We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

The Harwood Cottage At Historic Macon

Save
Enter a world of Southern Charm and Northern Convenience.
Average
2 reviews
Enter a world of Southern Charm and Northern Convenience.
Less than a mile from I-75 but nearly a century away.
A neighborhood rich with architectural treasures between Mercer & Wesleyan Universities.
From pre-game barbecues in the backyard...
Always a wide choice of bright, clean rooms to call home.
All with ready access to one of several private and well appointed baths.
If you haven't experienced Macon, Georgia; you haven't experienced The South.
Bring folks together and create a memorable dinner for six or sixty in our fully equipped kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms , 3 Bathrooms , Sleeps 13
Macon, Georgia
We are new to the Trip Advisors and Flip Key Communities and are very excited to be here and join you. We are not new to the shared economy and home share community. In the 16 months since we first joined Airbnb, we've hosted nearly 1,000 guests through over 200 reservations. By travelers from Beijing to Dusseldorf and everywhere in between. We now have over 135 rousingly positive reviews from folks who have visited us and have made The Harwood Cottage one of the regions top host destination choices by travelers like you... looking for a warmer, friendlier, 'novel' experience... well beyond those ubiquitous eggshell colored double rooms.

The Harwood Cottage is a large, 1920's brick, Neo-Classical home just a few blocks off of I-75's exit 164 in Historic Macon, Georgia. While less than a mile off the Interstate, the...
Read more
About the Owner, John C
Languages spoken: English, Spanish
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: Today
Listed since : Dec 2015
Overall rating: 3.0 / 5.0
Based on 2 reviews and 1 property
Interaction with guests
At The Harwood Cottage, we make sure we only interact with guests at the level with which they are most comfortable. For our suites guests, owner and manager presence may appear higher than in the whole house rental simply because, the team stays in the main house throughout. In whole house rentals, an assumption of privacy exists, such that another family or group is actually taking up residence. In these cases, the team stays on the garden level of the mansion doing laundry and other chores. They actually physically lock themselves out. During these stays, the owner must literally ring the doorbell to gain entrance infrequently and only as needed.
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #FKN6916139
Reviews from our community
Average - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jerry017
Colorado Springs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Website description and photos show a beautifully restored home throughout; these pictures are used here and 3-4 other websites. Actual home is dirty and in disrepair. At Homeaway . com, this whole house has now dropped to $214 per night at (as of Dec 6, 17) because of reviews like on June 1, 2017, bed linens so filthy they slept “fully clothed” on top of bed. Same for us, all bedding in house and closet smelled old, was worn, some with stains, holes. Our bed had 6 stains, 2 were gross. We covered it, and slept on top. Another review complained about ceiling damage. We saw water damage in 5 rooms. It rained and roof leaked. Told owner who showed no interest; we put bucket under the dripping. Website picture of kitchen, looks spotless with new dishwasher, it is not. It’s very old and broken. Open door and unit fell out from wall, and dirty plates rolled out. Inside was stinky, stagnant water and food. Refrigerator crisper drawers held limp food in water. Coffee maker was broken (he...

More
Management response:

It is obvious that this person (not even sure if she was an actual paying guest or not), has been making the rounds on all the websites dying the meanest of things to close us down because we weren’t willing to take her psychotic behavior when she was here. As you can see she mentions all kinds of websites and...

More

Report response as inappropriate
cordyroy
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
873 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Harwood Cottage and it was a lovely experience. A wonderful ca.1920's house in a delightful neighborhood. John is the perfect host. We had the Sydney Suite but all of the rooms are lovely and furnished to a high standard.
Beautiful antiques are everywhere, each with their own story which John is very willing to share with you. The continental style, self serve breakfast is thoughtfully selected.
Thanks again John,
Steve and Susie

More
Management response:

Thank you both for a lovely stay! It was wonderful having you! John

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Cable/satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Double Beds:(2)
  • DVD Player
  • Fireplace
  • Full Baths (2)
  • Garage
  • Grill
  • Housekeeping Included
  • Internet Access
  • King Beds:(3)
  • Linens Provided
  • Patio
  • Private Garden
  • Queen Beds:(1)
  • Safe
  • Secure Parking
  • Shower Rooms (1)
  • Single Beds:(1)
  • Staffed Property
  • Stereo System
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets allowed
    Ask about smoking
    Check in: 3:00 PM
    Check out: 1:00 PM
House rules: 1. Check in is 3pm or later. Check out is 1pm or earlier. Excetions avaiable with 24 hour notice. 2. The 'whole house' booking includes a standard 8 guests...
More
Bathrooms
    2 Full baths
    1 Shower
Bedrooms
    1 Twin
    2 Fulls
    1 King
    3 Super Kings
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Select the number of guests
Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week Per month
Default 1 night
C$376
US$298
C$373
US$295
C$1,863
US$1,475
C$5,590
US$4,425
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to Canadian Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighbourhood
Just a few doors down is The Allman Brothers' ‘Big House Museum' which you can tour daily from 10am to 6pm.. You never know who might be playing out in the gazebo there! Vineville is also home to what is arguably the region's best pizza (Ingleside Pizza), the Georgia School for the Blind, the site of the Confederate Munitions Testing Laboratories, A pair of massive live oaks planted from acorns in 1830 and one of the best French Restaurants this side of Les Halles (The Back Burner). We were recently featured on an episode of TLC's “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo'. My list of Macon ‘must sees' includes: The Hay House Museum (The Palace of The South), The Mansions Along College Avenue from Mercer University to Riverside Drive, The Grand Old Opera House, The Ochmulgee Natio... more
How to get there
From the north, take I-75 south to exit 164 Hardeman Avenue in downtown Macon. Take a right at the top of the ramp onto Vineville Avenue. The gold brick mansion is 9/10 of a mile in the right at 2521 Vineville.From the south, also take exit 164 Hardemann Avenue. Here, go straightbthrubto the second light and take a left onto Hardemann Avenue heading across the interstate and up Vineville Avenue 9/10 mi. To the gold brick mansion on the right at 2521 Vineville.
Activities nearby
Nearest Beach: 13.0 km.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN6916139
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
C$376
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
12 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.