We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thatched Devon Cottage in Historic Village Setting

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
3 bedrooms
1 bathroom
5 guests
7 nights minimum 
Cottage
Locally known as '3 Harvey's in Town' our cottage is a Grade II listed building of traditional Devon cob under staggered thatch. In the main picture, our cottage is everything to the right of the yellow door - all the way into to the corner of the building where the thatch changes direction. * 400 year-old thatched Devon cottage * Once owned by Queen Elizabeth I * Lovely, historic village setting * 3 Bedrooms, sleeping up to 6 1 double bed, 1 small double and 2 x 3ft singles * Downstairs bathroom/toilet * Inglenook fireplace * Off road setting, with private garden * Friendly pub serving superb food within stumbling distance * 3 Miles Dartmoor National Park * 3 Miles Okehampton market town * 1 Mile Tarka Trail * 23 miles North Devon coast Although we state that we sleep up to six we wo...Locally known as '3 Harvey's in Town' our cottage is a Grade II listed building of traditional Devon cob under staggered thatch. In the main picture, our cottage is everything to the right of the yellow door - all the way into to the corner of the building where the thatch changes direction. * 400 year-old thatched Devon cottage * Once owned by Queen Elizabeth I * Lovely, historic village setting * 3 Bedrooms, sleeping up to 6 1 double bed, 1 small double and 2 x 3ft singles * Downstairs bathroom/toilet * Inglenook fireplace * Off road setting, with private garden * Friendly pub serving superb food within stumbling distance * 3 Miles Dartmoor National Park * 3 Miles Okehampton market town * 1 Mile Tarka Trail * 23 miles North Devon coast Although we state that we sleep up to six we would point out that the kitchen table is set for 4, although there is an extra chair upstairs in the main bedroom and another in the garage so can be set for 6 for larger groups. We also have a lounge suite that seats five so again you may need take an additional chair into the lounge for larger groups. We have found with our family the kids often prefer to lay around on the carpet :)!! We try and upkeep the property regularly and we have just replaced most beds and all mattresses are new this season. Although all bed linen is provided, we do not provide towels or tea towels. We will have everything under the kitchen sink. so no cleaning materials or cloths etc are needed. Due to the size of the kitchen we do not have a dishwasher. There is a fridge that has a small ice box in it. A new cooker and hob and a microwave. We are situated just outside Dartmoor National Park in the beautiful conservation village of Sampford Courtenay and surrounded by miles of lanes, footpaths and farmland. The property has been entirely renovated by us and primarily for our own use. Consequently, you will find 3 Part Harvey's comfortably furnished as home, not a business, and a thoroughly special place to stay. We have an excellent pub a few hundred yards away called the New inn . The owner and chef used to work in a Michelin restaurant so food is excellent! Please do not come here looking for karaoke and clubhouses. However, if you love English rural life, enjoy high or low-adrenaline outdoor pursuits and appreciate log fires and cider - you will feel immediately at home. We only let a few weeks a year . When we first moved here, 20 years ago, our kids were very small. There are loads of organised or (as we prefer) rather more disorganised things to amuse them too ! The area is absolutely full of history, prehistory, natural history and cool ways to explore them all. We still take our own holidays down here, so please feel free to contact us to ask why.
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlyNo smoking
Bedrooms
2 Doubles2 Singles
Bathrooms
1 Full bath

Meet the host
Teela S
Hosting since December 2015
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (6)
Stay661353
Stay661353
Dunstable, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Holiday
What a wonderful little thatched cottage surprisingly bigger than we thought. We went from 25.08.18 for a week,the log burner was just lovely and we had it on most evenings,didn’t really need to but hey ho 😬 the 5 min stroll to the village pub for dinner was nice to. We did lots of outdoor activities from shooting at the range to flying around the forest on Segways to sea fishing & shopping Thanks again to Teela for a wonderful week Ricky
Visited August 2018
Written September 2, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

suzanneberkeley
suzanneberkeley
Bristol, United Kingdom12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A unique and special place to stay
A beautiful and extremely cute cottage in a very pretty setting. We were thrilled on turning up to see this lovely cottage. It was a wonderful opportunity to live in a 400 year old cottage and we loved the window seats, low ceilings and beams. The cottage has all modern conveniences too which we very much appreciated - our stay could not have been more comfortable. Despite our luck with great weather, we did light the fire (ready made up for us by the owner) one evening too. It was good to be able to sit outside with a choice of garden or seating outside the cottage and enjoy the sun. A 40 minute easy drive took us to Bude for the day and we also visited Tavistock with its independent shops and the pannier market. Exeter is close for a visit to bigger shops and is a nice city. We also found time to explore Dartmoor which was lovely. The owner, Teela, was extremely helpful and very friendly from start to finish and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more - a huge thank you!
Visited May 2018
Written June 24, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick S
Nick S
Thank you Kay. So pleased you enjoyed the cottage. Your review is much appreciated. Teela
Written June 25, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bill S
Bill S
Gloucester, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Peace & Quiet
Excellent location for visiting all areas of Devon & Cornwall situated in a beautiful 17th century village. Only 9 klms from Okehampton for supermarkets and all your general needs. The cottage is very well equipped & the local pub is just a short walk away.
Visited June 2018
Written June 14, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ClaireY1966
ClaireY1966
Bedford, United Kingdom10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent cottage
The cottage was very homely and had everything you could possibly think of to make a holiday stay complete. Really appreciated the information pack that was supplied and it had a lovely touch of humour in it. The location was lovely and peaceful and not hearing cars in the morning was heavenly, just birds. I would highly recommend this property.
Visited June 2018
Written June 11, 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick S
Nick S
Hi Claire, Thank you so much for your lovely review, much appreciated. I trust you had a lovely time, I do love Devon and the tranquillity! Teela.
Written June 24, 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Navigator721194
Navigator721194
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brilliant
The cottage was perfect, brilliant place to stay, home to stay again next year😊, the owners are brilliant to 😊
Visited August 2017
Written August 28, 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Emilie C
Emilie C
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice, quiet and relaxing place
It's a nice place to stay and relax with a lot of caracter. We enjoyed it a lot, nice pub/restaurant nearby.
Visited June 2016 Travelled with friends
Written June 6, 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-6 of 6

What this rental offers
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Washer
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Television
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Indoor amenities
  • Fireplace
  • Internet access
Services
  • Housekeeping included
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Parking
  • Parking available
Location info
  • Kid friendly
Outdoor amenities
  • Patio
  • Private yard
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Watersports
  • Cycling areas

Availability
S
M
T
W
T
F
S

April 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4

May 2024

S
M
T
W
T
F
S
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Map
Access
Car required
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesWatersports

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 4 p.m. Check out by 9 a.m.
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 2 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL2226910728

Frequently Asked Questions about Thatched Devon Cottage in Historic Village Setting

Thatched Devon Cottage in Historic Village Setting is able to accommodate up to 5 guests. See all property details.

Thatched Devon Cottage in Historic Village Setting has one bathroom available. See all property details.

Thatched Devon Cottage in Historic Village Setting has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Thatched Devon Cottage in Historic Village Setting must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.

UPDATED 2024 - Thatched Devon Cottage in Historic Village Setting - Holiday Rental in Okehampton - Tripadvisor