 15-18 in the main house and studio .The house overlooks open water meadows to the rear, yet is only a few minutes walk into the bustling town of Ringwood.Dating back several hundred years in parts, Old Bridge Cottage has been extended over the years to provide a modern, comfortable holiday home suitable for large groups of families or friends. A heated outdoor pool is available May to September. One can also relax in the 6-seater hot tub situated outside and in the sauna situated in the Riverside Studio. In the main garden, sitting in the thatched 'Breeze House' is a wonderful way to enjoy an al fresco meal.There is approximately 100 feet of riverbank, with fishing rights. Tackle shops are situated a couple of hundred yards away.All heating, wood for the open fire, linen and towels are included in the price.Ringwood is a market town on the edge of the New Forest. It is an ideal place from which to explore this beautiful part of England. It has many fine places to eat and drink and a wide variety of shops, including a large Waitrose and Sainsbury's all within walking distance. The market is on every Wednesday. Ringwood has some fantastic restaurants with Italians like Prezzos, and Indian, Chinese, Bistros, Thai and great pubs! Our favourite pub is the Star Inn in the Marketplace ,which offers excellent local Ringwood Beer and wonderful oriental food.One can cycle from the house to the Castlemain Trailway, a cycle track converted from the old railway which can be taken as far as Poole, but also allows easy access into Moors Valley, a Forest Park less than a Mile away, with a playtrail, treetop walkway, cycle paths, miniature steam railway and Go-Ape, a high ropes course for the over 10's. There are a number of cycle hire shops locally. At the house there's plenty to do- Relax in the hot tub and sauna, or have some fun in the pool! Snuggle up in the Snug and play games! Enjoy family/friend meals in our dining room! Go fishing in our private riverside garden! Old Bridge Cottage with it's Riverside Studio, lies on the banks of the River Avon at the edge of Ringwood, a beautiful old Market Town on the Western fringe of the New Forest. The house and studio are rented out as one and sleep 8 in the main house. The house overlooks open water meadows to the rear, yet is only a few minutes walk into the bustling town of Ringwood. Dating back several hundred years in parts, Old Bridge Cottage has been extended over the years to provide a modern, comfortable holiday home suitable for large groups of families or friends. A heated outdoor pool is available mid April to Mid October. One can also relax in the 6-seater hot tub situated outside and in the sauna situated in the Riverside Studio. In the main garden, sitting in the thatched 'Breeze House' is a wonderful way to enjoy an al fresco meal. There is approximately 100 feet of riverbank, with fishing rights. Tackle shops are situated a couple of hundred yards away. All heating, wood for the open fire, linen and towels are included in the price. Ringwood is a market town on the edge of the New Forest. It is an ideal place from which to explore this beautiful part of England. It has many fine places to eat and drink and a wide variety of shops, including a large Waitrose and Sainsbury's all within walking distance. The market is on every Wednesday. Ringwood has some fantastic restaurants with Italians like Prezzos, and Indian, Chinese, Bistros, Thai and great pubs! Our favourite pub is the Star Inn in the Marketplace, which offers excellent local Ringwood Beer and wonderful oriental food.One can cycle from the house to the Castlemain Trailway, a cycle track converted from the old railway which can be taken as far as Poole, but also allows easy access into Moors Valley, a Forest Park less than a Mile away, with a playtrail, treetop walkway, cycle paths, miniature steam railway and Go-Ape, a high ropes course for the over 10's. There are a number of cycle hire shops locally.At the house there's plenty to do- Relax in the hot tub and sauna, or have some fun in the pool! Snuggle up in the Snug and play games!Enjoy family/friend meals in our dining room! Go fishing in our private riverside garden!More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Parties of adults welcome Group bookings Families Hen parties Stag parties Strip all beds at end of stay and put linen in the linen bags provided as per government advice Bring own hand sanitizer follow current covid govenment guidance re households holidaying together
Bathrooms
3 Full baths, 1 Attached (ensuite), 1 Shower
Show more
About the Owner
Jane S
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:October 2012
Interaction with guests
Our co host Amy will be available during the stay for any help . Her details will be in the cottage.
Contribute
Reviews (22)
Sandra L
Sandra L
Luton, United Kingdom2 contributions
We stayed here for 5 nights with family for my birthday treat. We had a nice time, however I feel I need to give some feedback to hopefully improve the accommodation. It is advertised as being dog friendly but the garden is not secure, we had to keep our dog on a lead the whole time we were there, which was not relaxing for any of us. We had a problem with the electricity tripping off which we realized on the third day was a faulty toaster. We couldn't get the microwave to work. Half the outside lights don't work. The guttering needs replacing one of drainpipes had fallen off. The outside space is in need of maintenance especially around the studio,The decking areas need a good clean and paint. There were several hazardous things around like metal sticking out of the ground, broken filter cover, broken bricks. Also for what we paid you would expect there to be a few more supplies around the kitchen area like condiments, dishclothes etc. It wasn't all negative everyone enjoyed the pool and hot tub. If improvements are made it could be great.
Visited August 2019
Written August 28, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
I'm sorry that you felt this way compared to all the reviews that we have had. It is dog friendly ie we allow dogs and if you keep the gates closed, the garden is enclosed. There are waterbound risks such as the pool, pond and the river but these are all advertised. The outside lights do work. It looked as if you had switched them off from a switch in the conservatory near the pool light switch. It is a self catering accommodation and hence we do not leave condiments etc. Any good stuffs that have previously been used can potentially cause risk. I do agree that the guttering needs replacement which is on the schedule. We have stopped the holiday business with immediate effect which is a shame as it is a large house in a central position of a beautiful area and there are few large houses for families that have additional facilities such as the pool, hot tub and sauna.
Written September 13, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SKH1_11
SKH1_11
London, United Kingdom
The location is ideal being a few minutes walk to many restaurants, pubs and shops and a short drive to the beaches. The house had everything a family of 10 could need with plenty of indoor and outdoor space, car parking for our 4 cars, crockery and thankfully no shortage of hot water. The garden was perfect and we loved the swimming pool and hot tub and there were plenty of outdoor chairs, tables and a bbq. We will certainly visit again, thank you,
Visited August 2019
Written August 17, 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
Glad you enjoyed your family break.
Written September 1, 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lynn H
Lynn H
7 contributions
Lovely old house with plenty of space for all the family to relax and play. 9 Adults, 4 children and two babies. We used all rooms for sleeping including The Studio. The outdoor swimming pool was perfect especially for our grandchildren although the pond next to it could do with netting over when children running around ( just a suggestion). The Fish pub next door was excellent for all of us for an early dinner, food was really good and they made us so very welcome. We had a really lovely time in the house, and visiting nearby beach and Burley was very special for horse spotting. The only downside we had was the power failed on the Sunday in The Studio not only leaving in complete darkness and unable to use hot tub and steam room 🙁 I’m sure the owners have sorted this out now as bank holiday couldn’t get it sorted, just a pity for my daughter who was sleeping in The Studio. All in all a lovely break.
Visited August 2018
Written August 29, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
Glad you had a good break. We are sorry that the electrics went on your final night in the outhouse. It turned out to be the sauna for some reason and we have had a new one fitted.
Written August 31, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alisonjones3997
alisonjones3997
Didcot, United Kingdom12 contributions
The house was lovely, the swimming pool was brilliant, everyone loved it. We visited to nearby Ringwood Brewery for a tour and tasting. The weather was glorious which meant we could make use of the garden.
Visited May 2018
Written May 8, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Old Bridge Cottage is a special place and Ringwood market town is so near and full of surprises !
Written May 22, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AudreyL47
AudreyL47
Swindon, United Kingdom39 contributions
Just a few minutes walk into the village, and a few minutes drive from Moores Valley Country Park, this house fulfilled all our needs. We were celebrting two 70th birthday with our families. So ages ranged from 12 to 70! There is enough space in the house for everyone....private space if you need it. The kitchen is very well equiped and large enough for everyone to lend a hand! Having two lounges ws great. Enough room in the larger room for us all to sit and enjoy each others company, and the smaller 'snug' for the kids to play on the Wii! The hot tub and the sauna were a big hit with everyone and was well used during our stay. Hubby and I lslept in the Annex, which has its own little kitchen, and meant we were well away from the rest of the party for a quiet night! All in all a lovely house, very well equiped and a very enjoyable stay.
Visited October 2017
Written November 6, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
Glad that you enjoyed your stay in our special place
Written November 7, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

earchbold
earchbold
Horndean, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed for a family get together. The facilities are excellent, with the pool, hot tub and sauna. The property is very spacious. The location is great as there plenty of pubs and restaurants in walking distance. Definitely recommend!
Visited October 2017
Written October 18, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

CSZB
CSZB
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom73 contributions
The cottage was lovely - a great house for a large family gathering. Pet friendly too. The swimming pool is by far its best feature - lovely and warm and ideal for lounging around when the weather is right. We were pleased to see ample garden furniture and an outside bbq and the gardens were pleasant and well kept. It was great to be able to walk to the nearby shops, pubs, supermarkets, etc. With its many rooms, nooks and crannies, it made for a great game of family hide-and-seek!
Visited August 2017
Written September 2, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
So glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Written September 4, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DKsevenoaks
DKsevenoaks
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom19 contributions
This house is everything it needs to be. But, as per a lot of the other reviews, the drone of the the main road is an annoyance. However, you do have to appreciate that there is little to nothing the owners can do about this. I will state that this is a relatively minor downside considering how nice the rest of the house and the surroundings are. Although it is this drone that stops the property getting a five star vote. The house is exceptionally well equipped. The pool is lovely and sauna and hot tub do an excellent job. Ringwood is a nice town to spend a day/evening in with plenty to do for all and there are some lovely walks in the local area only a short drive to the stunning new forest. One thing to note, I stayed in the studio for the weekend. I would recommend keeping all of the doors shut between the bedroom and the bathroom/sauna/hot tub room and keep the bedroom windows open during the day. Should you not, the steam from the bathroom facilities can make the room feel quite damp when it comes to settling down for the night and the cooler air makes the steam condense. Anyway, all in all a very nice weekend away and I would recommend the place to friends and family.
Visited July 2017
Written July 17, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
Sorry for the delay in responding but I didn't see this! Yes we do appreciate that the road noise can be heard from the house especially out in the front. All of Ringwood is near the A31 and most towns do suffer with similar traffic noise. There are plans to reduce traffic from the town onto the A31 and possible road resurfacing which will reduce this issue. However we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of the house and town. There is so much to do and see in and around the New Forest and we hope that the house facilities make it comfortable and fun to stay in. With thanks for your thoughts. Jane Savage
Written September 18, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mell63
Mell63
Slough, United Kingdom11 contributions
Our family stayed at old bridge cottage for the first weekend in April. This is very much a home from home with all you need for a great weekend. The house exceeded my expectations and I have to say the pictures do not do it justice A well stocked kitchen with more than enough crockery glass etc a minor issue was delt with promptly and the owners were very welcoming. I would definitely return. Great for families or adult parties thank you Jacqui
Visited April 2017
Written April 5, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
Thank you Jacqui. Glad you had a good time!
Written April 6, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alanberrow195
alanberrow195
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom7 contributions
lovely house,excellent location.Friendly owners .Ideal for day trips to Moor Valley Country Park /Bournemouth
Visited December 2016
Written January 2, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Navigate446865
Navigate446865
So glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Written January 2, 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 22
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Balcony
Grill
Central Heating
Deck
Dishwasher
Dryer
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Business Travel
Hot Tub
Kettle
Business Travel
Microwave
Patio
Private Outdoor Pool (Heated)
Private Garden
Cable/satellite TV
Sauna
Secure Parking
Stereo System
Cooker
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Water Views
Waterfront
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Horse Riding Nearby
Watersports Nearby
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
See more amenities
Availability
November 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2023
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Ringwood is a market town on the edge of the New Forest. It is an ideal place from which to explore this beautiful part of England. It has many fine places to eat and drink and a wide variety of shops, including a large Waitrose and Sainsbury’s all within walking distance. The market is on every Wednesday. Ringwood has many fantastic restaurants, including a Prezzos. There are also several Chinese and Indian restaurants, Bistro’s, and a very good Thai restaurant.There are any number of good pubs nearby, our favourite being the Star Inn in the Market place ,which offers excellent local Ringwood Beer and wonderful oriental food. One can cycle from the house to the Castlemain Trailway, a cycle track converted from the old railway which can be taken as far as Poole, but also allows easy access...
Access
Car advised
More
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL222271790
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Bridge Cottage and Riverside studio

Old Bridge Cottage and Riverside studio is able to accommodate up to 18 guests. See all property details.

Old Bridge Cottage and Riverside studio has 5 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Old Bridge Cottage and Riverside studio has 6 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Old Bridge Cottage and Riverside studio must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.